Saying “I can’t”

26 Jul

Today has seriously been like the world’s longest day. And not in a good way. More in a “Holy crap, how is it only 8pm???” kind of way. So I apologize if this post seems a little more sporadic than usual. It’s 10:15pm and my eyes are already struggling to stay open!

I’m such a grandma…

IMG_1021

My day started off well with a bowl of oats topped with natural peanut butter and some frozen berries. One of my goals with the Best Body Bootcamp has been to make sure to include at least one serving of fruits or veggies in every meal. I tend to be in the bad habit of loading up fruits/veggies in some meals, and skipping over them completely with others. So I’m aiming to spread my fruit and veggie lovin’ to every meal!

Lunch was eaten rather late today thanks to a lunchtime appointment, so I scarfed it pretty quickly. Maybe that should be my next Bootcamp goal – eating slower instead of scarfing down my food like some starving animal. I’m a freak, what can I say. Anyway, lunch was the rest of my leftover stirfry from Monday.

After work I headed to the gym to complete day 4 of Bootcamp. And boy am I feeling it!

That was something I REALLY wanted to get out of bootcamp – learning some new and different fitness moves and ways to use weights. I feel like I’m always using the same 5 moves for arms and the same 5 for legs. This bootcamp is really challenging me to get outside of my normal routine and work some different muscles groups. And my body is definitely noticing! I am sore in all sorts of strange places from small muscles groups that apparently I’m neglecting. Sorry bout that, little muscles! Tina has you covered!

After the gym I came home and took Laney for a quick 1 mile walk around the neighborhood, seeing as it was upwards of 103 today. It was like walking through a sauna. Blech, I am NOT a fan of hot, steamy weather!

When I went to go look in my fridge and figure out what to make for dinner (yea, I seriously need to get back on that whole meal planning thing…), nothing was looking good at all. Have you ever been in one of those moods where NO foods look good to eat?

After about 5 minutes of staring blankly into my fridge, I decided that the only thing that really sounded good was breakfast.

IMG_1022

1 egg and 2 egg whites with red bell pepper, organic cherry tomatoes, a ton of spinach, a little cheese and some steak seasoning. Yes, I put steak seasoning on my eggs. I have since I was a kid, and I just don’t think scrambled eggs taste right without it. I know, I’m weird. Paired with some whole wheat toast.

Simple, and it hit the spot. Followed up with a few slices of pineapple and a few coconut mnms for dessert.

Saying “I can’t”

Ok, so I want to get a little deep her for a few minutes guys. Bear with me.

So after my strength training workout today, I was supposed to do at least 20 minutes of steady cardio. But since I’m really trying to kick things into high gear here (W-day is 100 days exactly!), I planned on doing at least 30. I set the treadmill, and started to run.

And about 20 minutes in, I bailed. My brain kept saying “I can’t”. I don’t know about you, but sometimes I feel like my brain is a whole separate person. It started saying things like “I’m tired” “I worked hard today” “The plan only CALLS for 20 minutes…you don’t really have to do more” “My legs are heavy” “I want to go home” “You can’t do it”. So I stopped. Hit clear on the treadmill. And stood there.

Why did I stop. I knew that I could keep going. I’ve run 3 miles a million times before, no problem. I seriously stood there for a good 5 minutes, on a stopped treadmill, having an internal debate with myself. And you know what? I won.

I thought about all the times that I’ve run 3 miles before. I had even done it the DAY before. I thought about how I’m running a half marathon in January. I thought about how I can push myself harder if I just try. How I can break through these “I can’t” barriers.

And then I started to remember all the reasons WHY I’m doing this. To feel more comfortable in my own skin. To be proud of all the hard work I’ve put in. To feel confident in my bikini on my honeymoon. To look good in a wedding dress. To feel strong and confident and sexy.

And you know what? I turned that treadmill back on and ran another speedy 10 minutes.

I clearly could do it. My legs can function, my lungs can breathe. It was my brain that stopped working. My brain that said “I can’t”. And as strange as it is to say, I need to stop listening to my brain. I need to not just tune out that inner critic, but SHOW her she’s wrong. I can do it.

I just need to remind myself that I can.

I don’t know if any of you ever experience this “I can’t” barrier, but I just felt like it was something I needed to share today. And if you have any suggestions on how YOU get through the barrier and push yourself to accomplish bigger things even when you’re inner critic is telling you that you can’t, they would be much appreciated.

So tell me: Do you have an inner critic that tells you that you can’t accomplish something?

9 Responses to “Saying “I can’t””

  1. nexu7 July 27, 2012 at 4:45 am #

    Oh man do I have a terrible little inner de-motivator (as I like to call her) in my head. She pops up right at my weakest moments to kick me when I’m down and make me feel like it’s okay to give up and call it a day. I had that moment with her this weekend with my Warrior Dash run, I fought with her right up until the run, all I did was just keep saying to myself “it’s too late now to give up”, “how can you say you can’t when you haven’t even attempted” and the tried, tested and true “You’ve got nothing to lose but everything to gain from this, find the fun in it and take out the pressure of failing.There’s no failing when your goal is to see what you are capable of”. It worked, though I did have moments of wining along the way, but I did it and had the best time. In fact I’m going to do it again next year, so now I’ve discovered a new love, a new adventure and discovered something I didn’t know about myself.
    We can’t give up on ourselves because we only have ourselves at the end of the day to hold accountable for. Fear is what holds us back from new discoveries, it’s not that we don’t think we can do it, we are afraid to try and see with the possibility of not living up to our own expectations of ourselves. We are far too hard on ourselves and truly cannot see what our true abilities our.
    Sometimes being humble is crippling. Be proud of what you can do and use that as a spring board to push forward and say “what else can this body of mine accomplish”. Push out of your comfort zone, cause what do you have to lose…nothing…all that can happen is gaining a better knowledge of yourself.
    Good for you for pushing past your fears and finishing that run. Be proud of every accomplishment, no matter how small it may seem, you need every confidence boost you can give yourself.
    Also though don’t stop listening to your body, shut out your mind, but the body is an important one to stay connected too. It will tell you when it has had a enough for the day and when it needs a break.
    Oh god sorry I’ve written another book here lol. You get me going with your questions and inspiring posts!

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats July 27, 2012 at 8:20 am #

    Ugh I hate the stupid “I can’t” barrier. It happens to me all the time and is incredibly annoying. I think it must be some human instinct or something telling us to stop pushing our body when really, we are fine. It’s crazy. I usually get through it the same way you do- by reminding myself why I am pushing myself in the first place. Sometimes you just need to stop for a second a reset. I’m with ya!

    • MyFreckledLife July 29, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

      Exactly – I dont know why we always seem to be our own biggest barrier!

  3. Jessica July 27, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    It is definitely motivational to here that you “won” and beat out your mind. The hardest part for me sometimes (typically on weekend days lol) is just getting myself to get up and START, but many times my Mind wins and I just skip the workout, or eat bad food. Thanks for your motivational story! Keep it up, one hurdle at a time!

    • MyFreckledLife July 29, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

      I’m right there with you – sometimes getting started is the hardest part!

  4. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake July 27, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

    I know exactly what you’re talking about! I’m still just getting into running, but I have to constantly turn off the “I can’t” in my brain! Even though I haven’t been running, I know that I’m in good shape & have the endurance to run without stopping. Running is SUCH a mental thing, I think!

    • MyFreckledLife July 29, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

      I’m right there with you – fitness is so mental!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. If I only had a porch… « My Freckled Life - July 30, 2012

    […] cardio. I decided to change things up this week and START with my cardio, since I had such an “I can’t” moment last week. And I have to say – I ROCKED it […]

Leave a Reply

