London Calling

29 Jul

(Today’s post could also be called “The time that Costco made my bank account cry” or “House Hunters Fredericksburg”)

First of all, who else is LOVING the Olympics right now?!?! Seriously – I wish I didn’t need to sleep, because I could just watch the Olympics 24 hours a day. I love the sports, the back stories, the teamwork… all of it. It’s like the world puts aside all of their differences for 2 weeks and we focus on the bonding spirit of sports. Hands down, one of my favorite things to watch every 2 years!

That being said, I apologize in advance if all I talk about for the next 2 weeks involves the Olympics. It’s basically taken over my life.

So this weekend has been a little bit insane (I say that like most of my weekends are calm… definitely not). It has basically been a whirlwind of food, house hunting, wedding planning, and Olympics. At least they are all fun things, right? Let’s recap, shall we?

Friday

Because we’ve been SO busy with wedding planning, and now house hunting as well, Chris and I haven’t had a whole lot of time recently to just have a calm date night. Seeing as our 3.5 year anniversary was a few weeks ago, we decided to go out to dinner to celebrate. And yes, we still celebrate half-year-iversaries. Don’t judge us.

IMG_1027

We decided to head out to Melting Pot for a nice romantic evening. Which of course involved a LOT of delicious fondue. We went with one of the summer specials which involved a cheese course (we chose spinach and artichoke), a salad (California Salad for both of us), a mixed meat course, and then a chocolate course (we picked chocolate turtle). Plus a bottle of wine.

IMG_1035

IMG_1037

IMG_1038

IMG_1039

I left pretty full, but luckily not overly stuffed. I did my best to make smart decisions and remember that this meal was a marathon, not a sprint. Because I totally could have stuffed myself on the cheese course alone. haha.

Then we came home and watched the Olympic Opening Ceremony until about 1:30am. Yea, I’m that dedicated.  haha.

Saturday

We were up super early Saturday morning to hit up the farmer’s market. There was a ton of great produce, but because I was on a bit of a time crunch, I only ended up picking up some squash and zucchini. I’ve basically decided that these are my favorite summer veggies. So delicious!

From there we headed up to Springfield to get some wedding projects done. We started off at the hair salon, where I officially booked our wedding hair appointments, as well as a trial in a couple of weeks. Then we stopped by Men’s Wearhouse to pick up Chris’ suit and get everything fitted. I have to say, he looks pretty great in his suit! It’s starting to all feel a lot more real!!

We then spent the next 2 HOURS in traffic trying to go about 30 miles. It was all kinds of ridiculous. We didn’t even get to eat lunch like we had lunch, because we were running so incredibly late. So we passed up lunch in order to meet up with our realtor to look at houses!

OMG, I have to say – looking for houses as the most exciting and terrifying thing that I have ever done! There are so many things to think about when buying a house. And just the knowledge that once we sign on the dotted line, it is OURS to do with what we want… scary stuff! I feel like such a grown up! haha.

We did see some good houses today, and we’re hoping to see a few more this week. Cross your fingers, we might find our house in the next week! AHH!!

Saturday night was spent with some of Chris’ extended family. And by that, I mean most of the evening was spent sitting in front of TV with Chris’ extended family watching the Olympics. At least some people like the Olympics as much as I do!!

Sunday

Chris and I were up fairly early on Sunday morning was well so that we could get a nice run in before the weather got too insane. I had to re-arrange the plan for Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp due to the insanity of this weekend – so I decided to make today my cardio run of choice. Chris and I took a new route today and it ended up being a SUPER HILLY 3.5 miles. Those darn hill kill me every time!

From there we headed to Fredericksburg to hit up Michaels for some necessary wedding craft supplies, and then to Costco for some serious shopping.

I LOVE Costco… but it is also very dangerous to my bank account. I know that in the grand scheme of things, I’m getting a terrific deal when I shop there – but spending $15 on a giant bag of rice kind of makes my head spin.

IMG_1104

For a little under $100, I came out with a HUGE bag of organic short grain brown rice, a giant double box of granola, a huge thing of cinnamon (I go through this stuff like crazy), a jar of multivitamin gummies, a 6 pack of organic chicken broth, a GIGANTOID bag of steam-in-a-bag edamame, a 12 pack of chicken breasts, a giant bag of mixed berries, and some extra virgin olive oil.

Phew! I swear, some of this stuff is going to last me like 6 months. haha.

IMG_1108

Which is probably good, considering that I don’t know if I could fit much more in my freezer…

The rest of the afternoon was spent working on a DIY wedding project that has been on my list for awhile. I enlisted the help of Chris’ sister and step-sister to help out, which was good because it made the project a lot more fun!

IMG_1109

It’s a little hard to see, but they are sheet music flowers! We have some roses and some dahlia looking ones. Once I perfect this process, I promise that I will share.

3 down, about 100 more to go! haha.

Now I’m off to go watch more Olympics. I know, I live an exciting life!

So tell me: What did you do this weekend? Are you as obsessed in love with the Olympics as I am?

4 Responses to “London Calling”

  1. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake July 30, 2012 at 9:31 am #

    My husband & I went to BJ’s yesterday! We kind of want to get a Costco membership too, since it seems the different warehouse clubs have different products.

    The DIY project turned out great!

    • MyFreckledLife July 30, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

      They definitely run some great deals! Chris’ family has memberships to Costco, BJs, AND Sam’s Club because they all run different sales! And thanks!!

  2. Chelsea @ Chelsea Eats Treats July 30, 2012 at 9:41 am #

    I used to have that gigantic bag-o-berries from Costco too! Until I had to throw them out after our 5-day power outage. They were great though! I’ve also been watching the Olympics nonstop…except for maybe the basketball games yesterday. I can live without basketball lol

    • MyFreckledLife July 30, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

      Haha, those berries are the best! Bummer that you had to throw them out. And seriously, me too. It’s insane how addicted I am. But I’m right there with you on the Bball… not really my thing.

Leave a Reply

