If I only had a porch…

30 Jul

…I could wile away the hours, Conferrin’ with the flowers… if I only had a porch.

Ok, now you all can fully realize what a dork I am in real life. These are the kinds of songs I sing to myself when I’m home alone.

But it IS true – I seriously wish I had some kind of porch, because it would have been perfect with tonight’s summery dinner and the summer evening weather. But more on that later!

IMG_1112

So last night was a super late night because I could NOT tear my eyes away from the Olympics. It was a little ridiculous. Midnight came and went, and I was still watching! But I did get to see Ali Raisman beat out Jordyn Wieber, which was both sad and happy at the same time. It’s great to have so many good gymnasts on the US team, but so sad that one had to get left out of the all-around thanks to some stupid rule.

IMG_1111

Laney, however, was not entertained by the Olympics and passed out around 11pm. Silly puppy!

Needless-to-say, getting up this morning was a LITTLE rough. I may or may not have hit my snooze button a few times… whoops. Which meant that I had to scarf down my breakfast to make it to work on time. Oh the sacrifices we make for the Olympics!

IMG_1120

Today was kind of a typical Monday: Lots of work, little motivation. But I did manage to check a bunch of things off my to-do list, so I’ll count that as a success!

Lunch, however, was pretty pathetic. I didn’t really have a whole lot in my fridge, so I had to go with PB&J. Boring, but got the job done. Paired with some pineapple.

IMAG0277

After work I headed to the gym for Week 2, Day 1 of Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp!

Today called for an upper body workout, plus some interval cardio. I decided to change things up this week and START with my cardio, since I had such an “I can’t” moment last week. And I have to say – I ROCKED it today!

Even though the workout only called for 20 minutes, I decided to amp it up a little just to get some more cardio in. I created an interval that included 2 minutes of fast running, followed by 1 minute of recovery speed walking. I looked something like this:

Fullscreen capture 7302012 93234 PM.bmp

Phew, I was a sweaty mess after this! But it was a great run, and I covered a little over 4 miles. Definitely a success.

I followed it up with the killer arm workout from Tina, which was pretty hardcore. I have a feeling I’m going to be seriously hurting in the morning. Hurting in an awesome way, of course.

After a few short errands, I came home and took Laney for a walk before starting my totally summery dinner!

IMG_1123

Italian marinated grilled chicken (grilled on my George Forman), roasted squash/zucchini, and a small baked potato that one of my families pulled from their garden. So simple, yet so delicious. I really was wishing I had a porch to enjoy it on!

Well now I’m off to watch more Olympics. Because that’s what I plan on doing every night for the next few weeks. What can I say, I love me some Olympics!!

So tell me: What is your favorite summer meal? Are you watching the Olympics?

8 Responses to “If I only had a porch…”

  1. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake July 31, 2012 at 7:29 am #

    My favorite summer meal would probably be a burger or hotdog with corn/potato salad/etc. I love anything that’s involved in a typical summer BBQ!

  2. Lisa @ Jogging on Coffee July 31, 2012 at 8:11 am #

    I didn’t think I’d be interested in the Olympics (never really have been in the past) but I started watching swimming because Ryan Lochte is soooo hot and somehow that led to watching other events!

    • MyFreckledLife July 31, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

      Haha, he is quite attractive! I’m with you on that one! Makes swimming much more fun to watch!

  3. Chelsea @ Chelsea Eats Treats July 31, 2012 at 8:38 am #

    Ahh I couldn’t decide if I was happy or sad that Ali Raisman beat Jordyn Wieber in gymnastics. I understand the rule but it does seem a little dumb. If Ali winds up winning in the all-around I think it will be worth it; but if she doesn’t place then it will suck 😦

    • MyFreckledLife July 31, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

      I agree completely. I just hope that it doesnt mess up Jordyn’s mentality for the team competition!

  4. Jorie July 31, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    I felt so torn about the Olympic gymnastics team as well! I was happy for Aly, but really heartbroken for Jordyn. Especially when they were interviewing Aly, and the cameraman framed it so that Jordyn was sobbing RIGHT IN THE BACKGROUND. I was like, let the poor girl have some peace! Terrible.

    But anyway. I agree with you about the porch 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife July 31, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

      Seriously, that was just awful! And poor Aly too – it was more about how Jordyn DIDNT make it instead of people being excited that Aly DID make it!

Leave a Reply

