He’s a keeper

31 Jul

First of all, let me just say that I found the US Men’s Gymnastics to be really sad yesterday. What was even worse was that after things started going downhill, NBC just decided to stop showing anything about them anymore! Jeez people, even on their worst day, they are still amazing!

Ok, now that I got that out of my system, let’s move on to other things, shall we?

Workout

Today was a pretty long and paperwork filled day at work, so I was definitely ready to leave at the end of the day to head to the gym. Sometimes when I’ve had a long day of sitting, I’m just antsy to get my legs moving.

I started off today with 30 minutes of steady state cardio on the elliptical. I’ve been so focused on running lately that I really haven’t done a whole lot of other forms of cardio. So I decided to mix it up today and say Hi to my old friend, the elliptical. It was actually kind of nice to be able to read a magazine (since I definitely can’t do that while running) and relax a little. It was also nice from a mental standpoint to take a break from running a little before I get burned out!

After 30 minutes of the elliptical, I completed MOST of Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp legs workout. Unfortunately towards the end I could feel a little pain in my… gluteus maximus (I almost said tush… I’m awkward). So I decided not to push it too much and called it a win a little early. Still a solid workout though.

On my drive home, I was greeted with this…

IMAG0278

If that’s not ominous… I don’t know what is. I started to get worried about being able to walk Laney!

Except when I got home, I was greeted instead with this guy.

IMG_1124

That would be my fiance who lives an hour away. He drove all the way to Culpeper after work to cook me dinner because he felt so bad that I’ve been so busy and stressed that I haven’t been eating dinner until like 9pm. So he decided to come surprise me with dinner.

Seriously, this guy is a keeper.

IMG_1125

That would be cheesy mint zucchini risotto, with lemon mint grilled chicken. Amazing!

IMG_1126

IMG_1127

Seriously, it was awesome. So light and summery. And the best part is that I didn’t have to cook it at all!

Well that’s all I’ve got today… as per usual I’m off to go watch the Olympics! Go Team USA Women’s Gymnastics!!

So tell me: What is the best meal that you’ve ever had cooked for you?

3 Responses to “He’s a keeper”

  1. Chelsea @ Chelsea Eats Treats August 1, 2012 at 8:12 am #

    Aww what a sweetie!! And that risotto looks amaaaaaaaazing. Fabio cooks me dinner sometimes, but it’s usually only chicken parm or steak. One year on my birthday he cooked me an amazing tuna, even though he hates fish! Haha

    • MyFreckledLife August 1, 2012 at 8:20 am #

      I know, it was super sweet. And delicious!! He doesnt cook dinner too often, but when he does, it’s worth it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIAW: Tupperware Edition « My Freckled Life - August 1, 2012

    […] until 1pm, which is a miracle considering that my tummy is usually grumbling by 11am. Lunch was leftovers from last night, thanks to my amazing fiance! Definitely not the most attractive picture… sorry […]

Leave a Reply

