Dessert before dinner

3 Aug

Sorry for the total lack of posting yesterday… It ended up being one of those days with a to-do list longer than the number of hours in the day.

I ended up leaving work around 2pm, and heading in to Fredericksburg. First of my list of things to do was to get my wedding dress altered! I have to admit, I was a little terrified. It has been like my worst nightmare to go try on my dress and have it not fit. But apparently Tina’s Bootcamp is doing good things, because I actually had to get my dress taken in a little! Wahoo!!

Sadly I don’t have any pictures, because Chris reads my blog and I don’t want to ruin the surprise!

Next on my list was meeting with the florist to book our wedding flowers! I know absolutely nothing about plants or flowers, so the lady was very patient with me as I asked a million (probably silly) questions. But at least we have our florist set now!

#3 on my list was house hunting! Chris and I went to go look at several different houses yesterday, and definitely found some potential good ones. Sadly we found out today that one of the ones we like the best was just listed as pending. Bummer!

Chris and I then met up with his sister-in-law at Carrabba’s for dinner. I ended up with on of the specials of the day. I started with a cesaer salad, then followed it up with an arugula and goat cheese flat bread.

IMAG0286

I seriously only got through about 1/3 of it before I was already getting full! And I still had my entrée to come!

IMAG0287

I ended up with the arugula, tomato and parm grilled chicken with a side (half?) of spicy pasta. I can’t remember the name of it exactly, but it definitely has a kick to it. Yea… definitely brought like 75% of it home. SO FULL!

Of course, next up was cake to celebrate Chris’ mom’s boyfriend’s birthday (can you follow that relation?)

IMG_1169

Yes, he lit his candles with a blowtorch. We’re classy, people.

I could only manage like 3 bites of cake. I was seriously going to explode.

I didn’t end up getting home until after 11:30pm. But because I’m awesome a weirdo, I decided it would be a good idea to stay up until 1:30am watching the Women’s Gymnastics. But it was SO worth it to see VA represented by Gabby Douglas!

Friday

So that brings us to today! Sadly I had kind of a crappy day due to an insane amount of work, and a serious lack of sleep. Ok, that last one is my own fault. But still.

Because my bridal shower is tomorrow, my mom is actually staying with me in Culpeper, and got to meet her grandpuppy for the first time! Laney is definitely loving all of the attention.

I did head to the gym after work for a bit to do my “Thursday” workout for Best Body Bootcamp. Sadly because yesterday was so crazy, I definitely didn’t have a chance to make it to the gym. So I made it up today is a SUPER sweaty 3 mile run (the gym was HOT today!!) followed by a whole-body strength workout. Man, I’m loving the curtsy lunges! I’ve never tried them before, but they are awesome!

My mom and I decided to get take-out for dinner so that we could watch the Olympics. We ended up picking Ledo’s pizza, and splitting some cheese tortellini.

However, as we were going to pick it up, we passed the SweetFrog that’s next door. My mom had never heard of it before. Um, WHAT? THE HORROR! So of course I had to enlighten her about the awesomeness of SweetFrog… before we got dinner.

IMAG0288

Nothing wrong with some froyo before dinner, right?

IMG_1172

We paired our tortellini and free garlic bread with my leftover flatbread from carrabbas.

Simple and delicious.

Now I’m off to paint my nails and watch the Olympics. You know, just the important things.

So tell me: What are your favorite froyo toppings? Do you ever enjoy dessert before dinner?

One Response to “Dessert before dinner”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Prepping for “I do”: Bridal Shower « My Freckled Life - August 5, 2012

    […] I alluded to on Friday, my mom was in town this weekend from Florida to celebrate my bridal shower. So we were up early on […]

Leave a Reply

