Feeling Off

7 Aug

I sat down to write a blog post last night, and realized that I had nothing to say. And when I sat down tonight, I kind of felt the same. I even left my blog entry open for awhile while watching the Olympics, just in case something genius came to me. But it didn’t.

Instead, I’m just feeling off.

In fact, I’ve felt off since Sunday night.

I haven’t been sleeping well. I’ve either been up all night tossing and turning, or I’ve crashed like a rock to the point that waking up in the morning is a struggle. Which has left me sluggish and dependent on coffee to make it through the day.

My eating is off. I’ve had days at work that are so busy or packed that I had to skip lunch entirely, or I don’t get to eat until 4pm. Which of course means that my eating is off for the whole rest of the day. And has also caused my stomach to react very weirdly to food. You ever get so hungry that you get nauseated? That seems to be happening to me a lot.

Even my workouts are off. Every night so far this week I’ve had an evening appointment (or going away party) and have not been able to even make it to the gym. The most I’ve been able to do is take Laney for our usual mile walk in the evenings. Considering that I’ve been so excited about Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp, this has been a real bummer that I haven’t even had the time for this week’s workouts.

Basically, I’ve just been very off. And I need to figure out how to hit the reset button and get back on track.

So I apologize for the lack of posting and pictures the last few days. I hope that I can hit the reset button tonight and start tomorrow off on the right foot.

On days like this, I always like to think of one of my favorite quotes (and books) from Anne of Green Gables:

“Tomorrow is a new day, with no mistakes in it yet”

So tell me: Do you ever feel off? How do you get yourself reset?

8 Responses to “Feeling Off”

  1. Chelsea Eats Treats August 8, 2012 at 8:21 am #

    I’m sorry to hear about this 😦 I’ve actually sort of been feeling like this a little bit this week too. On Monday I totally gave up on my morning workout just….because. There was no reason, no excuse, nothing. I saw the alarm go off and felt just like you are feeling now. Tired, annoyed, grumpy, sad. I had nothing exciting to look forward to and was just feeling sad. I turned the alarm off and slept for another hour, but I didn’t feel good after. I felt guilty all day for skipping my workout and I forced myself to go to the gym after work. I got a HUGELY sweaty workout in and felt much better. Now I’m feeling better about my week, but still not great. Maybe we overworked ourselves last week with the Boot camp? Maybe it’s because it’s been cloudy/rainy/humid all week? Or that it’s been darker in the morning? Maybe we are just too busy at work (I had so many anxiety dreams last night. Ugh). Who knows, but I’m feeling it too.

  2. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake August 8, 2012 at 10:32 am #

    Oh man, I definitely have days like this! I do exactly what you’re attempting… hit the “reset” button & try to have a better outlook on everything the next day. Hope things turn around! 🙂

  3. Jessica August 8, 2012 at 11:44 am #

    You are not alone. This happens to the best of us. That is a great quote/mantra you have there. Good luck getting back on track.

    • MyFreckledLife August 8, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

      Thanks, it’s definitely one of my favorite quotes!

  4. Jorie August 8, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

    Seriously, there must be something going around! I was just so “off” for the past week, for the first time in the longest time. I skipped workouts, I felt crabby, and overly busy, and even on the verge of tears a few times. Blogging felt like a chore, when I usually find it fun. Thankfully, I am happy to report the cloud has lifted. I got a solid night’s sleep last night, I’m eating healthy again, and going for a run later today. So hang in there! It WILL pass. My advice is to take the weekend off to exercise, eat right, and get sleep. I think that’ll give you the energy to lose the dark cloud.

    • MyFreckledLife August 8, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

      It’s amazing what getting a good night’s sleep will do to rejuvenate you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIAW: Champions Edition « My Freckled Life - August 8, 2012

    […] of all, I need to say THANK YOU all for your kind words about feeling so “off” recently. It was so great to know that I’m not alone and that a lot of you have been feeling like […]

Leave a Reply

