WIAW: Champions Edition

8 Aug

First of all, I need to say THANK YOU all for your kind words about feeling so “off” recently. It was so great to know that I’m not alone and that a lot of you have been feeling like that recently too.

I’m happy to say that today has been a much better day and I finally feel like I’m breaking out of my funk!

Now on to today’s fun!

(source)


(source)

YAY USA Women’s Gymnastics!!!

Truth? I’m kind of sad that it’s all over! Although at the same time, I’ll finally actually be able to get some more sleep instead of going to bed after midnight every night! I really love the USA girls this year though, and it was so much fun to follow them through the competition.

Also, is it totally horrible of me that I was kind of happy that Ali Raisman beat Aliya Mustafina (the Russian girl on the left)? She kind of was a total diva, and every time she was up I just wanted to punch her. I know, I’m a horrible person. But seriously. Diva much?

Anyway, it is Wednesday, so you know what that means! It’s What I Ate Wednesday!

In case you’re not familiar with WIAW, please check out Jenn’s wonderful explanation on the original purpose behind WIAW.

This month Jenn challenged us to post about some of our summer staples.

I have to admit, I kind of failed at that this time. There really is nothing at all summery about my food choices today. BUT I’m going to share them anyway. Forgive me?

Breakfast

I’m back on an oatmeal kick. Partially because it’s just so darn easy, and partially because I’m out of yogurt and too lazy to go grocery shopping. WHoops! Oatmeal is mixed with the last of my farmers market raspberry peach jam, natural PB, and frozen berries. With tea, as usual.

IMG_1120

Lunch

Lunch was actually made up of leftovers from last night’s going away dinner for our intern (HI KELSEY!!!). It included half of my bean burrito and rice from last night, along with some farmers market cherries. I don’t know what it is about bean burritos, but I seriously love them. It’s kind of an issue.

IMAG0290

Snack

The snack of champions: Popchips and coffee! Simple, and delicious. Also, if you havent tried popchips, get on that immediately.

IMAG0291

Dinner

Chris decided to come over to dinner kind of last minute tonight, so instead of taking the time to make dinner, we just decided to pick up something quick. After much debate, we ended up going with Noodles & Co – one of my FAVORITE quick eats. I got the Penne Rosa, which is pretty much what I get every time. It’s just so darn delicious!

IMG_1228

So there you have it – what I ate today!!

Workout

I was FINALLY able to make it to the gym tonight. Which means I was doing my “Monday” workout with Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp. But that’s what is so great about the plan – I can gear it towards my needs, two days late and all!

Although I have to admit that I had a total blond moment and didn’t read all the directions for today’s workout. I was halfway through going “this just seems too easy for Tina…” until I finally looked down and read the fine print – that I was supposed to be going down slowly, and then holding for 1 second, before coming back up. Whoops. TOTALLY missed that. Durr.

Now I’m off to spend the rest of the evening soaking up the rest of the Olympics. I may even try to hit the sack a little early since none of tonight’s sports are my favorites. 

So tell me: What did you eat today?

6 Responses to “WIAW: Champions Edition”

  1. jessielovestorun August 9, 2012 at 1:06 am #

    Oh your dinner looks delicious. I’ve been wanting to try out Noodles & Co for such a long time, and have yet to do so. Man I really need to get there after seeing this!

    • MyFreckledLife August 9, 2012 at 7:41 am #

      It it SO good! Plus I love that there are so many choices or ways you can customize everything. I’m warning you, it’s addicting!

      • jessielovestorun August 9, 2012 at 7:54 am #

        I’ll take your word for it lol. 🙂

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats August 9, 2012 at 8:16 am #

    OMG I ALWAYS get Penne Rosa from Noodles. It is just SO delicious!! Pesto Cavatapi (I think that’s what it’s called?) is the only other thing on the menu I have ever tried (and it was only once lol) and even though it was delicious, it doesn’t beat out my Penne Rosa 🙂 haha

    • MyFreckledLife August 9, 2012 at 8:19 am #

      I’m the same way!! I think I’ve had that pesto one once, and I had Pad Thai once. Every time I stare at the menu like I’m going to get something else, and EVERY TIME I end up getting the Penne Rosa! haha

  3. Alex August 24, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

    Yes, Mustafina is a huge diva…

Leave a Reply

