Weekend Recap: Searching for home

12 Aug

Wowza, it has been one CRAZY weekend! Which I guess is only appropriate after my crazy week! Do you realize that I did not eat a single homemade meal ALL WEEK??? Isn’t that crazy! Yea, it was one of those kinds of weeks.

So I guess it makes sense that my weekend was equally as crazy. Although productive!

Let’s recap, shall we??

Friday

After work on Friday I headed to Stafford to help Chris’ sister pack up for her move back to college. The start of school is always such an exciting time and I miss it SOOO much. Although I don’t miss the packing part…

Chris and I did manage to get a hilly 3 mile run in while dinner was cooking, so at least it wasn’t a complete loss on the workout front!

We ate a great last dinner with Chris’ sister and then ended the night with these babies!

IMAG0294

Although I have to admit that they were a little dramatic to make, considering we had to make a 9pm run to Walmart to get butane for the torch… whoops!

I didn’t end up getting home until nearly midnight, so I definitely crashed immediately upon getting home!

Saturday

I started Saturday with a workout from Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp (I’m a little behind this week… whoops!). I have to admit that out of ALL the workouts so far, this one was probably my least favorite. I loved the circuit format of it, but for some reason the moves just didn’t grab me like they usually do. It FELT more like a workout.

As per usual on Saturday, I headed straight from the gym to the Culpeper farmers market!

IMAG0296

Not without stopping for my usual Saturday morning french vanilla iced coffee from our local coffee shop, Ravens Nest.

IMG_1271

Apparently I like buying things in twos? I ended up with 2 heads of broccoli, two peaches, two zucchinis and a lone jar of raspberry peach jam. I seriously need to learn how to make/can jam… I go through it seriously fast. I also picked up several things for my foodie pen pal, but I’m not going to show you and ruin the surprise!

By this point I was pretty hungry, so I decided to use up some cauliflower that I still had in my fridge from LAST week (Hey, not my fault – I never got to cook at home this week, remember!!).

I used Chelsea’s recipe for cheese cauliflower crust pizza, but I had to sub some different cheese based upon what I had on hand.

IMG_1279

Mine definitely didn’t hold together as well as Chelsea’s… so I don’t know if it had to do with the cheese I used or what. But it was still extremely delicious! Just turned a little more into a pizza mush. haha. But definitely a good one (probably works better if you follow the recipe exactly – whoops!)

The rest of Saturday afternoon was spent working on a bunch of wedding projects. I managed to get a pretty solid design finished for our invitations (still trying to figure out the whole printing situation), got a bunch of bridesmaids presents finished, and designed our centerpieces. Not bad for a Saturday afternoon! Sadly I can’t show you pictures though… I don’t want to ruin the surprise!

I also managed to spend a good amount of time doing some meal planning for this week. I’ve gotten TERRIBLE recently about planning out my meals, which has led to a lot of random meals and mid-week grocery store trips. I really need to get it under control…

I’m thinking I might do a whole post soon about meal planning. Thoughts?

IMG_1283

After a brief dinner at a local mexican restaurant with one of my coworkers and her fam whose last day was friday (total sad face…), I headed to two grocery stores to load up my fridge. It was a little bit of a desperate grocery situation over here…

IMG_1286

(from the left) Natural ketsup, unsweetened vanilla almond milk, pasta sauce, whole wheat potato bread, natural mint chocolate chip ice cream, frozen chopped onions and mixed peppers, whole wheat tortillas, a giant bag or organic bananas!, fat free half and half, peach and black cherry chobani, italian shredded cheese and mexican mix shredded cheese, eggs, tomatoes and spring mix. Phew! Got that all?

The rest of Saturday night was spent watching the Olympics. Got to soak up the last of it, right? It’s another 4 years until these summer games come back around!! Oh jeez… I’ll be almost 29 by then. That is a scary thought…

Sunday

Chris and I were up EARLY this morning to head in to Fredericksburg to look at more houses. We MAY, possibly, sort of, kind of found a house that we really like. I don’t want to jinx it, because we’ve had horrible luck so far!

But that basically took up our entire morning – we managed to see 5 different houses ALL over the Fredericksburg area.

IMG_1337

IMG_1338

With a quick pit-stop at the famous and historic Carls ice cream! (So old and historic, it doesn’t even have a website or take credit cards!) I got a chocolate and vanilla mix cone. Delicious!

After 4 hours of house hunting, Chris and I were HUNGRY! We decided to head into Old Town Fredericksburg to try out a new restaurant – Foode! We got there right in the middle of Sunday brunch, which was perfect for us!

I love their philosophy at foode:

The philosophy at FOODE is simple: we believe that the freshest, cleanest ingredients make the best dishes. We also believe in supporting the local community by highlighting the products grown and harvested right here in this region. We have fantastic organically- grown vegetables from Washington’s Birthplace; heirloom produce from Spotsylvania County; and organic beef, free-range chickens and hormone free eggs from Gladys. We’re proud to say we source approximately 85% of the food we serve at FOODE from the local farms and merchants.

I ended up getting the Power Scramble, while Chris got the LAST Barnyard Chicken Sandwich.

IMG_1360

IMG_1361

But first we started with some iced tea with a mint simple syrup.

IMG_1363

IMG_1364

IMG_1366

OMG, it was all DELICIOUS! We were so impressed by Foode that we are definitely going to have to plan a trip back. We both left stuffed!

The rest of the day has been spent hanging out, watching some Glee (yes, we’re nerds), fitting in a workout from Tina’s Bootcamp because I’m STILL behind this week, and watching the rest of the Olympics.

I also made a delicious dinner, but since this is already becoming the longest post of ALL TIME, I’ll spare you for tonight and share it tomorrow.

But here’s a sneak peak, since I know you’re on the EDGE of your seat…

IMG_1378

Any guesses???

Well now I’m off to go watch the Spice Girls reunite and basically make my life complete…

Night all!

So tell me: What did YOU do this weekend?

10 Responses to “Weekend Recap: Searching for home”

  1. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake August 13, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    I’ve always wanted to make creme brulee, but haven’t because of the whole carmelizing sugar with a torch thing! haha

    I’d love to see a post on meal planning! I always love to see how other people approach meal planning.

    • MyFreckledLife August 13, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

      Haha it was definitely a little scary – but a lot of fun! And I will definitely have to do a full post on it soon!

  2. Tina Reale (@tinareale) August 13, 2012 at 10:24 am #

    Wow! Lots of great looking eats and fun this past weekend for you guys! Although I probably would have given up on the dessert having to make a 9pm Walmart run. Then again maybe not when dessert is involved. 😉

    Win some, lose some with the workouts I guess. At least it’s mixing things up and a new set will come out later this week. yay!

    • MyFreckledLife August 13, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

      Haha for creme brulee, I’d make a 2am Walmart run! And I LOVE the rest of your workouts. I wonder if it was just me and the mood I was in while I was doing it. Sometimes that can make such a difference. I am totally loving bootcamp though!!

  3. Chelsea @ Chelsea Eats Treats August 13, 2012 at 11:04 am #

    Phew what a weekend!! I’m so sorry your pizza didn’t turn out well 😦 Maybe you just need to cook it for longer? I remember having to cook mine for what felt like forever.

    Good luck on the house hunting!! I’m crossing my fingers for you!

    • MyFreckledLife August 13, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

      Yea, I’m wondering if that’s what it was. Still delicious though! And thanks!!!! We need all the luck we can get!

  4. di @ life of di. August 15, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

    I really need to try a cauliflower crust pizza! Looks so good 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife August 15, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

      You definitely should try it – it’s delicious! And a great way to get in more veggies!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Recap: Possible and Hopeful « My Freckled Life - August 19, 2012

    […] workout from Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp. This was actually the same workout that I completed last Saturday, that I said I wasn’t a huge fan of. But I actually enjoyed it much more this second time around! […]

  2. Peace Out 2012! « My Freckled Life - January 1, 2013

    […] of the most stressful things I’ve ever done! No pictures yet since it’s not yet finished, but there will be some coming […]

Leave a Reply

