Dedicated to the letter “R”

13 Aug

That’s right, we’re going to talk today about the 3 R’s – Reading, wRiting, and ‘Ritmatic.

Just kidding.

But we are going to talk about the letter “R” today. Except in the form of Recuperating, Recaping, and Recipe…ing. Yup, that’s definitely a word.

So let’s start, shall we?

Recuperating

IMG_1379

Today started off just fine with my usual breakfast of chobani (black cherry today) with fruit and granola, along with a banana and my usual morning tea.

However, from the get-go I was a little worried about today. I woke up with a scary little tickle in my throat.

And by the end of the day, it was official. I could not escape the summer without a nasty cold. By 5pm, it had it me in FULL force. Stuffy nose, scratchy throat, achy body, the works. Blech.

I was originally planning on going to the gym after work, but I knew that by the time I left I was just not going to be up for it. I could barely breathe out of my nose, and was super foggy headed. So I just had to read my own body’s cues and take it easy today.

So of course, I went to Target instead. Because that’s obviously what you do when you’re sick. I picked up some of the sick staples, like meds, OJ, and soup. Along with 2 pairs of shoes…a bathing suit…and a fall sweater…

…yea, I have a Target problem…

I then proceeded to spent the rest of the evening on the couch, watching Gilmore Girls. A perfect sick night.

IMG_1380

Even though I really wasn’t the slightest bit hungry, I made myself a cup of spinach floretine soup from Archer Farms and a half of a cheese quesadilla. It got the job done.

Recap

This is the start of week 4 of Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp, and even though I wasn’t able to participate today due to this cold, I still wanted to recap things so far for any of you who are interested in participating in the future.

I have to admit, that I was a little worried about what I was getting myself in to when I joined. I’ve always been more of a gym class kind of person, because I tend to seriously lose my motivation when I work out on my own. The competitiveness in a class drives me to push hard.

But I’ve really fallen in love with bootcamp. I love that the workouts are always different and always changing. I love that I’m stepping out of my comfort zone and learning a lot of new moves and techniques that I’ve never tried before. I also love that I can really be flexible with it, which is great considering my crazy schedule.

In terms of skills, I don’t know if it’s actually changed my body or strength at this point, but I can say with full confidence that it has challenged a lot of muscles that I didn’t realize were being neglected. Tina is great about really mixing up the moves to target ALL areas… apparently even the ones BodyPump was missing! Holy soreness!

Since I’m all about giving a fair and honest review, I will admit that a FEW of the workouts have not been my favorites. I don’t know whether I just wasn’t a fan of the particular moves themselves or whether it was just me in that day – so take that with a grain of salt. I will also admit that the workouts can be a bit long when you have a crazy schedule like mine.

But all-in-all, I’m a HUGE fan of the bootcamp so far, and I’m excited for the next 4 weeks. Of course I’ll give a full recap when it’s over. I just thought it would be worth checking in!

Recipe

IMG_1378

To end I wanted to share a recipe with you that I have definitely been enjoying since yesterday. The recipe comes from Mike at Made by Mike, While I kept fairly close to the original recipe, I did make a few ingredient adjustments of my own. The original recipe can be found here.

Crustless Broccoli & Cheese Quiche

Ingredients

  • Butter, for ramekins
  • Coarse salt
  • 1 package (10 ounces) frozen broccoli florets  (I used 2 fresh heads of broccoli)
  • 6 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup half-and-half
  • Ground pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg (I used pumpkin pie spice)
  • 3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese (I used reduced fat mexican blend shredded cheese)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter four 8-ounce ramekins (I used a loaf pan); set aside. Bring a medium pot of salted water to a boil. Add broccoli; cook 1 minute. Transfer to a cutting board. Chop coarsely (I used a slap-shop).
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together eggs, half-and-half, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon pepper, and nutmeg. Stir in broccoli and cheese.
  3. Place ramekins on a rimmed baking sheet. Ladle broccoli mixture into ramekins/loaf pan. Bake until golden brown, approximately 35 to 40 minutes.

IMG_1367

IMG_1369

IMG_1372

So there you have it – super delicious and green quiche!

Now I’m off to go curl up in bed with some tissues. And probably continue my crazy pinning spree of fall clothing on Pinterest. Because who doesn’t do ridiculous things when they are sick? PS – can fall come faster please? I’m ready for cardigans.

So tell me: What ridiculous things do you do when you’re sick?

7 Responses to “Dedicated to the letter “R””

  1. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake August 14, 2012 at 7:27 am #

    I haven’t tried this yet, but I read on Pinterest that eating marshmallows helps a sore throat! You better believe I’ll be stocking up at the first sign of sickness this winter!

    • MyFreckledLife August 15, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

      Interesting, I wonder why that is! Maybe I’ll have to try it!

  2. Chelsea @ Chelsea Eats Treats August 14, 2012 at 8:45 am #

    I’m so sorry to hear you are sick 😦 Sounds like you are being smart though by resting up. I hope you feel better soon! At any rate, your giant quiche looks fantastic!

  3. Lisa @ Jogging on Coffee August 14, 2012 at 10:46 am #

    Hope you feel better soon! I’ve been feeling crappy too and I have a half marathon in 4 days so it better clear up asap!! Watching the Gilmore Girls is super comforting; I love that show 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife August 15, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

      Oh jeez – I can’t even imagine trying to run at all right now, let alone a half! I hope you feel better!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. So, What’s Next? « My Freckled Life - January 17, 2013

    […] decided to go back to Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp, since I had such an amazing experience (and results) when I participated in Round 2 right before the wedding. She recently started Round […]

Leave a Reply

