Dead Bug

16 Aug

That’s right – I’m back in action!

After spending some quality time on the couch and probably using up a year’s supply of tissues in 48 hours, I am finally starting to feel like my old self again. Not 100%, but at least 85%. Although my coworker told me I had a 1-900 voice today… which I’m assuming means that I still SOUND kind of sick. But at least I’m feeling better.

My eats were still a little off today. One can never be too careful. Breakfast was my usual yogurt bowl (I never really change it, so I’m assuming you guys probably could conjure up a picture) and lunch was some more chicken and rice soup.

I ALMOST bought chicken and stars to eat, which totally reminds me of childhood, but after looking at the funky ingredient list I went with this Muir Glen soup instead. Target clearance sales get me every time – those darn, crafty sales! That’s why I can never leave Target without spending at least 50 big ones.

IMAG0297

The soup was nothing earth shattering, but it got the job done.

After work I FINALLY was able to brave the gym without fearing a snot-induced sweat session. I know, I’m gross. Sorry I’m not sorry.

Even though it’s technically Thursday, I was following the Tuesday workout with Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp because I’m only on workout #2 this week. But that’s what is so awesome about Tina’s plan – you can really make it work for you and your schedule.

(PS – for anyone that is interested, she just announced details for Best Body Bootcamp #3, coming to you next September!!)

Anywayzzz (middle school flashback, anyone?), today’s workout called for a longer interval cardio session mixed with some core work. I have to admit, I was a little hesitant about all the cardio today because I was just not feeling in a very running kind of mood, but I sucked it up and made myself go anyway.

And boy was it worth it. I had a GREAT run, despite the fact that the stupid cardio cinema movie stayed on the menu screen for 40 minutes of my run! I really wanted to go tell the front desk, but I knew that if I got off the treadmill I’d totally lose my flow and never get back on. So I listened to the menu music. Over and over. For 40 minutes. Kill me now.

But regardless, I managed to complete ALL of Tina’s workout as prescribed, and really pushed myself! I finished just over 5 miles in 51 minutes, including the warm-up and cool-down, which is super speedy for me!

Then I completed her core workout, which included the one ab move that always makes me feel SO silly:

(source)

It always makes me feel like I’m playing the dead bug game that we used to play at summer day camp growing up. Where you have to run away from an “exterminator”, and if they catch you, you have to lay on the ground with your arms and legs in the air like a dead bug until some alive bugs come pick you up by your arms and legs and carry you back to the anthill (where you miraculously come back to life… I never got that part). Does anyone else know what I’m talking about here??

(I looked it up – I’m totally not making this stuff up people. The “Exterminator” game)

ANYWAY, I came home and made an awesome dinner that I had pinned awhile back from Skinny Taste – Sausage Stuffed Zucchini Boats!

I followed her recipe almost exactly so I encourage you to go to her page for the exact details – but it basically involved scraping out zucchini halves until they looked like boats, cooking up some sausage (I used italian chicken sausage), peppers, onions and the zucchini insides, topping them with pasta sauce and cheese, and baking.

IMG_1381

IMG_1383

IMG_1384

And holy cow are these guys amazing! You must try this immediately! I only finished one boat, seeing as they were made from GIANT farmers market zucchinis, and paired it with leftover roasted green beans from yesterday. AMAZING!

IMG_1386

You want a good way to sneak in a veggie – here it is! This sucker is chalk full of zucchini but tasted like an italian masterpiece.

TRY IT. IMMEDIATELY.

So tell me: What new dishes have you tried that are amazing?

Bonus question: Have you ever heard of/played the dead bug/exterminator game?? (please someone say yes so I’m not totally weird…)

5 Responses to “Dead Bug”

  1. Chelsea @ Chelsea Eats Treats August 17, 2012 at 8:18 am #

    Yum those zucchini boats look delicious!! I will definitely have to make those soon. I LOVE skinnytaste- her recipes are so good!

    I’m also glad you’re feeling better!

    • MyFreckledLife August 19, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

      They are so good! And I love Skinnytaste too! Her recipes never fail to impress me!

  2. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake August 17, 2012 at 10:02 am #

    I immediately feel the need to purchase anything with one of those red stickers on it in Target! haha I am a total sucker.

    I can’t wait to try those zucchini boats! Definitely putting them on my to-make list!

    • MyFreckledLife August 19, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

      ME TOO!!! Darn Target and their marketing!! And you absolutely should, they are delicious!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Recap: Possible and Hopeful « My Freckled Life - August 19, 2012

    […] came over after the gym and we enjoyed some leftover zucchini boats with a nice bottle of […]

Leave a Reply

