Teach me how to….

21 Aug

… Dougie?

TOTALLY kidding, I’m a horrible dancer. Even the dougie is out of my league.

Happy Tuesday everyone!

I don’t know why I’m in such a chipper mood today, but I’m going to take it! It MAY have something to do with the glass of wine I just drank with dinner… but I’m going to pretend it was just because today was a pretty decent day for a Tuesday.

Random, but I heard on the radio this morning that a survey showed that American’s, on average, dislike Mon-Thurs equally. Friday is the exception, for obvious reasons. But all that stuff about Monday being the worst – apparently EVERY day is the worst! haha.

ANYWAY, Overall today has been a good day. Minus the copier at work completely spazzing out and failing to copy ALL DAY, I managed to get a lot done at work. Which is good considering that I have a fairly busy rest of the week.

I did manage to take a break in the middle of working for a short lunch trip to Subway. My fridge is getting desperately empty again, and I just wasn’t feeling PB&J. So Subway for the win!

IMAG0300

(Clearly I was starving and dove in before remembering to take a picture!) Turkey on honey oat with most of the veggies (no olives, ew) and a LITTLE bit of Chipotle Southwest. It’s one of the their higher fat sauces, but I ‘d rather put just a teeny bit on and be satisfied than feel like I’m missing out. I’m all about moderation!

After work I headed to the gym for the first workout of week 5 for Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp! I can’t believe that it’s more than halfway over – it’s been so much fun! But don’t worry, Tina’s already announced that she’s doing a round #3 in September that you can join!

This weeks workout is an entirely different kind of workout that the previous 4 week, which included supersets and circuits. This week features drop sets instead. Drop sets, for those who aren’t familiar (I totally wasn’t before starting this bootcamp), involve lifting doing a move with a heavier weight for a short number of reps, followed by as many reps as possible with a lighter weight.

It was a totally new concept for me, and I actually really liked it! It really pushed me to lift heavier weights than I normally would, because I was only having to complete 6-8 reps. I definitely pushed myself a lot and was a sweaty mess by the end of it, but I really enjoyed this one! Sometimes it can be really nice to step out of your comfort zone a little and try something new!

Dinner was quick and simple considering I got home late from the gym.

IMG_1393

Giant salad with tomatoes, feta, and some organic cesaer dressing (which totally splooshed out of the bottle… I HATE when that happens!) and some whole wheat spaghetti with some homemade pasta sauce courtesy of Chris’ mom. I NEED to learn how to make homemade spaghetti sauce. Not only would it be way cheaper (and healthier) in the long run, but there are so many things that you can do to make it unique!

Speaking of things to learn, I thought I’d take a minute, just for fun, and talk about some of the things that I would LOVE to learn how to do! And I’m totally a type-A, goal oriented person, so you’d better believe that I have every intention of actually mastering these skills!

1. Learn how to make homemade pasta sauce. And then learn how to make lots of different variations.

2. Learn how to make homemade jam. After spending like 30 minutes talking to my favorite jam lady at the farmers market a few weeks ago, I’m totally obsessed with learning how to make jam. I’ve even started obsessively reading canning blogs like Food in Jars. I just think it would be so cool to learn how to make tons of different kinds of homemade jams to keep at home and make little healthy PB&Js for my future kids. Ok… that’s the wine talking…

Honey-sweetened stone fruit skillet jam from Food in Jars

3. Learn how to can/pickle/preserve. I know this one kind of goes hand-in-hand with learning to make jam, but I just really want to learn how to stuff fruits and veggies into mason jars, and have them taste delicious when you open them up. Clearly I need to actually do some research, because I’m pretty sure that’s NOT how the process works.

4. Learn how to sew. I’m not talking like make fancy dresses or quilts or anything (although that would be cool). I just mean to be able to do simple projects like hem dresses and sew pillow cases. There are so many cute projects on pinterest that I would love to be able to do. Except I haven’t a clue how to use a sewing machine.

5. Learn how to bake from scratch WITH CONFIDENCE. When I bake, 99% of the time it’s from a box mix. Or at least primarily from pre-mixed ingredients. I’ve made a FEW things from scratch in my lifetime, like a German Chocolate Cake for Chris’ mom’s birthday. But I consider that more of a fluke than a success. I have this habit of incessantly checking cupcakes with toothpicks to see if they’re done. I am just not confident with my baking skills!

Peach cupcakes with peach buttercream, via Caitlin Cooks

I could probably think of a million more things that I would like to learn how to do… like do trapeze tricks and learn Romanian (you think I’m kidding, but I’m not in either case), but I’ll stick with these 5 for the foreseeable future.

So tell me: What are some things that you’d like to learn how to do?

5 Responses to “Teach me how to….”

  1. di @ life of di. August 22, 2012 at 7:10 am #

    I’d love to learn how to make my own jam. Maybe it’s something I’ll work towards this fall/winter 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife August 22, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

      I just think it would be so fun to have your own jam on hand!

  2. Tina Reale (@tinareale) August 22, 2012 at 10:38 am #

    Yay for liking the drop sets! They are such a fun switch for me and always leave me burning. PS – Now I want Subway for lunch. 😉

    • MyFreckledLife August 22, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

      Oh, I was definitely burning!! And sorry about that!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIAW: Simple and Delicious Edition « My Freckled Life - August 22, 2012

    […] I have to say, first of all, I’m glad I’m not the only one who would like to learn how to make jam! Chris spent all day today making fun of me for it after reading my post last night, but I have a […]

Leave a Reply

