WIAW: Simple and Delicious Edition

22 Aug

Well I have to say, first of all, I’m glad I’m not the only one who would like to learn how to make jam! Chris spent all day today making fun of me for it after reading my post last night, but I have a feeling once I DO learn, he’ll be enjoying it more than anyone!

So I am finally back (and healthy!) and ready for a REAL WIAW post!

For those of you not familiar with WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday), it’s a cool feature created by Jenn of Peas & Crayons for people to share the delicious food they ate during the week. It’s not meant to compare or judge, but merely to celebrate food together! Jenn does a great job of explaining it further if you have any questions!

So without further ado…

Breakfast

Breakfast was frantically eaten at my desk this morning, as I managed to hit “dismiss” instead of “snooze” on my phone alarm this morning. Fail. And Laney was no help – she just wanted to cuddle! So I woke up in a panic about 30 minutes before I was supposed to be at work, and ran around my house like a crazy person. I managed to make it (relatively) on time, but had to eat breakfast at my desk. My current staple – oatmeal with natural peanut butter, farmers market jam, cinnamon, and frozen berries. With tea, of course!

IMAG0301

Lunch

We had some new employees start today, which meant the obligatory “welcome lunch”. As per usual, we headed over to our local (and only) Mexican restaurant. I got my favorite lunch special – the “special burrito”. You know, the one I tried to remake at home a few months ago. It’s basically a chicken burrito with queso sauce. Not the healthiest option of all time, but definitely one of the most delicious! I see some lettuce on there… that counts as green, right?

IMAG0302

Dinner

I ended up coming home a little later than planned from the gym, so I wanted to throw something together fairly quick. So I came up with a half a chicken breast stuffed with goat cheese, spinach, and sundried tomatoes. Paired with a salad and some quinoa. Simple and delicious!

IMG_1403

IMG_1404

Dessert

After dinner (and while watching So You Think You Can Dance, of course!) I decided to make myself a banana smoothie, seeing as I was having a problem with muscle cramps at the gym. Clearly I was needing a little more water and potassium! Just a frozen banana, some unsweetened vanilla almond milk, and a few drops of vanilla extract. Simple and delicious!

Also, I definitely just typed “muscle craps” instead of “cramps”. That WOULD be a problem…

IMG_1407

So there you have it – What I Ate Wednesday! It seems that my summer staples are all foods that are simple and easy to make – I’m all about simplicity in the summer! Gotta soak up as much of the last few weeks of warm sunshine as possible, right?

Workout

So I went to the gym today INTENDING on just completing the interval workout from Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp. However while in the locker room, I ran into one of my favorite class teachers (Hi Julia!) who teaches CXWorks and BodyCombat. While I LOVE bootcamp, I do miss seeing some of my friends in classes!

At the last second I decided to at least join them for CXWorks, since it’s only 30 minutes. Plus the only downside to this week’s workouts is that there hasn’t been as much core work as the last few weeks. Plus it was just fun to see everyone again! I miss CX!

Afterwards I went to complete the interval workout that Tina had created, which involved some pyramid intervals – which I LOVE! However after about 25 minutes my calves were really starting to cramp up and I was afraid I was going to have a charlie horse and fly right off the treadmill. I walked it out for a few minutes, but then decided to be on the safe side and hopped off.

I headed home, stretched out for a good 5 minutes, and took Laney for a walk. My calves were feeling better though, so I decided to run instead, and Laney and I went for a slow but steady 2 miler. So even though I didn’t get in EXACTLY what was on Tina’s plan, I feel like it worked!

Anyway, so that was my day! Now I’m off to finish So You Think You Can Dance. Don’t judge me, you know you like it too!!

So tell me: What did you eat today?

12 Responses to “WIAW: Simple and Delicious Edition”

  1. Julie August 22, 2012 at 11:51 pm #

    So I totally thought that was a sandwich, but now that I know it’s chicken, it’s even better!

  2. jessielovestorun August 23, 2012 at 2:35 am #

    Your lunch looks incredible. Sometimes you just gotta indulge on food even if they aren’t the healthiest 🙂

  3. nexu7 August 23, 2012 at 4:35 am #

    I meant to reply on your last post about the jam to tell you that there is nothing wrong with wanting to make jam. In fact my fiancee and I are making jam as our guest favors for our wedding.
    I can’t believe that dinner is your “throw together” dinner, man I wish I could throw something as good as that together in a hurry. Usually my quick dinners are microwaved scrambled egg bowls lol

    • MyFreckledLife August 24, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

      That’s awesome!! I love that idea! We thought about making apple butter for ours, but instead are making mini pies! And thanks!!

  4. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake August 23, 2012 at 5:34 am #

    I second the commenter above me… your “thrown together” dinner looks pretty impressive! When I throw something together, it’s usually peanut butter and jelly! haha

  5. caloricandcrazy August 23, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

    Your breakfast looks delicious for on-the-go :D!

    • MyFreckledLife August 24, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

      I’m seriously on such an oatmeal kick! So quick and easy!

  6. Chelsea Eats Treats August 24, 2012 at 8:09 am #

    Yummm that stuffed chicken looks great!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gym BFFs « My Freckled Life - August 24, 2012

    […] another throw together dinner. (PS – thank you so much for all your sweet comments on my last “throw together dinner”. You guys are the […]

Leave a Reply

