Smoothie Convert

27 Aug

Aaaaaannd…. I’m back! Did ya miss me?

Sorry for the totally sporadic nature of my posting lately. I swear in the last week, my whole life has just gotten off kilter! My blogging schedule is off, my eating schedule is off, and my sleeping schedule is most definitely off! I need to get myself back on track, stat!

Anyway, due to the fact that I’ve been a total spazz, I wont bore you with ALL of the details of the last few days. But I will give you the highlights!

Saturday

Despite the totally craptastic weather (yes, that’s a word, thank you very much!), I managed to get a ton of stuff done on the wedding front, including:

* Had a hair trial for the wedding and I’m totally in love with it! Sadly I can’t show pictures because I want it to be a surprise to Chris, but I promise I’ll share pictures as soon as the wedding rolls around!

* Bought my veil (FINALLY!)

* Met up with my aunt for lunch – ok, not exactly wedding related, but it was nice to see her since I don’t get up to Northern VA that much anymore.

* Picked up Chris’ suit AND got the suit picked out for my dad.

* Met up with an old manager from my HS retail job and chatted about wedding plans.

By the time I got home, it was nearly 6pm. Sadly my gym closes at 6 on Saturdays (lame, right?) and it was pouring rain outside, so I had to improvise for a workout. I ended up doing a BodyRock.tv 35 minute cardio circuit which definitely had my heart pumping hard!

Laney wasn’t a fan of me working out at home though… she kept wanting to check in and see what I was doing, mid-burpee. Not helpful!

IMG_1412

Who, me? I’m totally innocent…

Dinner was also pretty basic, just some leftover Mexican goodies (black beans, sautéed peppers, cheese, and salsa) on a bed of quinoa. Got the job done!

IMG_1423

Sunday

I was able to sleep in a bit on Sunday morning which was totally AMAZING and seriously much needed. Like Saturday, I had big plans for Sunday!

First I headed to the gym, where I did a circuit workout from Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp. HOLY COW – I’m in love!! It was hands down my favorite workout so far! She had us doing 3 rounds of various exercises that worked the entire body. I was dripping sweat by the end, but absolutely loved it. Even the crab walk, which definitely got some stares…

(Source)

But Kudos to Tina on this one. And if any of you are interested, Tina is doing a round 3 of bootcamp in September, so keep and eye out for it! I definitely HIGHLY recommend it to jump start your workout routine, especially if you’re like me and really got yourself into a boring workout rut.

Anyway, after the gym and a much needed shower, I tried something totally new and different for lunch. Last week, Liz from I Heart Vegetables posted about her favorite protein powders. Now, I have only tried  one kind before, which I was so-so about. But some of her favorite totally intrigued me, especially the About Time Whey, which I had never heard of. But cake batter flavor? I’m all about that. So I ordered myself a “bottle” (because I was not about to order 2lbs of the stuff, and a bottle was enough for a few samples), and got it in on Thursday. So I thought I might try it out for lunch.

IMG_1426

1 frozen nanner, a few drops of vanilla extract, a scoop of cake batter protein powder, and enough almond milk to make everything run smoothly.

Dude, I was skeptical at first since it seems to wimpy, but this baby kept me FULL! And it was delicious! I’m definitely going to have to hop on this smoothie train more often! Any good smoothie recipes out there??

Anyway, afterwards I headed out to run a bunch of errands in Fredericksburg before heading up to Stafford to meet with Chris and his dad to unload some of our new furniture from Georgia! We just have to keep our fingers crossed that everything works out with this house, and we’ll be on our way!

Monday

As usual, my workdays begin like this:

IMG_1421 

Yogurt, granola and berries, tea and facebook stalking very important morning email checking.

We actually had a FULL day training today, with a short break for lunch, but since I was around of bunch of new people I didn’t snap a shot of my sandwich from a cute local cafe. Guess that means I’ll just have to go back soon!

After work I headed up to Stafford (AGAIN) for our last pre-marital counseling session! Hooray! One more thing we can check off of our list! I have to say, as awkward as counseling was at times, I definitely think it included some really good information about important issues that couples face, like financial concerns, communication issues, fighting,  intimate relationships, and family dynamics.

Once we got back to Chris’ house, he did the manly job of mowing the lawn, while I went for a run. I wasn’t feeling too motivated when I started, but it actually turned into a GREAT 4.2 mile hilly run. My legs were actually feeling good enough to keep running, but my grumbly tummy told me it was dinner time!

IMAG0312

Can you tell I’m mildly obsessed with parmesan cheese? Whole wheat pasta topped with Chris’ mom’s homemade turkey pasta sauce, steamed french beans (aka fancy, overpriced green beans in my opinion. But it’s all the store had!) and some bread. Along with a beer. Which I NEVER drink, but Chris gave me some blah blah about electrolytes. He’s trying to get my drunk, that boy! On a Monday, too!

Now I’m home, and it’s 11:30pm, so I’m going to CRASH! I have a super packed day tomorrow, but I promise that I’ll try to get back to a more consistent posting schedule!!

Thanks for bearing with me! You guys are the best!

So tell me: So what fun things did you do this weekend? Do you have any good smoothie recipes?

3 Responses to “Smoothie Convert”

  1. Katherine August 27, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

    I hate gyms that close early on weekends! Actually I hate gyms that close…

    Yummy looking food though! I love quinoa. It is such an interesting seed. Its so tasty and filling!

    • MyFreckledLife August 28, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

      I know, right! It seems to me that they should be open LATER on weekends! And I totally agree – I’m new to the whole quinoa thing, but I’m kind of obsessed!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIAW: Repeat Edition « My Freckled Life - August 29, 2012

    […] Pasta with Chris’ mom’s homemade meat sauce with a side of green beans. Looks eerily similar to Monday night’s meal.  Except it was steamed green beans instead of French beans. Ooh, look at me – changing […]

Leave a Reply

