Isn’t that what it’s all about?

28 Aug

Phew, today was totally one of those whirlwind days where I felt like I blinked and it was 8pm! How does that even happen??

I was up early this morning to meet with a local printer in Culpeper to discuss possibly printing our wedding invitations (Can I just say I can’t even believe that we’re so close to the wedding that it’s invitation time!!! AHHH!!!)

One thing that I LOVE about working with local businesses is that a lot of times they are so much better to work with than corporations or large companies. This printer is a locally owned, family business who is really involved in the community. He spent nearly an hour talking with me about different paper options, how to get the best bang for my back, and what he could do to bring the price down.

Plus, working with local companies is a great way to support your community. Go local! Ok, now I sound like a TV commercial.

Anyway, I ended up having kind of an insane day at work, which included me scarfing my PB&J sandwich in about 3.8 seconds flat in between appointments. Sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do!

Workout

I didn’t even end up leaving work until about 6:30, so I got a bit of a late start at the gym. But I still made it through Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp workout in a reasonable time, even if I did have to cut one exercise short.

I’m actually really loving these drop sets – they are so different than anything that I’ve ever done before! But it’s been great to try something totally different. And it’s really pushed me to work harder and lift some heavier weights. And because I know we all are “progress” kind of people – yes, I am absolutely feeling a difference in my workouts. My weights have consistently gotten heavier (and it’s gotten easier), I’ve developed more endurance in my running, and most importantly, I’ve developed a greater confidence in my abilities. And in the end, isn’t that what it’s all about?

Dinner

Because of my late start at the gym, it meant I also got home a lot later than originally planned. Luckily I spent the whole evening craving Chinese food, so I definitely knew what I was going to make for dinner. Stirfry!

IMG_1428

It came out so well last time that I really just made a few tweaks.

First I cooked up some chicken breast pieces in some Trader Joe’s Soyaki sauce (if you have a TJs near you and havent tried this stuff, DO IT IMMEDIATELY. Do not pass go, do not collect $200).

Then I sautéed up some zucchini, onions and mushrooms, and let it simmer in soyaki sauce. I then mixed up the veggies and the chicken, and spread it on a bed of quinoa. DELICIOUS!

You better believe that I will be eating leftovers of this tomorrow!

Well that’s all for tonight. Time to go work on some wedding projects! SO SOON!!!!

So tell me: What helps you build confidence in the gym?

One Response to “Isn’t that what it’s all about?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIAW: Repeat Edition « My Freckled Life - August 29, 2012

    […] was a repeat meal from last night – stirfry with chicken on a bed of quinoa. Simple and […]

Leave a Reply

