Totally naked

5 Sep

I got your attention with that title, didn’t I?

Well today, that’s basically how I felt. ALL DAY.

Why, you ask? Because I left my cell phone at home this morning. Which meant that I had to go the entire day without my internet/camera/phone/text/right arm.

I know, I know, #firstworldproblems. But seriously – try and think back to what life must have been like for people before cell phones and internet and all of those amenities that we take for granted. You couldn’t call someone to ask a question at the drop of a hat. You couldn’t get instant communication via text. You couldn’t look up addresses or phone numbers or random facts on google at any given time.

(source)

Even worse, in times of emergency or accidents, you had to wait by the TV or hope to get a phone call to find out what happened. There was no instant feedback to let people know you were ok, or twitter to give you the most recent news. You have you cross your fingers and hope the information gets to you. There have only been a few times in my life where this has really made a difference, when the phone lines have been so busy that I can’t get information through. And all of those times have been cases of emergencies.

I don’t know about you, but it’s really weird for me to try and imagine what things were like before all of this modern technology, because it’s become such a major part of our lives. And definitely one that we take for granted most times.

Anyway, those are my deep thoughts for today, as I drove around all day with no means of communication. And of course, no camera to take any pictures of my food (so much for What I Ate Wednesday!).

However, I did come home to 14 missed calls (mostly from Chris) and 6 text messages. What a relief to have communication back!

Workout

After work I headed to the gym. However, I just really wasn’t feeling a workout today. As I was driving there, I basically was trying to talk myself out of things – I was way too mentally exhausted to focus on strength training (my plan for the day), and running just seemed so repetitive. I almost gave up and went home.

Then I remembered that my old favorite BodyCombat class is on Wednesday nights! So off to BodyCombat I went! Sometimes all it takes is finding a workout that sounds fun to bring back the motivation.

And boy could I tell that the last time that I was at BodyCombat was on June 13! Holy cow! My shoulders are going to be yelling at me tomorrow!

Eats

As I said, my lack of phone kind of hindered my picture taking abilities for the day. Which is probably good, considering that my eats were seriously boring today!

However, I did hit up the grocery story after the gym. Which was seriously necessary, considering my fridge kind of looked like no one lives here….

IMG_1464

Just sad.

IMG_1463

Much better! I ended up picking up some staples – Quick cook oats, bagel thins. red pepper, giant bag of bananas, organic eggs, frozen corn and broccoli, greek yogurt, nut salad toppers (pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, and soynuts), spring mix, tomatoes, shredded carrots, and cheese.

Gets the job done!

However dinner was kind of random, because nothing really sounded that good to me today. So I ended up with a  random pasta creation.

IMG_1468

Whole wheat pasta mixed with onions, peppers, spinach, canned salmon, and pesto.

I told you – random. But it got the job done.

Now I’m off to go work on MORE invitations. I swear, they never end!!!

So tell me: What did you eat today?

9 Responses to “Totally naked”

  1. Meghan @ After the Ivy League September 5, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

    I’ve totally been there with the lack of workout motivation…and trying a new or favorite class at the gym always works for me too! Sometimes, you just don’t feel like pushing yourself, and you need an instructor to do the pushing for you!

    • MyFreckledLife September 6, 2012 at 9:44 pm #

      Exactly! I always seem to be more motivated in class then I do on my own!

  2. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake September 6, 2012 at 5:32 am #

    I HATE when I leave my cell phone at home! It always happens to me at least once every school year.

  3. tokyohamster September 6, 2012 at 6:20 am #

    Ohh leaving your cell phone at home is the worst. I’ll unconsciously go to grab my phone from my purse so many times, realizing that it’s at home. It’s amazing how much we depend on them!

    • MyFreckledLife September 6, 2012 at 9:44 pm #

      I know! I don’t know how many times I thought “Oh, I’ll just call/text/chat/google…. oh crap”

  4. di @ life of di. September 6, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

    I know what you mean about feeling ‘naked’ without my phone. Sometimes I’ll leave it at home on purpose (keyword: sometimes) but it’s always those moments that I end up seeing something I want to take a picture of – and I don’t have a phone.

    • MyFreckledLife September 6, 2012 at 9:45 pm #

      I dont know that I could do it on purpose… I feel so empty without it. Which is kind of pathetic, actually!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Poor Pup! « My Freckled Life - September 6, 2012

    […] work I had the best intentions and headed to the gym. Expect today, like yesterday, I just really wasn’t feeling a workout. Except, unlike yesterday, there were no good classes […]

Leave a Reply

