Poor Pup!

6 Sep

Thank goodness tomorrow is Friday. That’s all I can say about today. This has just been one of those totally exhausting weeks.

Which probably hasn’t been helped by the fact that I haven’t gone to bed before 1am in the last WEEK. I’m a grandma, so this is like insane for me. Which is probably why my coffee intake has increased dramatically since last Wednesday. I should seriously buy stock in Starbucks at this point.

My food today really hasn’t been all that exciting, unfortunately.

After all of the junk that I ate this past weekend while in Blacksburg (hello Pizza, midnight Wendy’s frosty’s, and Chick-fil-a), I decided to seriously up my veggies this week. Thus, giant lunch salad!

IMAG0324

Eaten during a lunch meeting, but definitely delicious. I may have to repeat this again tomorrow!

After work I had the best intentions and headed to the gym. Expect today, like yesterday, I just really wasn’t feeling a workout. Except, unlike yesterday, there were no good classes going on to replace my workout. I kind of flubbed around the gym for about 30 minutes, but just could not ever find my motivation. To the point that I was really getting frustrated with myself! So I decided to just head home and take Laney for a run instead.

That was my plan at least.

We set out on our run, and about 5 minutes in I suddenly felt Laney dash to the side. I had my headphones in so I didn’t hear anything, but when I turned to look I saw this giant dog attacking her!

I tried to pull her away, but this big dog would not leave her alone. Thankfully a good Samaritan man who was driving through the neighborhood saw what was going on, pulled over, leaped out of his car, and helped push the big dog away.

We then looked around to see where this dog came from (while he was still kind of circling us). About 3 houses down we saw a fence that apparently had become detached and was leaning precariously. Apparently this dog had pushed with enough force to lean the fence over enough to jump over it.

The nice man went to go knock on the door (while Laney and I cowered behind a car), and let the man who answered know what had happened. The man was super apologetic and came over to make sure Laney was ok. Poor little girl was  seriously cowering, her little heart racing like crazy. We checked her over though, and the big dog only got one little chunk out of her leg which thankfully wasn’t very deep. She wasn’t hobbling or whimpering, so that was definitely a good sign.

After speaking with the man for a few minutes (who apologized again and told me to let him know if anything seemed wrong), Laney and I decided to nix our run and take a leisurely walk to calm our nerves. Ok, that’s what I needed, she probably would have been content to keep running!

IMG_1481-001

After that, I decided a calm evening was in order. So I threw together a really basic dinner that I used to make ALL the time when I was in college/grad school.

IMG_1473

Marinated chicken breast grilled on the george forman, brown rice cooked in vegetable broth, and steamed broccoli. Simple and delicious.

Now I’m going to spend the rest of the evening finishing up all of our invitations (post on them to come, I promise!), and then crash early. Cross your fingers for a bedtime earlier than 1am tonight!

So tell me: Have you ever had something scary happen to your pet?

10 Responses to “Poor Pup!”

  1. nexu7 September 7, 2012 at 4:16 am #

    That is so horrible, poor Laney :(. I’m so glad she’s okay, I would have been freaking out if that happened to my dog. When my dog was alive she was attacked by a Dalmation while my dad was walking her, it happened two nights in a row by the same dog. My dog was never the same after those attacks and would not tolerate any dogs coming near her. When I lived at home one of my cats jumped over into my neighbours yard, they have a dog so he was cornered. My mum saw him from the second floor bedroom window and went screaming outside and into the neighbours yard to rescue him. I ran out hearing her screams to peak over the fence and watch my poor cat be grabbed and shaken like a rag doll. Luckily my mum managed to get him out of the dogs mouth and over the fence but not without getting bit by our neighbours dog herself. Definitely a scary moment in our lives, but our cat was okay and my mum too. We weren’t mad at the neighbours dog either, he was just protecting his yard, we’re just happy he didn’t kill our poor little R2 (yes after R2-D2 from Star Wars).
    I know what you’re feeling with the lack of motivation at the gym too, I’ve been feeling that way for the past couple days. My gym sessions have been seriously lazy :S.

    • MyFreckledLife September 7, 2012 at 8:28 am #

      Holy cow, those are both scary stories! I do think that this dog was just protecting “his yard”, even though we were 3 houses down, but I dont think Laney saw it that way – she was terrified! Hopefully this doesnt scar my poor puppy for life!

  2. Lisa @ Jogging on Coffee September 7, 2012 at 7:42 am #

    Oh my gosh, poor Laney 😦 I’m so glad she’s okay!

  3. aftertheivyleague September 7, 2012 at 8:05 am #

    Ahh! Your poor puppy! That must’ve been so scary, thank God she’s ok!

    • MyFreckledLife September 7, 2012 at 8:28 am #

      I’m not sure who was more freaked out – her or me! But thank goodness it wasn’t any worse. I’m not sure I could have taken on that big, mean lab by myself!

  4. Chelsea Eats Treats September 7, 2012 at 8:31 am #

    Poor Laney!!! I can’t believe that 😦 I hope her leg heals quickly!!

    • MyFreckledLife September 7, 2012 at 8:33 am #

      Thanks, me too! She seems fine this morning, so I’m hoping that is a good sign!

  5. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake September 7, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

    Aw! I feel so bad for Laney! We have one dog in our neighborhood that is ALWAYS running around loose; it’s so annoying! She’s come up and tried to “fight” with my precious pug a few times… I don’t think so.

    • MyFreckledLife September 9, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

      That’s awful! At least this owner doesnt normally let his dog loose. I can’t stand people who dont understand the concept of leashes!

Leave a Reply

