Weekend Recap: Food, football, and one giant zucchini

9 Sep

I finally had a relaxing weekend – which is like a miracle in my book, considering how insane the last few weeks have been! But this weekend has been filled with fun, football, and LOTS of food!

Here is a picture filled recap of everything that went down this weekend:

Friday

Chris came over Friday night, and we made a special dinner inspired by Pinterest. But I’m going to do a full write up of it tomorrow, so I don’t want to spoil the surprise. But just to give you a sneak peak:

IMG_1498

We followed up dinner with some ice cream. Because sometimes, ice cream really does make the world better. Cheesecake ice cream, graham cracker crumbs, strawberries and blueberries.

IMAG0325

Saturday

We started off Saturday with a breakfast totally inspired by Chris. He has been making turkey sausage, egg and cheese breakfast sandwiches every morning before work for the last few months, and has kind of gotten me hooked. I did put my own spin on things though. Made with a toasted cinnamon raisin bagel thin, one egg, and one slice of colby jack cheese.

Chris also introduced me to cooking a scrambled egg in the microwave. GENIUS! It’s SO much easier than on the stove for these kinds of sandwiches!

IMG_1482

Next up was the farmer’s market! You know it’s fall when the apples come out!

IMG_1499

IMG_1500

IMG_1503

I ended up picking up 4 peaches (some of the last of the season – sad face!), two kinds of jam (raspberry peach and concord grape), one sweet potato, one leek, a squash, and the world largest zucchini. It’s seriously as tall as a wine bottle. That’s one gigantic zucchini?

That’s what she said….?

Most of the rest of Saturday was spent at Buffalo Wild Wings watching Tech play dominate Austin Peay. Can I just ask, who names a school “Austin Peay” and then comes up with the chant “Let’s Go Peay”. I mean, really? It doesn’t take a 5 year old to figure out that that is a bad idea…

I also may have overloaded on the wings and chips… it happens. It was just so exciting to have football back in my life!

After the game, and waiting out the crazy storm that passed through our area, Chris, Laney and I headed to Fredericksburg to meet up with his family for dinner. We also made a quick stop at Jared’s to officially order our wedding bands! EEEEEKKK!!! It’s getting SO REAL!

Dinner was pizzas on the grill – one with white sauce, and the other with red sauce. Both came out AMAZING! Props to Chris for his idea of adding some olive oil and spice glaze on the crust before cooking!

IMG_1505

IMG_1508

We finished up the evening watching Water For Elephants (GREAT movie if you haven’t seen it) and checking football updates on our phones. Yup, we’re those people.

Sunday

Today was primarily made up of two things: errands and cleaning. After my insane weekend last week, followed by an equally insane week, my house was a total disaster zone. It was mildly embarrassing for a slightly OCD person like myself.

A total of 3 hours of errands and 3 hours of cleaning later, I finally feel like I breathe again!

I did break up my errands and cleaning with a nice (almost) 5 mile run. I have the  most awkward neighborhood ever, so my runs always end up being like 4.96 or 3.48 miles. Bah!

IMG_1520

Starbucks totally lied to me with their Pumpkin Spice lattes. It is NOT fall yet. See the lobster face for proof.

Seeing as I didn’t finish cleaning until nearly 8pm, dinner needed to be something quick and easy. Hence my current go-to simple staple: Grilled chicken, brown rice, and a giant salad.

IMG_1524

PS – I don’t know why I’m suddenly having a total obsession with salads. Doesn’t my tummy know that fall is almost here??

Now I’m off to spend the rest of the evening vegging on the couch. And maybe getting a few wedding projects done if I can convince my legs to move.

And can I just say, the one thing that I love the most about the country has to be the view. Don’t judge me for taking a picture while driving. I swear I pulled over first!

IMAG0327

So tell me: What did you do this weekend?

8 Responses to “Weekend Recap: Food, football, and one giant zucchini”

  1. Jorie September 9, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

    My sister and her husband just unearthed a similarly large zucchini from their new garden! I was astounded. Then a co-worker told me that zucchinis (and pumpkins, for that matter) keep growing and growing in the ground until you pick them. Who knew?! Anyway, I love your blog! Keep up the good posts 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife September 10, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

      Hm, I didn’t know that! Maybe that explains my freakazoid zucchini! And thank you!!! 🙂

  2. aftertheivyleague September 9, 2012 at 11:07 pm #

    My neighborhood runs are such random mileages too, 3.64? I don’t even know what to call that one. But running is running is running, that’s all that matters. I totally understand your conflicted cravings too, I’ve been so in the mood for smoothies lately, and didn’t have a single one all summer. Makes no sense!

    • MyFreckledLife September 10, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

      Haha, at least I’m not the only one with weird numbers! and I know – how frustrating!! It’s like now that summer is about to leave, I’m craving summery foods! So weird!

  3. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake September 10, 2012 at 5:30 am #

    I haven’t had Coldstone in forever! And now you reminded me how delicious it is!! 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife September 10, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

      Haha, me neither!!! It really is delicious. Not diet friendly, but worth it every once and awhile!

  4. katiedaisy921 September 10, 2012 at 5:45 am #

    Your pizza looks amazing!! And you did it on the grill??? Oooohhh… tell me more. You should post the recipe! 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife September 10, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

      OMG, It’s SO awesome!! Chris’ family has a “big green egg” grill, so we just put the pizza right on the grill. Similar to this: http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/how_to_grill_pizza/ My only advice is to make sure the dough is a little on the thicker size, so it doesnt burn. Once you get it right, you’ll never want to go back to oven pizza again!

Leave a Reply

