From Pin to Plate: Skillet Lasagna

10 Sep

Before I get started with today’s feature, I wanted to tell you all about something that happened to me yesterday. But I have to warn you, it’s a little vain…

I’ve talked before about one thing that I really love about Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp is that it’s really brought me out of my shell in the gym. I’m talking to more people (and having more people talk to me) and generally feeling more confident.

Well today I was mid-workout and a lady that I see at the gym often popped over and asked me who put together my program. She stated that she had seen me in the gym “kicking butt and taking names” for the last few months, and how she could totally see the changes in how toned I am, and how she would love to learn more about the program I’m working with (Don’t worry Tina, of COURSE I sent her your way!)

I know this sounds silly (and quite vain), but sometimes I think it’s nice to hear that someone else is not only noticing all the hard work you’re putting in, but also the positive changes that you’ve made. We can say 1000 times that we don’t need to hear compliments from other people and that we work out for ourselves, and while that may be completely true, it doesn’t mean that hearing compliments from other people doesn’t feel good sometimes.

(Source)

So you’d better believe that I was feeling super motivated after that!

 

From Pin to Plate

So I have a new feature that I want to start on this little bloggeroo (did I really just say that?). I know we all know what a totally amazing time-suck Pinterest is. And if you don’t, you clearly live under a rock.

I don’t know about you, but I tend to pin like 1000 things a day, and then probably only actually try about 5 of them. ever.

But I want to change that! I want to try and create more things from pinterest (or other blogs), and I want to share it with you all! Successes, failures, and everything in between.

(PS – If you want to see some REAL pinterest failures, check out pintrosity – AWESOME!)

So without further ado: My first Pin to Plate – Skillet Lasagna!

The pin came from The Realistic Nutritionist, who adapted the recipe from a Weight Watchers Cookbook. And let me tell you, it doesn’t taste at all like a “weight watchers healthy” recipe!

Serves 4
Prep time: 10 minutes
Cook time: >10 minutes

Recipe adapted from Weight Watchers One Pot cookbook.

Ingredients:
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 cup mushrooms, chopped  – I omitted the mushrooms, because I forgot to buy some!
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 (14.5 oz) cans Italian diced tomatoes, drained
  • 1/4 cup tomato sauce
  • 3 basil leaves, chopped
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 cup skim ricotta cheese
  • 1/2 cup part skim mozzarella cheese
  • 3 tablespoons Parmesan cheese
  • About 6 ounces lasagna noodles, broken into thirds & fully cooked – I used whole wheat lasagna noodles
  • 2 tablespoons parsley (dried or fresh – I used dry)
  • 1 cup frozen spinach
Directions:
  1. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add onions and cook until softened, about 4 minutes. Add garlic and mushrooms and cook until garlic is fragrant, about one minute. Add in diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, basil, salt and pepper. Cook mixture until it thickens up a bit, around 5 minutes.
  2. Add noodles to skillet and stir into the mixture well. Add scoops of ricotta cheese over the noodles; add in mozzarella and Parmesan. Stir in frozen spinach and allow to cook. Stir in parsley.  Cook about 2 more minutes, or until mixture is thick.
  3. Serve immediately with additional basil or parsley.

 

IMG_1485

IMG_1488

IMG_1489IMG_1494

(Definitely not as pretty as the original… I’m a messy cook!)

IMG_1498

This was SERIOUSLY delicious guys. Like one of the best things I’ve cooked in a long time. I absolutely recommend this if you’re a fan of regular lasagna. It’s so quick and easy, but has the same kind of taste as the original. Plus it’s low in calories and actually has decent ingredients!

And it’s only one pot! How awesome is that?

Try it. Now. You know you want to!

So tell me: Have you ever made anything from pinterest? Was it a success or a failure?

8 Responses to “From Pin to Plate: Skillet Lasagna”

  1. claire (@realnutritioncg) September 11, 2012 at 7:45 am #

    I’m so glad you liked it!! And I think yours looks great!! 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife September 13, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

      Thanks!! But mine was definitely a lot messier – you made it look so clean!

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats September 11, 2012 at 8:35 am #

    Yummm that looks great!!

  3. tokyohamster September 11, 2012 at 8:52 am #

    This lasagna looks great! And I looked into Tina’s Bootcamp. It seems like there’s another registration coming up. If you don’t mind me asking, what is involved? How does it work? I couldn’t find the info on her site!

    • MyFreckledLife September 13, 2012 at 11:05 pm #

      It basically is an 8 week program, and she sends out new sets of workouts every 2 weeks (so 4 phases). She completely changes them up every time, so you really never get bored. They are kind of geared towards those with gym access, BUT she includes alternative moves for every exercise in case you are doing it at home or dont have a particular piece of equipment. Plus she’s always available for questions. There is also a great online community that gives support. Hopefully this answers your questions – I LOVED it and would definitely recommend it!!!

      • tokyohamster September 14, 2012 at 1:12 am #

        Thanks for the info! It makes more sense now. I looked into it after your comments – I want to be movin’ and shakin’ it at the gym too! I think I’ll be signing up for the new program 🙂 I’ll let you know how it goes!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. MIA « My Freckled Life - September 13, 2012

    […] now for a sneak peak of the next in my Pin to Plate […]

Leave a Reply

