MIA

13 Sep

So you as you guys may have noticed, my posting has gotten pretty sporadic lately. Like more than my normal bizarrely sporadic postings. I’ve basically been MIA.

The truth is guys, life has been insane lately. Between wedding planning (T – 1.5 months, ACK!), buying a house, a crazy work situation where we are currently severely understaffed and overworked, some family issues (please keep Chris’ grandmother in your thoughts/prayers), and attempting to balance some sort of normal social life/gym schedule/dog-cuddle time… I’ve decided that 24 hours in the day clearly are not cutting it.

That’s not to say that I’m going to stop posting, because I really do love this blog. I love being able to share the food I make (and the food disasters I create), discuss fitness and get your feedback, and generally be able to rant about my life. And of course post cute pictures of Laney – because we all know that’s what you all REALLY come here for!

IMG_1511-001

But it does mean that I’ve kind of just come to accept that for the next few months, a post-a-day may just not be happening. Because when I don’t get home until after midnight and still have a list of things I need to get done that night, blogging tends to sit low on my priority list.

I hope you all will understand and will keep coming around to read. If not – check back in a few months and I promise I’ll be pumping out daily posts again. But for now, I’m hoping more for 3-4 times a week. And if that gets to be too much, we’ll make an adjustment again. C’est la vie!

 

Well, now that we got THAT depressing stuff out of the way, let’s get on to the fun stuff!

Since I’ve missed a few days, I thought I’d catch you up on all the fun foods I’ve been eating. Because the rest of my days haven’t really been all that exciting.

Let’s review, shall we?

IMG_1526

Chicken Fajitas with Chris’ family.

IMG_1528

My typical breakfast this week – I’m back on a chobani, granola, and fruit kick. Plus caffeine. Can’t live without the caffeine.

IMG_1529

Calamari appetizer at Mike’s American Grill – the sauce was seriously TO DIE FOR.

IMG_1530

Pomegranate mojito with a real sugar cane stick. Delicious! Pomegranates are my favorite!

IMG_1533 

Roasted peppers, asparagus, and portabella mushrooms on a bed of angel hair and lemon sauce, with a side of fried goat cheese. OMG SO GOOD! Drool worthy. I must find a way to recreate this!

Also – it had capers on it, which I didn’t notice until I was halfway through. I thought I HATED capers… but apparently they aren’t that bad. Maybe I grew out of it?

IMG_1531

My lovely companion for the evening, the beautiful Christine!

IMG_1537

Homemade turkey burger with carrots and garlic (recipe coming soon), half a sweet potato, and some squash that spent a few seconds too long in in the oven. But they were will tasty!

And now for a sneak peak of the next in my Pin to Plate series…

IMG_1540

Any guesses?

Well thank you guys again for bearing with me as life goes through this crazy phase. I sure do hope that it calms down soon! I think I’ve forgotten what sleep feels like…

So tell me: What helps you get through the stressful times?

11 Responses to “MIA”

  1. nexu7 September 14, 2012 at 4:39 am #

    I totally understand you being a little busy these days…it sounds like you have a lot on your plate, but hang in there you will get through it all!
    Especially now that you’re down to the wire with your wedding date, sadly I hate to inform you, it only gets more stressful from here. Seeing as I am 6 weeks away from mine, I totally understand where you are coming from! I have moments where I just want to get it over with and other points where I’m fine and excited about the whole thing. I just need to get to the day and then I’ll feel good and secure about it all. For now I’ll just ride the roller coaster.
    How I handle my stress? Well I don’t handle it very well lol. I try to refocus or keep my mind off of what is stressing me out. I’ll workout, I’ll bake/cook, clean the house or honestly I make a bookstore run. I know it sounds silly but I love books, the idea of books, the smell of books, everything to do with books I love. So going into a bookstore just to look around for an hour is my de-stresser. I don’t even have to buy anything, just to explore makes me happy. I hope all you don’t stress too much, just remember that it will all work out in the end no matter what.
    As for you not being able to blog as much, I think we will all understand 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife September 18, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

      I love bookstores too!! And thanks… I’m sure you understand my stress too!

  2. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake September 14, 2012 at 5:28 am #

    I try not to stress about not being able to blog daily. Like last night, I had a school function that took me back to work after our usual day until 9:00PM! The few hours I WAS at home, I didn’t feel like blogging. The “job” that pays the bills has to come first!

    • MyFreckledLife September 18, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

      Exactly – life has to come first. Thank you!!

  3. Meghan @ After the Ivy League September 14, 2012 at 7:25 am #

    Don’t stress about not being able to post everyday, you’re crazy busy it’s a wonder you’re able to post at all! I used to stress about trying to post all the time too, until I realized it’s no big deal if I skip blogging on the weekends. I enjoy and need the down time from the computer, so what if I don’t post everyday?

    • MyFreckledLife September 18, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

      You’re totally right – living life is way more important. I’m trying to remember that!!

  4. Chelsea Eats Treats September 14, 2012 at 8:23 am #

    I hope Chris’ grandmother is ok! I will definitely keep her in my thoughts and prayers :-/ and of course, don’t worry about not posting every day. We all go through busy phases and you have to focus on what’s best for YOU. Just think how happy you’ll be when you are all moved in and married and you have SO much free time 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife September 18, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

      Thank you very much, I know Chris and his family appreciate it. And I knowwww – I’m not going to know what to do with myself once I get married! So much free time!

  5. tokyohamster September 14, 2012 at 9:06 am #

    oh you’re getting married!!!! congratulations! i know exactly how it gets when wedding day approaches. i was too busy to post everyday during that time too. my only advice is to enjoy wedding planning! it can be stressful at times, but it’s part of the fun 🙂 and btw – that pomegranate mojito looks yummmyy! congrats again!

    • MyFreckledLife September 18, 2012 at 8:11 pm #

      Thanks – yea, wedding planning is so insane! No one tells you that in advance! haha.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Highs and Lows « My Freckled Life - September 18, 2012

    […] no see! Sorry about that, this weekend/week has just been a little bit insane so far. But as I said last week, I’m trying to put life’s priorities above blogging, for my own sanity. And I must say, you […]

Leave a Reply

