Restaurant Remake: Sausage and Lentil Soup

1 Oct

Ok, ok, I know… I’ve been gone for awhile. Sorry guys. Life has just been kind of insane. Like in a “I just have to start laughing like a crazy person otherwise I’m just going to cry because I’m so overwhelmed” kind of insane. Yea, I’ve been doing a lot of crazy laughing lately. I’m pretty sure I’m starting to get some strange looks.

Anyway, in between work and a ridiculous amount of wedding crafts, I HAVE still been eating. Ok, it’s often PB&Js or pasta, but hey – at least it’s food right now. All considering, I’m impressed I even remember to eat half the time!

But the other night Chris did request soup, since the weather is FINALLY starting to feel like fall outside. Thank goodness, it’s already October! I was getting tired of this Summer September!

More specifically though, he requested that I find a recipe for a soup like the sausage and lentil soup at Carrabbas.

Well thanks to the wonderful world of Pinterest, I managed to find a copycat recipe!

I copied it almost exactly, and boy did it turn out awesome! So incredibly flavorful and filling! I recommend you make this immediately!

Carrabba’s Sausage and Lentil Soup

Feeds 6-8

Ingredients:

1 lb Italian sausage (I used hot italian turkey sausage)
1 large onion, chopped
1 stalk celery, chopped
2 large carrots, chopped
1 small zucchini, chopped
6 cups chicken broth
2 (14 1/2 ounce) cans diced tomatoes, undrained
2 -3 garlic cloves (I minced mine, I’m not a huge fan of chunky garlic)
1 teaspoon salt
2 cups dry lentils
black pepper
red pepper flakes
basil
oregano
parsley
thyme

Directions:
1. Brown sausage; drain off fat.
2. In a large pot combine all ingredients bring to boil.
3. Reduce heat,cover.
4. Simmer for about 1 hour or until lentils are tender. Add water if necessary, for desired consistency. You can puree about 1 cup of the soup and add back to pot to give it a thicker consistency.
5. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese and serve.

IMG_1589

IMG_1590

IMG_1593

IMG_1594

IMG_1596

As I said, you should make this – immediately!

Now I’ll be honest, I can’t tell you how much I’ll be posting in the next week or so. Chris’ grandmother passed away over the weekend, so we’ll be making a whirlwind trip to Georgia to celebrate her life. But I promise I’ll make an effort to post more when I get home!

So tell me: What restaurant recipe would you most like to remake?

2 Responses to “Restaurant Remake: Sausage and Lentil Soup”

  1. tokyohamster October 2, 2012 at 12:24 am #

    woww this looks great! hmm maybe we’ll have this for dinner tonight 🙂 hope your wedding projects are coming along!

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats October 2, 2012 at 8:17 am #

    I am so sorry to hear about Chris’ grandmother 😦 Please tell him I send my condolences!

    And that soup looks awesome! I love Carraba’s sausage and lentil soup so I think I will have to give this one a try! Now if only I could perfect the Carraba’s awesome bread for dipping 😉

Leave a Reply

