Starting a new normal

24 Nov

I’m BACK!!!! Long time no see!

(Truth, I’ve actually been back since mid-November. However there was a slight issue where my computer cord decided to play hide and seek. Let’s just say it’s definitely winning this round, because we still have yet to find it. I finally gave in and installed all my blog software on Chris’ computer in the hopes that it will show up now that I’ve decided to give up!)

Anyway, how are you all! I’ve missed you! It has definitely been extremely weird to go a month+ without blogging. And not only did I go without blogging, I basically went without even READING blogs! I have no idea how people like Cait managed to blog right up until they got married; I’m so impressed!

So let’s catch up a little, shall we?

In the last month, I’ve:

579084_10101310242670043_824428303_n

(Photo courtesy of Sara Tyer Photography)

– Gotten married (AHHH!! I’M MARRIED!!! … It’s weird!)

– Bought a house (Note to self: NEVER buy a house and get married at the same time, unless you think grey hairs are a good luck. It’s WAY too stressful)

– Went to the Dominican Republic on our honeymoon (80 degrees on the beach is SOO much better than freezing Virginia!)

– Moved into our new house and have been living out of boxes for the last few weeks while the house is being painted

– Started to get adjusted to married life (It’s definitely different!)

 

Although I have to be totally honest with you guys… November has not exactly been a healthy month for me. I was so diligent about everything leading up to the wedding – eating healthy, working out, training for this half marathon in January…

Then the honeymoon happened. And let’s be real – it  was an all-inclusive resort. I literally drank like 5 pina coladas a day. No joke. They were delicious. And while we DID play tennis for 2 hours one day, on day 3 I managed to break my toe while walking in town, which kind of limited our ability (and our desire) to work out.

And then we got home, and moved into a new house where we have been living out of boxes for the last 3 weeks while the house is being painted. I’m pretty sure I have kitchen appliances located in boxes in EVERY room in this house. And my old 3 minute commute to work has now turned into an hour and 10 minute  commute. So for the last few weeks it’s been a lot of pizza, chick-fil-a and pumpkin pie. And very little exercise (unless you count hauling boxes up and down a flight of stairs 1000 times this last week).

And let’s just say, I can tell. My jeans are a little tighter, my energy level is a little lower, and I am sure as heck not as toned as I was before the wedding.

I’m not trying to make excuses. I’m trying to be honest about what the post-wedding weeks have been. And that it’s going to change. Thanksgiving has come and gone, and the tryptophan has worn off. It’s time to get back into a healthy routine. Now you all can hold me accountable to that!

I don’t know that TOO much will change here on the little ole’ blog now that life has changed for me. You all just might have to bare with me as Chris and I find some kind of new normal routine. We didn’t live together before we got married, so it has definitely been an adjustment for us (although I good one!) Who knew that people had different views on whether the shower curtain should remain open or closed during the day!?! haha.

So with that, here’s to starting a new normal with my HUSBAND (Ah, that’s still weird to say!!!).

Now you didn’t think I’d leave you without some pictures, did you?? Here are so previews. I promise I will give you some full recaps in the coming weeks once I get some official pictures from the wedding. But here are some teasers for you!

430596_10152042935856393_991164569_n

525728_10100690859813206_995744568_n(Photo courtesy of my friend Christine)

3752_10151083298446626_866340872_nIMG_0017

IMG_1703

IMG_0107

IMG_0152

So tell me: What have you been up to this past month?? I’d love to catch up!!

15 Responses to “Starting a new normal”

  1. nexu7 November 24, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

    Ahh!! Congrats!!! I’m so excited that you’re back and I get some updates on how the wedding went! You look so gorgeous and that dress is beautiful (and somewhat reminiscent of my dress…great minds think a like! lol). I don’t know how you handled all the stress, I also got married and then immediately went into home ownership, luckily for us though we don’t get the house til February 15th, so we have time to prepare. I hear ya though on the diet going out the window, since the wedding my eating has been all over the place. I’m trying to get back on track, but boy is it a struggle. Again, so happy that you’re back in the blogging world, I definitely missed your posts :). Can’t wait for more pictures!

    • MyFreckledLife November 26, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

      Yay for marriage!!! Great minds do think alike! But I’m right there with you – getting back into the swing of things post-wedding is a lot more difficult than I thought it would be! We can do it though!!

  2. katiedaisy921 November 25, 2012 at 6:25 am #

    Congratulations!!! Your wedding dress is beautiful, and you look stunning. I love the Dominican Republic. I am glad you’re back – I’ve missed you. 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife November 26, 2012 at 9:42 pm #

      Aww, thanks! I’ve missed blogging and all the wonderful people that are involved! And I LOVED the DR! So beautiful!

  3. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake November 25, 2012 at 10:26 am #

    Congrats!!! And welcome back! Love the photos and your dress!

  4. di @ life of di. November 25, 2012 at 5:39 pm #

    Congrats on the wedding! You looked beautiful. Adjusting to married life is definitely a change. My husband and I didn’t live together either and things are definitely different at first. Looking back over our first year (we just celebrated in October), there are definitely things I wish I would’ve not gotten so fussy about but I think it’s all part of the newlywed experience 🙂 enjoy this time! PS- My husband and I still debate about the shower curtain and it’s whereabouts. 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife November 26, 2012 at 9:43 pm #

      Haha, I’m glad to know we’re not the only newlyweds who go through this post-honeymoon period of trying to figure out what normal is! And that darn shower curtain! Who knew it could be so difficult?? haha

  5. Jorie November 26, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

    What a gorgeous bride! You know what? I think you deserve to take some time off and focus on getting your house (and new married life) in order! The jeans will fit again soon. For now, enjoy it all !

    • MyFreckledLife November 26, 2012 at 9:45 pm #

      THank you! And that’s what I’m hoping; That all of these good habits will be able to slowly find their way back into my life and into my NEW routine.

  6. Chelsea Eats Treats November 27, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    First of all – yay!!!! So glad you’re back!! Secondly I just LOLed at the shower curtain reference. Literally every morning after I shower I close the curtain and then later after Fabio showers he ALWAYS leaves it open. Grrrr. Which side do you fall on??

    Love the wedding pix and can’t wait to see more!! Will we see any bikini pix?? How did it go?? Like I said before, so glad you’re back!

    • Chris Baumann (@Hokie_x3_Hi) November 27, 2012 at 10:39 am #

      She falls on the dark side, leaving the shower curtain open. Something about monsters hiding in it if it’s closed makes her want to leave it open…

      • MyFreckledLife November 27, 2012 at 10:41 am #

        Aww, Chelsea, you should feel special. This is the first time Chris has ever commented on my blog!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Magnificent Return « My Freckled Life - November 27, 2012

    […] magnificent return to the gym.  Which is a definite change, since I’m now trying to find a new routine that will work for […]

  2. Still Working on Normal « My Freckled Life - December 11, 2012

    […] consider living out of boxes and suitcases “moved”), we are really working on finding out new normal. Especially with the holidays coming up, when I really believe there is no such thing as normal, […]

Leave a Reply

