Magnificent Return

27 Nov

Happy Tuesday! I don’t know about you guys, but going back to work after a long Holiday weekend is always so depressing. This week has already felt long! I swear it should be at least Thursday!

Please tell me I’m not the only one who feels this way!

But let’s get down to business, shall we?

(If anyone just sang “…to defeat the huns” in your head, we should be besties. Even more bonus points if you sang it out loud.)

Eats

Breakfast went unpictured again. My bad. I basically walk around all morning in a stupor until the caffeine has wound its way through my bloodstream. It’s an issue. But it was oatmeal. I’m sure you can use your imagination.

IMAG0368

Lunch was leftover “chili mac”, aka chili on top of leftover pasta. Looks gross, but I promise it was delicious!

IMG_1782

IMG_1785

Dinner was actually thrown together in just a few minutes thanks to the wonders of Costco! We had some edamame with sea salt, paired with some dumplings that we steamed and then briefly pan fried for a nice crisp. Seriously, so delicious!

Workout

So today marked my magnificent return to the gym.  Which is a definite change, since I’m now trying to find a new routine that will work for me!

I’m not going to lie, I kind of had mixed feelings as I was driving there after work.

Part of me was really excited to get back into my normal routine at the gym and get my sweat on. I’ve been feeling kind of blah and dumpy lately, which is probably a combo of too much leftover Thanksgiving food and not enough exercise. So I was pumped to start up a new gym routine (and get some of my muscles back! They’ve gone into hiding).

But part of me was also kind of dreading it. It’s been so nice to have evenings to relax and hang out with my husband. To not wake up sore every morning. To be able to drive home when it’s still light outside!

I’ve gotten so out of the habit that it was really hard to be completely excited about giving up all that free time at home. Even though I know it’s good for me, and how good I’ll feel afterwards.

I guess that’s why it’s so easy to come up with excuses and NOT go to the gym. Because you really do have to make it a priority, and sometimes give up things like spending time at home relaxing on the couch. Or at least rearrange your schedule to make it fit.

It’s not always easy. And it’s not always fun. But we do it because we know that it will be worth it.

I think that’s going to be my new mantra!

Anyway, despite my mixed feelings, I did make it to the gym. It was a slow return and I just ran 3 miles and did some core work before heading home. But hey, it was a start!

And I know it will be worth it!

So tell me: Do you find it difficult to convince yourself to workout sometimes, or is it just habit for you?

9 Responses to “Magnificent Return”

  1. Chelsea Eats Treats November 28, 2012 at 9:10 am #

    I get into phases like this allllllll the time. It’s definitely mental and the hardest thing is convincing yourself to stay with it. You are not alone!!

    • MyFreckledLife November 28, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

      I’m glad to know it’s not just me! It’s especially bad in the winter when the idea of running around in the cold and dark doesnt sound fun at ALL!

  2. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake November 28, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

    Oh my goodness, YES, I do find it hard to “convince” myself to get a workout done! It’s been particularly difficult lately… I think it’s the cold weather. When I get home I just want to curl up under a blanket, not go to the gym!

    • MyFreckledLife November 28, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

      I agree – the old weather makes it so much worse! The dark doesnt help either!

  3. nexu7 November 28, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

    I had one of those moments this morning, I had to talk myself into a run today. Some days are harder then others to get into the “mood” to workout. Especially now that it is nearly winter and we get such little day light!
    Just stick with it and you’ll get into a whole new groove! As they say…you never regret a workout!

    • MyFreckledLife November 28, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

      I know! That is the worst part about summer – no daylight! And that is the truth, it’s always worth it in the end. It’s just getting started that’s so darn difficult!

  4. ddunstan17 November 29, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

    I know you don’t have a lot of money right now, but you should investigate a store like Play it Again Sam to get a treadmill. That way 1) you won’t have to leave your house, 2) you can DVR TV shows and run to them, and 3) Chris can use it too. We got a new one that works great — not a lot of bells and whistles, but it does different speeds and inclines, and you can do pre-set runs (although I don’t) for about $600. Worth every penny!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIAW: Old, Married Lady Edition « My Freckled Life - November 28, 2012

    […] glad to know that I’m not the only one who occasionally has trouble motivating themselves into healthy habits at the gym. Even though we all know that it is good for […]

Leave a Reply

