One month a Mrs.

3 Dec

That’s right, it’s been exactly ONE month since the wedding!

Which I totally can’t believe. Part of me feels like it was MONTHS ago. The other half is still in denial that it’s December already. The 65 degree weather isn’t really helping with that.

But before I get into that, let’s review this weekend, shall we?

This weekend could also affectionately be named “the weekend we spent all the monies”. Because that’s basically what happened.

Purchase #1: A “new” car.

IMG_1811-001

Since my car totally kicked the bucket just before the wedding, I’ve been driving Chris’ OLD car. And by old, I mean almost as old as he is. It gets about 17mi/gal and basically has no heat. Not exactly ideal. So after finding a deal that was just too good to pass up, we ended up with this 2006 Toyota Corolla with less than 45,000 mi. MUCH BETTER!

Don’t mind my running clothes – Chris took this picture before we headed out on a 6 mile run. Surprisingly, this is probably one of the best runs that we’ve ever head. We finished in just about an hour, and both felt really good afterwards. Maybe this half-marathon thing is actually going to happen?

Purchase #2: A new couch

We have been looking for a new couch to replace our old college furniture which has definitely seen better days (sound familiar Chelsea?) So again, after finding a deal that was too good to pass up, we bit the bullet and put a down payment on a brand new couch. Ouch.

Our bank accounts were seriously hurting.

So we made ourselves feel better by putting up Christmas decorations. I’ll post pictures once it’s all complete, but here’s a picture of my wonderful husband being manly and climbing on the roof. Our 6 year old neighbor came over to “help” too.

IMG_1809

Other highlights of the weekend included:

– My Hokie Basketball team beating #15 Oklahoma State. Woot!

– Meeting our new neighbors and even being invited over for dinner tonight! Yay for good neighbors (and homemade chicken and dumplings!)

– Going to see the Fredericksburg Christmas Parade! I grew up in the city, where we don’t really ever have parades. I have to admit, this was my first Christmas parade experience. It was so much fun, although very cold. My favorites were the teeny tiny twirlers – SO CUTE!

One Month Revelations

Since I now have officially been married for 1 month, I thought it would be fun to review some of the fun things that I’ve learned about marriage. Please note, Chris and I did not live together until we got married, so some of these things are also “things I’ve learned after moving in together”.

1. Who knew there were so many little things to disagree about?

Shower curtain opened or closed, toothpaste squeezed or rolled, toilet paper rolling down or up. So many things! We have definitely learned a lot about each other in this last month, and are trying to find some compromises that work for us. Although I think the toothpaste debate will forever hold strong.

2. Planning a wedding and buying a house at the same time – not the best idea we ever had.

Definitely two of the most stressful things I’ve ever done. And when they overlapped – meltdowns happened. But the way I see it, if Chris and I can make it through that insanity (aka if Chris can put up with my numerous stress-induced sob sessions), then we can probably make it through anything that life throws at us.

3. Coming up with Christmas traditions is harder than I expected.

Even though Chris and I have spent Christmas together before, this is our first Christmas as a “family”, which means we’ve been trying to figure out what our Christmas traditions are going to be. We’ve been trying to combine his family’s and my family’s, as well as try to make up some of our own. It’s actually much more difficult than I anticipated!

4. Changing your name is a pain in the tush!

Holy cow – now I know why people keep their maiden names! It is such a pain! There are so many places that require name changes, but they all need different paperwork! You can’t change social security until you have a notarized marriage license. You can’t change your license until you have a new social security card AND a marriage license. You can’t change you bank accounts or work information until you have a new social security card and proof of address change. And then there is the issue where only about half my stuff in changed, so I never know what name things are under. Plus, introducing myself with my new name sounds weird. So it usually sounds like, “Hi, my name is Stephanie *awkward pause* B…”

5. Having a man around the house is really handy.

Can’t get a jar open? no problem. Need someone to climb on your roof to hang lights? No issues. Need help doing dishes? “Hey honey!” It is pretty nice. The only downside? Double the laundry…

There you have it – some of my reflections from the first month of marriage.

So tell me: What are some of your reflections on marriage or living with a significant other? And if you’re single, what do you expect will be different?

6 Responses to “One month a Mrs.”

  1. tokyohamster December 4, 2012 at 2:08 am #

    So many things to congrats you about – the wedding, the car, the new place, etc! Congrats! I always meant to change my name, but just looking at all of that work, I couldn’t put myself through it!

    • MyFreckledLife December 4, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

      Thank you!! And it is definitely a pain in the rear!!

  2. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake December 4, 2012 at 6:34 am #

    I’m pretty sure that my name still isn’t changed on some of my “stuff.” Oh well…

    • MyFreckledLife December 4, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

      Haha, I know there are probably many things that I’m missing! Instead I just sound like an idiot when someone asks for my name and there is an awkward pause while I try to figure out what name they might have me under!

  3. Chelsea Eats Treats December 4, 2012 at 9:36 am #

    Yayy can’t wait to see the new couch!! Also, can we get a house tour once you guys are all settled in?? I’d love to see it 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife December 4, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

      Me too! Too bad we dont get it until Christmas week. Womp womp. And yes, definitely! Although that might be awhile at the rate we’re unpacking…

Leave a Reply

