Chopped

4 Dec

Heeeelllloooooo!

(That was my best Mrs. Doubtfire impression. I’m weird, I accept that)

Happy Tuesday! How is it only Tuesday? Is it just me, or does this week seem to be going SUPER SLOW?

But maybe that’s a good thing, because I have barely begun to put a dent in my Christmas shopping. Yikes!

Overall, today wasn’t too bad. Things are actually really starting to calm down at work (probably just totally jinxed that), so I feel like I can finally breathe. Considering things have been basically INSANE since April, it’s about time! Makes me remember why I enjoy my job!

Workout

After work I headed over to the gym for a quick 3.25 mile run. I was on a bit of a time crunch, so I basically ran and high-tailed it out of there, but at least I got something in! I really have made it my goal to get at least 2 short runs in during the week (on top of my long runs on the weekends) to prep for this half marathon. I just wish the weather was nicer, because I hate the treadmill! SO BORING!

I have to admit though, I really miss all the lifting I was doing before the wedding. Unfortunately I have not been able to do ANY thanks to this little guy.

575065_10101322402711223_870094542_n

Didn’t I mention that I nearly chopped my finger off? Because I did. The night before Thanksgiving. Apparently our brand new knives are really, really sharp. Sharp enough for 5 stitches, a cut artery AND a cut nerve. So now I have a nice numb spot. Lovely!

I did get the stitches out last Friday, but just to be on the safe side, I’m not lifting until it’s 100% healed. I’m not risking any infections, or anything bursting!

Stupid finger…

Eats

Today’s meals were actually a little on the dull side. As I mentioned yesterday, Chris and I got invited to our neighbor’s house for dinner last night and spent most of the evening drinking wine and chatting. They did send us home with leftovers though!

IMG_1826

Homemade chicken and dumplings, corn and garlic bread. Not very much color, but definitely delicious!

Long to Short

So for the past year and a half, I have been growing my hair out for the wedding. I would get trims every few months to take care of the split ends, but other than that, it just grew. And let me tell you, I was SO sick of it!

I kept telling everyone that as soon as the wedding was over, I was chopping it all off.

Well, I did.

This was my hair on our honeymoon:

IMG_0044-001

This is my hair now:

IMG_1843

Just a little bit of a difference…

Totally worth it! It feels so much lighter! And I can still put it in a mini ponytail, which is the only thing I was worried about!

So there you have it – the exciting part of my day!

So tell me: Have you ever done anything drastic with your hair?

9 Responses to “Chopped”

  1. ahellams December 4, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

    Locks of Love three times…I think my duty is done. You look super cute with short hair but I am a long hair girl for sure!

    • MyFreckledLife December 5, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

      Thanks! I really wanted to do Locks for Love, but unfortunately my split ends get so bad that they have to hack off at least 2 inches just in split ends. So I would basically have to cut it above my ears to get the 10 inches!

  2. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake December 5, 2012 at 7:24 am #

    Love the new haircut! 🙂

  3. Chelsea Eats Treats December 5, 2012 at 9:39 am #

    Love the hair!!! It totally works for you. I wonder what I would look like with short hair…

    • MyFreckledLife December 5, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

      Thanks! I was ready for something new and different. And I’m not going to lie, there was a lot of playing with my hair in the mirror before I cut it to see what I’d look like. haha. So awkward…

  4. di @ life of di. December 8, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

    I went through a bad breakup about four years ago and chopped off my hair. I ended up dying my red hair dark brown but that only lasted a couple of months. I changed back to the red but kept the short hair for a year or so then started growing it out again. I can’t believe how much hair can grow in a couple of years! I feel like it’s starting to get so long again. 🙂 I love both lengths on you but the short is really cute (and who doesn’t love a mini ponytail!!) 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife December 10, 2012 at 10:14 pm #

      Thanks!! And I’m like that too. I tend to go back and forth between short and long. I have never had the courage to dye my hair though!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Peace Out 2012! « My Freckled Life - January 1, 2013

    […] a year and a half of growing it out, I made the decision to get rid of it! And boy did it feel […]

Leave a Reply

