Five Favorites Friday #2

7 Dec

Why hello there! Happy Friday!

Sorry for my minor disappearance yesterday. Unfortunately I managed to come home with the world’s nastiest headache, and after making dinner and doing some cleaning/unpacking around the house, I weighed my options between blogging and conking out. My pillow definitely won that battle.

But I’m feeling much better, and just in time for another Five Favorites Friday!

Let’s get started, shall we? Here are 5 things that I am really loving this week:

1. Favorite product: Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stains

 

Now I am absolutely NO fashionista (in fact, my “fashion” pinterest board is very appropriates titled “I wish I had style…”, but this is one product that I am absolutely OBSESSED with. And by obsessed I mean it’s gotten to the point that I wear one of them every day. It’s bad. But they are just the perfect amount of color, they have a nice pepperminty flavor (I HATE the bad lipstick petroleum taste), and stay on for awhile. It’s great if you’re not normally into lipbalms.

I also have to give credit, where credit is due. Tess Christine got me hooked. Also, love her videos. I want to be her when I grow up.

2. Favorite Pin: Sweet Potato Turkey Shepherds Pie

(source)

I don’t know about you, but my family used to always make shepherds pie once it got cold outside. It’s just such a hearty, warm, comforting meal for the fall. But this recipe takes it to a whole new level. This is definitely on my list of things to make this winter. Or immediately.

3. Favorite Recipe Creation: Remake of Noodles & Co Penne Rosa

IMG_1875

Tonight Chris and I were craving some carbs, and I have to admit – Penne Rosa from Noodles & Co is hands down one of my favorite restaurant pasta dishes ever. So I decided to create a remake of it. Or at least, a copycat, given we had to make a few adjustments. The recipe will come later this week, but I have to say that it was definitely both simple and delicious!

4. Favorite Holiday Treat Idea: Cranberry Eggnog Cupcakes

(source)

This basically combines 3 of my favorite winter things: Cranberries, eggnog, and baked goods. I am literally drooling just looking at this picture. I have a few holiday parties coming up, and this recipe may make an appearance…

5. Favorite Rediscovered Hobby: Reading!

I know this sounds totally ridiculous, but I went for quite a long while without ever reading for fun. I used to be such a bookworm when I was younger, but then between grad school, work, and you know, attempting to have a life, reading totally fell by the wayside.

But while we were on our honeymoon, Chris and I did a lot of reading while hanging out at the beach. Which is impressive in itself, considering my engineer husband has never been a real reader.

Now, however, we are hooked. In the past few weeks I’ve read:

Divergent, by Veronia Roth

An American Heiress, by Daisy Goodwin

(Reading now) Matched, by Ally Condie

As you can tell, I kind of have an obsession with both dystopian novels and historical fiction. So if anyone has any suggestions of books to read next, please pass them along!!

(For anyone who has read Divergent, Chris is currently reading Insurgent, so I’ll get that from him as soon as he’s done)

There you have it – things I’m loving this week!

So tell me: What are you loving this week? Anyone have any book suggestions?

If you haven’t read Divergent yet (and you liked the Hunger Games), READ IT IMMEDIATELY!

9 Responses to “Five Favorites Friday #2”

  1. di @ life of di. December 8, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

    Book Suggestions: Gone Girl by Jillian Flynn, Wild by Cheryl Strayed, Pale Girl Speaks by Hillary Fogelson

    Reading is one of my all-time favorite things to do but I definitely re-acquired it as a favorite pastime. I wasn’t huge into reading from about junior year of high school until my sophomore year of college. Now, I can’t get enough! 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife December 10, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

      I’m starting to get that way too! And I will definitely have to check those out. I’ve heard Gone Girl is really good!

  2. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake December 9, 2012 at 8:13 am #

    Have you read Sarah’s Key? That’s a great historical fiction book!

    • MyFreckledLife December 10, 2012 at 10:14 pm #

      Never heard of it! I will definitely have to look it up!

  3. IHeartVegetables December 9, 2012 at 10:53 am #

    The Penne Rosa at Noodle’s & Co is the best!!!!!

    It was so fun meeting you in person yesterday!! 🙂 I hope you’ll be able to come to another meet up soon!

    • MyFreckledLife December 10, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

      It seriously is the best pasta ever! And it was so fun meeting you as well! I will definitely have to come to more of these events!!

  4. Chelsea Eats Treats December 10, 2012 at 9:49 am #

    Yumm I love Penne Rosa from Noodles!! It’s such a good mix of spicy but not too spicy. So good! Also I LOVED Divergent and Insurgent when I read them earlier this spring and I’m now listening to Divergent on audio book when I go for runs. It makes my runs so much more fun!

    • MyFreckledLife December 10, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

      I am SO excited to read Insurgent. Chris keeps going “AHHH!!!” or “NOOO!!” while he is reading… it is driving me crazy! I want to know what happens!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Calling myself a “Runner” « My Freckled Life - December 18, 2012

    […] basically spent the rest of the night reading Matched, which is actually pretty good. A LITTLE Twilight-ish, but maybe because that’s because I just […]

Leave a Reply

