Chillin’ at the Barre

10 Dec

Happy Monday everyone!

I know, that feels weird to type. Because normally, Mondays suck. But this one has actually been pretty decent, for a Monday. Productive day at work, lunch with coworkers at a new Mexican restaurant (and you know I love me some salsa), new running shoes from VA Runner, and 50% Outback dinner?

Not too shabby for a Monday, if I do say so myself.

I have to admit though, my good Monday is probably actually more due to my awesome weekend.

There was a little Christmas tree buying and decorating. And some White Christmas watching (ok, reciting, since I basically know ALL of the words). Some  neighborly cookie exchanging…

But best of all?

Some VA Blogger meeting!

IMG_1878

Saturday I made the drive down to Richmond to meet up with some fellow Virginia Bloggers at a studio called the Local Barre.

IMG_1876

Local Barre describes themselves as:

Richmond’s exclusive barre fitness studio! Classes at Local Barre fuse the preeminent elements of Pilates, yoga, ballet and calisthenics into one phenomenal, non-impact workout. The results of our core-intensive classes are flattened abs, lean, non-bulky legs and arms, beautiful backs, and lifted seats.

Basically, barre classes are a mix of pilates, yoga, and ballet moves and techniques that utilize the ballet barre for stability. They look easy enough, but after just a few minutes you are definitely feeling the burn!

IMG_1881

After a few minutes of chatting, Local Barre instructor Alex helped us to gather up our weights and balls (…awkward…) and led us through a short warm up. We then moved on through arms, then legs, then ab workouts. The barre workout was all about repetitive movements, so while it seemed easy enough at first, by the end of the song my arms/legs/butt/abs were literally shaking!

IMG_1883

The class may only have been an hour long, but you better believe I was good and exhausted by the end! But it was such a fun workout, and I can definitely see why people keep coming back. I am definitely going to have to look into something like this around me! Sadly, Richmond is just a BIT too far to drive on a regular basis!

IMG_1882

But it was absolutely worth it to hang out with these lovely ladies! I’m sure they will have recaps as well, so you’ll have to check out Megan, Liz, Katherine, and Stephanie’s blogs as well!

Definitely the highlight of my weekend!

Ok, maybe it was tied with the Christmas decorations… who doesn’t love a good man in beads?

IMG_1886

IMG_1889

So tell me: Have you ever tried a barre workout? What other new or different kinds of workouts have you tried recently?

11 Responses to “Chillin’ at the Barre”

  1. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake December 11, 2012 at 6:39 am #

    I have tried a barre-style workout once and it was intense!!! I was (pleasantly) surprised by how challenging it was. I wish there was a studio closer to me!

    • MyFreckledLife December 12, 2012 at 7:03 am #

      Me too! It definitely worked muscles I didn’t know were lacking!

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats December 11, 2012 at 9:14 am #

    Awww man I really wanted to go to that blogger meetup 😦 Richmond is just too far for me and I can never rationalize the trip!! They did have a northern VA meetup a while ago so hopefully there will be another one soon!!

    Also your house looks beautiful!! Love the brick fireplace and hardwood floors 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife December 12, 2012 at 7:04 am #

      We could have met in person! haha. If there is a NoVA one though, we should definitely try to go. NoVA isn’t TOO far for me, especially on a Saturday with less traffic. And thanks, we love it too!

  3. IHeartVegetables December 11, 2012 at 10:52 am #

    It was SO fun getting to meet you in person!!! I can’t wait for the next meet up 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  4. Stephanie @cookinfanatic December 11, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

    So much fun and an awesome workout, agreed! Great meeting you too!

    • MyFreckledLife December 12, 2012 at 7:05 am #

      I definitely can see why you go regularly! I am still feeling it! It was great to meet you too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Five Favorites Friday #4 « My Freckled Life - December 21, 2012

    […] a few blogs that are new to me that I’ve really been enjoying recently. Two of whom I met at the VA Bloggers event at the Local Barre a few weekends […]

  2. Peace Out 2012! « My Freckled Life - January 1, 2013

    […] overcame my nervousness and headed down to Richmond for my first ever VA Bloggers Event at the Local Barre studio. It was so much fun, I got to try something completely new, and I met a […]

  3. New Years Aspirations « My Freckled Life - January 3, 2013

    […] to the gym and make it a priority for me. AND I want to try some new things! I loved trying the barre class a few weeks ago, so I’m ready to branch out! Any […]

Leave a Reply

