Still Working on Normal

11 Dec

Hello again! Bet you didn’t expect to see me back so soon!

SURPRISE!

But really, why am I back so soon?

As you may recall, now that Chris and I are married and fully moved into a new house (I use the word “moved” lightly… I wouldn’t exactly consider living out of boxes and suitcases “moved”), we are really working on finding out new normal. Especially with the holidays coming up, when I really believe there is no such thing as normal, let’s be honest.

So that being said, I’m going to try to make a few changes around here and see how they work out with our new little family! These changes are really almost more of goals for the month, so even though it’s almost mid-December – let’s do some goals, shall we?

Goal #1: Blog in the morning

Since my commute went from being about 3 minutes to being about an hour and 3 minutes, it has definitely put a little bit of a strain on my nightly schedule. Chris gets home nearly 2 hours before me (also thanks to his crazy early morning carpool), and so we’re still trying to work out a good pattern that allows for maximum time together. And time for laundry.

So expect for at least the next few weeks to probably see my posts come mid-morning instead of late at night. And I apologize in the advance for this transition – I am now writing while drinking my morning caffeine. Forgive the zombie-ness.

(source)

I MAY even try and get up in the morning to work out since my afternoon gym schedule is not going so well… But I’m going to test that one out a few times before I even say it’s a real possibility. Me and early mornings aren’t really friends.

2. Be more conscious of food

As a lot of people have been posting about, the holiday season seems to be pretty bad for everyone in terms of overeating, mindlessly munching or just general cookie consumption. (You know you like that alliteration. Nerd alert!) I am definitely falling prey to that as well. I’m not going to lie, our neighbor children brought over several boxes/bags of cookies and treats and my sticky fingers have definitely gotten into them a time or two.

But it’s time to be more mindful of what I’m eating and how much I’m eating. I am even debating whether I should starting counting calories, just to give myself more of a visual clue to think about whether I’m really hungry or just munching.

I’m also going to focus more on the veggies! Since I live with my meat-loving husband now, I have to try a little harder to get my veggies in. But we are off to a good start this week with our grocery trip. Hello freezer full of green!

IMG_1890

Also, having a bottom drawer freezer is pretty much my favorite thing ever. I’m spoiled now, and I’m never going back to a top freezer!

3. Meal Plan More!

When I lived by myself, I was all about “eh, let’s see what’s in the fridge and throw something together”. But when you have two mouths to feed, that doesn’t seem to work as well.

This is our first real month of living together, so we are starting to track our grocery budget to figure out where we are spending money and what we can be smarter about. One of those areas is definitely going to be meal planning so we’re not going crazy at the grocery store and buying 100 things of Chobani and only making it through 10 before they expire.

And no, that is a hypothetical example – we’re not THAT bad.

But I really want to focus more on meal planning to not only make sure that we’re eating healthy meals on the regular, but also so make sure we’re making the most of our money.

Plus, there’s an app for that (of course). We’ve been using Out of Milk to share our grocery lists. I’d love to know if you have any other cool tips or tricks on this!

 

There you have it, my “goals” for the month of December and this insane holiday season. Still working on that new normal!

So tell me: What are you working on in December to make the holidays healthy?

4 Responses to “Still Working on Normal”

  1. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake December 11, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

    Ah, I’m sure adding an hour to your commute is a big adjustment! Yesterday I got out of work just a half hour later than normal and I felt all out of whack!

    Meal planning is a must for me; I honestly think I’d end up buying food out every night if I didn’t meal plan!

    • MyFreckledLife December 11, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

      It definitely has been a huge adjustment! I leave when it’s dark and get home when it’s dark. Thank goodness for the window in my office or I would never see the sun!

      It’s starting to become a must for me. Otherwise I just keep buying food at the store and half of it goes bad!

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats December 11, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    Let me know how you guys tackle grocery shopping! Fabio and I go once every two weeks (roughly) and at the register we pay for half on his card and half on mine. We always do “inventory” before going to the store to see what key staple items we are out of. I almost always stick to this list and rarely buy anything else unless it’s on sale and I’ve been wanting it for a while anyway. We also go to Costco or BJs about three times a year to buy things like peanut butter, toilet paper, paper towels, and frozen chicken breasts in bulk. Let us know how it goes!!

    • MyFreckledLife December 11, 2012 at 1:07 pm #

      Haha you guys have it down to a system! We are spoiled because we have a BJs AND a Costco super close to us. Right now we’re going like once a week, but partially it’s just because we’re still stocking up on staples and trying to figure out what we like/need. It definitely is a learning experience!

Leave a Reply

