WIAW: Honeymoon Edition

12 Dec

Good morning guys! I’m definitely still not used to saying that!

Thanks for the great comments yesterday on how you all meal plan and shop for groceries with your significant other. This is definitely something totally new for Chris and I (seeing as I lived by myself and he was in college prior to this), so we are still fumbling our way through it. I’ll give you an update in a few weeks about how things are going, but I’d love to hear any other tips or tricks you guys have!

WIAW

Since I’m new to this whole “posting in the morning” thing, I totally blanked yesterday on taking pictures of most of my meals for a What I Ate Wednesday. In my head I thought, “it’s Tuesday, I don’t need those until WEDNESDAY”. Duh, it doesn’t work that way anymore!

For anyone not familiar with WIAW, please head over to Jenn’s blog to learn more. It’s a great concept designed to celebrate the food we eat, not to judge or compare. But she does a much better job of explaining than I do! This month Jenn challenged us to share some of our Healthy Holiday Recipes.

So, I don’t exactly have any healthy holiday recipes for you, but instead of skipping WIAW completely this week (which would be sad, it’s one of my favorite blogger traditions!), I thought I would combine it with another post I’ve been working on: A recap of all the food we ate on our Honeymoon!

And I mean, TECHNICALLY, one of those days was a Wednesday, right? Just go with me here.

So without further ado, here is my What I Ate Wednesday (and Thursday, and Friday…) on my honeymoon!

IMG_0045IMG_0047IMG_0050IMG_0052IMG_0068IMG_0073IMG_0074

The one above was Chris’ squid filled pasta (if I remember correctly). It took him a few minutes to get over the black squid before he was willing to eat it.

IMG_0077IMG_0079IMG_0161

This was our “real” Dominican meal. While we were on our excursion (another post I’m going to do – complete with video), one of the things that we did was eat a meal cooked by a Dominican woman full of traditional foods. We had potatoes, grilled chicken, fish, spicy rice, cabbage slaw and plantains. Honestly, probably one of the best meals we ate on our whole trip!

IMG_0178IMG_0182IMG_0184

We ate LOTS of fish! Salmon, Shrimp, Tuna, Squid, Muscles… you name it, we probably ate it!

IMG_0186IMG_0187IMG_0189IMG_1696

Pretty typical breakfast! We ate a lot of omlettes and pancakes. When in Rome the Dominican, right?

IMG_1713

Pretty standard lunch for me. Most of our dinners were much bigger, so I tried to eat a lot of salad and fruit for lunch. The Dominicans are definitely meat people, so it was a little difficult time to get my veggies in!

There you have it! What I ate on my Honeymoon! Not a traditional WIAW post, I know, but I hope you all can forgive me! We’ll be back to our regularly scheduled WIAW post next week, I promise!

So tell me: What did you eat today?

12 Responses to “WIAW: Honeymoon Edition”

  1. peasandcrayons December 12, 2012 at 12:21 pm #

    Traditional schmaditional! This was fabulous! You and I should take a blogging honeymoon…. =) just saying! I’m drooling here!

    • MyFreckledLife December 12, 2012 at 12:22 pm #

      Blogging honeymoon… that sounds awesome! We should get right on that!

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats December 12, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

    Yummm that all looks delicious!! I love eating the traditional food of the place I am staying. It’s always the best!!

    • MyFreckledLife December 12, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

      Seriously, it was the best meal! I’m so glad we actually got to eat some REAL Dominican food while we were there, and not just resort food (although that was amazing too!)

  3. IHeartVegetables December 12, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

    Yummm!!! So many fun meals!! 🙂 It can be hard to load up on veggies when you’re in a new place, that’s for sure!

    I’ve been eating lots of fruits and veggies today… because I had a few too many peanut butter + chocolate cookie things last night 😉

    • MyFreckledLife December 12, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

      Especially because most of their veggies were loaded with butter and oil… kind of cancels out the healthy factor! But we did eat a lot of fruit – I basically had pineapple with every meal!

      Yummm, PB + Chocolate is the best combo! Ok, actually, anything with chocolate is awesome…

  4. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake December 12, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

    Yum!!! Everything looks SO good!

    • MyFreckledLife December 13, 2012 at 7:52 am #

      Thanks!!! Just looking at it again makes me want to go back!

  5. jessielovestorun December 13, 2012 at 3:43 am #

    Everything looks delicious!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #YOLO? « My Freckled Life - December 13, 2012

    […] how was your Wednesday! I loved all the great comments about my WIAW: Honeymoon edition! That was only a small bit of all the food we ate while we were in the Dominican Republic. Plus, […]

  2. Peace Out 2012! « My Freckled Life - January 1, 2013

    […] down one of the best trips of my life! I still have MORE pictures for you all on this […]

Leave a Reply

