#YOLO?

13 Dec

YAY, it’s Thursday!!!

I don’t know about you, but this week has been totally dragging for me. It’s probably because I have some exciting things happening this weekend, which obviously means the universe needs to move as SLOWLY as possible until then. Of course.

So how was your Wednesday! I loved all the great comments about my WIAW: Honeymoon edition! That was only a small bit of all the food we ate while we were in the Dominican Republic. Plus, you know, the like 5-10 pina coladas I drank a day. Or the Bahama Mamas… or the mimosas with breakfast… or the… you get the idea.

Probably explains why my pants are still a LITTLE bit tighter than I’d like them. Oh well, #YOLO.

And now I’m ashamed I actually just used #YOLO in real life. Apparently I’m a 13 year old girl making bad life decisions…

Moving on!

IMG_1904

My Wednesday was actually pretty fabulous. I went on a super productive spree at work and got a ton of stuff done (gotta take advantage of that productivity when it comes around, right?), did a super quick 3 miles at the gym, and got some chores done at home. Our upstairs is almost officially unpacked! Woohoo!! Let’s just not talk about the 50 boxes we have in the basement, k?

But dinner last night was definitely the star of the show!

Chicken and Rice with Mushrooms

It all started with this recipe that I found in an old Cooking Light Magazine:

IMG_1905

I loved the general idea (and the picture… drool), but really didn’t have an hour+ to spare on cooking since I get home so late now. So I used this as inspiration and improvised, using leftover brown rice and what I had on hand (with a quick grocery store run for mushrooms).

Chicken and Rice with Mushrooms

Inspired by Cooking Light, Serves 3

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups of leftover cooked brown rice (I used short grain)
  • 1 chicken breast, cut into cubes
  • 1/2 package of white mushrooms, cleaned and sliced
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1/2 package of frozen peas
  • 1/4 cup chicken stock
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • minced garlic
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Paprika
  • Thyme

Directions:

1. Cut chicken breast into cubes and season with salt, pepper, paprika and thyme. Heat 1 tbsp olive oil in a pan over medium heat. Cook chicken until done all the way through. Remove and put to the side.

2. Heat 1 tbsp olive oil in the same pan over medium heat. Add garlic, and cook for 30 seconds. Add mushrooms and onions, season with salt and pepper, and cook until caramelized, approximately 4-5 minutes. Add frozen peas and cook until heated (approx. 2 minutes).

3. Add chicken stock, chicken, and rice, and cook until rice is heated and no liquid is left. Sprinkle parmesan cheese and mix. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

4. Serve and top with thyme. Enjoy!

IMG_1893IMG_1895

Chris cooked the chicken before I got home from work, so I didn’t get a picture of Step 1. But I think you guys can figure it out!

IMG_1896IMG_1898IMG_1899IMG_1900IMG_1904

Here is a great (and easy) way to use up some leftover rice. You could also totally substitute different vegetables to fit your fancy.

Or go totally wild and crazy and add some tofu or some soy sauce…

After all, #YOLO!

No? That just felt wrong….

So tell me: Do you usually follow recipes exactly, or do you use them as inspiration?

I used to be a recipe only girl, but I’ve recently started to branch out and wing it more. It means occasional failures, but that’s part of the fun, right?

8 Responses to “#YOLO?”

  1. Alisha December 13, 2012 at 10:14 am #

    this post made me smile 🙂 I love the YOLO references! And that dish looks like a perfect weeknight dinner!

    • MyFreckledLife December 13, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

      Haha, thanks – I have to admit, this is the first time I’ve ever actually used YOLO in public!

  2. katiedaisy921 December 13, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

    I almost never have all the ingredients that a recipe calls for, so I am constantly improvising. Your chicken and rice dish looks really yummy! And pretty easy too, since it was all done in one pan. I will have to try that myself!!

    • MyFreckledLife December 13, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

      It was easy! I love 1 pan meals! Makes clean up so much easier!

  3. IHeartVegetables December 13, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

    I’m all about winging it! I love using a recipe for inspiration, but I stink at following directions 😉 haha

    • MyFreckledLife December 13, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

      I used to ONLY be able to cook if I followed directions. Now I’m getting much better at winging it. Except that I always forget to season with salt unless I have a recipe – no idea why that is!

  4. Chelsea Eats Treats December 14, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    Yummm this recipe looks delicious and very easy! I’ll have to keep it in mind 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife December 14, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

      You should! It’s great for a quick weeknight with leftovers!

Leave a Reply

