You will Prevail

17 Dec

Happy Monday morning everyone!!! Can you tell I’m TRYING to be cheerful? Because let’s be real here – Monday mornings are basically the worst thing ever. Who wants to get up before the sun comes up after a nice relaxing weekend. Not me, for sure.

And I definitely had a pretty relaxing yet productive weekend!

Friday

Friday consisted of happy hour with some of Chris’ co-workers at a local bar called the Green Turtle. This was the first time I ever met any of Chris’ co-workers so I wasn’t really sure what to expect. I mean, let’s be honest – he works with a bunch of engineers. There is a certain level of stereotype that goes along with that.

But it ended up being a ton of fun, although I didn’t snag any pictures of our Buffalo Chicken dip. I didn’t want to seem too weird!

Saturday

Chris and I were up fairly early to get some work done and run some errands. We were trying to be speedy because we had something important Saturday afternoon – Our 8 mile run!

This is definitely the longest distance either of us have ever run. But we managed to make it home without dying, so I consider that a real success. I think I’m going to do a post soon about our running plans, so look forward to that.

Saturday night we headed to Maryland for a Christmas party with some of his extended family.

IMG_1952

Lots of food, ice cream, Christmas present opening and ping-pong was had by all.

Sunday

Sunday was probably our most productive day. We spent most of the day cleaning the house (which desperately needed it), and getting some chores done. I pretty much didn’t get out of my PJs until it was time for church at 6. Not the most exciting of days, but definitely needed.

 

Trials

But there is something more serious on my mind this morning. Something that overshadows all of successes of this weekend. And something that I feel, for myself, I need to address in order to move on from.

The tragic massacre at Sandy Hook Elementary that occurred on Friday.

I’m sure you’ve all see the pictures. And the news reports. And the totally heartless interviews with 5-year-olds who can’t even begin to decipher what has happened to them.

My heart is breaking for every single one of them. I can understand, as much as anyone can who is not in this exact situation, how they are feeling. How lost, and unsure, and scared they are. How hard it is to grieve, but how impossible it is to not hurt. How broken they are.

So to those in Newtown, CT – who I doubt even know I exist – I offer to you the words spoken to us to help us heal after our tragic day. Because when our own words fail, sometimes music and poetry are the only ones that can.

Nikki Giovanni’s Convocation address

Delivered April 17, 2007

We are Virginia Tech.

We are sad today, and we will be sad for quite a while. We are not moving on, we are embracing our mourning.

We are Virginia Tech.

We are strong enough to stand tall tearlessly, we are brave enough to bend to cry, and we are sad enough to know that we must laugh again.

We are Virginia Tech.

We do not understand this tragedy. We know we did nothing to deserve it, but neither does a child in Africa dying of AIDS, neither do the invisible children walking the night away to avoid being captured by the rogue army, neither does the baby elephant watching his community being devastated for ivory, neither does the Mexican child looking for fresh water, neither does the Appalachian infant killed in the middle of the night in his crib in the home his father built with his own hands being run over by a boulder because the land was destabilized. No one deserves a tragedy.

We are Virginia Tech.

The Hokie Nation embraces our own and reaches out with open heart and hands to those who offer their hearts and minds. We are strong, and brave, and innocent, and unafraid. We are better than we think and not quite what we want to be. We are alive to the imaginations and the possibilities. We will continue to invent the future through our blood and tears and through all our sadness.

We are the Hokies.

We will prevail.

We will prevail.

We will prevail.

We are Virginia Tech.

 

You are Sandy Hook. You are the people of Newtown. You are parents, and siblings, and friends, and neighbors. And you will prevail as well.

Know that there are 32 Hokie angels up there welcoming your children and loved ones in.

I promise I’ll be back tomorrow with something lighter – but I just needed to get this off my chest to help move past my own pain and memories.

So hug your loved ones a little more today. Smile when someone is being rude. Forgive someone who cuts you off in traffic. And be thankful for what you have.

3 Responses to “You will Prevail”

  1. IHeartVegetables December 17, 2012 at 10:43 am #

    Great post, Stephanie. It’s so sad, but it’s nice to see the country coming together in support.

    Missed you this weekend! Hope we can catch up soon!

    • MyFreckledLife December 17, 2012 at 11:25 am #

      It is always nice to see something good come out of these horrible sitations. And yes – I’m definitely in for future meetups!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Calling myself a “Runner” « My Freckled Life - December 18, 2012

    […] for the heavy post yesterday. It was just something that I felt like I needed to get off my chest for my own […]

Leave a Reply

