Calling myself a “Runner”

18 Dec

Good Morning all!

Sorry for the heavy post yesterday. It was just something that I felt like I needed to get off my chest for my own healing.

But I promise I’m back today with something much more lighthearted and fun!

Yesterday ended up being a super busy day for me at work. Minus the very necessary lunch break at our local China buffet (creative name, right?), I pretty much worked without looking up until it was 5pm. Not too shabby for a Monday, if I do say so myself.

IMAG0384

I have to admit that sushi and coffee are going to be the two things that I am seriously going to miss whenever I end up preggers. Which is so not happening anytime soon, thankyouverymuch! I like my sushi too much for that!

Our evening plans got a little bit derailed when I received a plea from my neighbor to help put up her Christmas lights, because her mom and grandma were coming in to surprise the kids late tonight. So Chris and I to the rescue!

Well, let’s be real here. Chris really to the recuse.

547559_3493145266896_1688120060_n

I just made sure the small children didn’t fall out the window.

598373_3493099345748_684369797_n

She repaid us in taquitos and spinach dip. I think it was a fair barter, don’t you?

I basically spent the rest of the night reading Matched, which is actually pretty good. A LITTLE Twilight-ish, but maybe because that’s because I just read Divergent which is more Hunger Games and less lovey vampires.

 “Runner”

But I want to talk about something else this morning, as I promised I would yesterday.

When I started “running” a few years ago, it was exactly that: “running”. I’d trudge along for a mile or MAYBE two, and then be exhausted and move on. My original goal way back in April of 2010, was just to finish our annual 3.2 for 32 race at Tech. 3.2 miles seemed like forever.

And then I just kept running. One mile became two. Two became three. I got several 5Ks under my belt, including my PR at the Wicked Bottom 5K last May and my really horrible Turkey Trot this past Thanksgiving. Then my mom convinced us to do this half marathon.

IMAG0246

But the funny thing is, I still don’t think of myself as a “runner”.

Chris and I were at VA Runner last week picking up some new running shoes (which I am very patiently trying to wait until after this half to use…), and we were chatting with one of the staff about compression sleeves. He mentioned how he used them a lot on his 6-8 mile runs. My first thought? WHOA… that’s a lot of miles, I could never do that!

But wait. I just did. Chris and I ran 6 a few weeks ago, and did 8 this past weekend. So why don’t I put myself in that category?  Why can’t I manage to call myself a runner without feeling the need to use the quotation marks?

Because I AM a runner. No qualifiers about it. Am I the fastest? Do I run marathons on the weekends? Can I wake up and say “I feel like running 15 miles this morning”? No.

But can I trudge along like the rest of the runners out there? Can I push through the side cramps and the mental games and the cold weather to get a run in?

Yes. Because I’m a runner too.

 

So tell me: Have you ever felt this way before? Like a “runner” instead of a runner?

9 Responses to “Calling myself a “Runner””

  1. Chelsea Eats Treats December 18, 2012 at 10:44 am #

    I totally feel this way all the time…and still do! Although I run with Jack EVERY single day and it’s always at least a mile, I feel like that doesn’t make me a runner. I think I am a little misguided by this term because I know so many “real” runners. For example. my friend Ellen ran track and cross-country in college and has completed 3 marathons. Or my coworker Becca who wakes up every morning at 4 am to bang out at least 6 miles. I’m not like that, but I guess I am still a runner…sort of. Lol.

    • MyFreckledLife December 18, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

      Exactly! It’s so easy to say “Oh, THAT person is a runner. But me? I could never do that”. But I think we sell ourselves short!

  2. Jorie December 18, 2012 at 11:08 am #

    I know exactly what you mean. I always hesitate to use the “runner” moniker, but I run a lot less than you, so perhaps it’s warranted. I’m a 2-3 miler, two to three times a week. I always act like “runners” are a part of this elite club but really, we’re already in it!

    • MyFreckledLife December 18, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

      Exactly, we’re definitely part of that club. I think we’re so quick to sell ourselves short of our accomplishments!

  3. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake December 18, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

    Oh yes, I definitely feel this way as I’m training for my half!

    • MyFreckledLife December 19, 2012 at 7:21 am #

      I’m glad I’m not the only one!! We need to be proud of our accomplishments!

  4. ahellams December 18, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

    I was just talking about this exact thing with my roommate the other day. It took me running a marathon and three half marathons before I ever referred to myself as a runner. I also realized that I called all sorts of people that ran way less than me “runners” and wouldn’t refer to myself that way. Its funny how much harder we are on ourselves. YOU are a runner lady, revel in it!!

    • MyFreckledLife December 19, 2012 at 7:22 am #

      Holy cow! I’d definitely call you a runner too!! But I agree, we always seem to be our own worst critics!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIAW: Backwards Edition « My Freckled Life - December 19, 2012

    […] did want to thank everyone for their awesome comments yesterday about still not feeling like I can call myself a “runner”. I am glad to know that I’m definitely not the only one that struggles with this. But it really […]

Leave a Reply

