WIAW: Backwards Edition

19 Dec

Good Morning everyone! Can you believe Christmas is less than a week away?? That is totally blowing my mind right now. Probably doesn’t help that it’s still in the 50s outside in VA, which is making it feel more like Easter than Christmas.

But I still have a bunch of gifts to buy and/or make, so I’m definitely struggling a little bit! I have a feeling this weekend is going to be BUSY!

I did want to thank everyone for their awesome comments yesterday about still not feeling like I can call myself a “runner”. I am glad to know that I’m definitely not the only one that struggles with this. But it really hit me while reading your comments just how much we sell ourselves short sometimes! Let’s CELEBRATE our accomplishments – whether it’s one mile or 26.2 – not try and give them qualifiers like “but it wasn’t very fast” or “well I had to walk some of it”. We are all runners, and I know that I need to be better about remembering that!

IMAG0388

ANYWHO! (<—Anyone remember saying that in middle school. Pretty sure it was one of my fav phrases. Along with “whatevs” and “LYLAS” – Love ya like a sister!)

It’s Wednesday, and I’m sure you all know what that means!! It’s What I Ate Wednesday time!

(For anyone not familiar with What I Ate Wednesday, please check out Jenn’s explanation for more information on this awesome blog phenomena!)

 

This month Jenn has challenged us to include some healthy holiday recipes into our WIAW. So without further ado:

Breakfast

IMG_1955

I have been on a total oatmeal kick lately. The same thing EVERY morning: Oatmeal with almond/coconut milk, natural PB, farmers market jam (this time it’s blackberry peach), cinnamon and some frozen berries. With a cup of tea on the side, of course. Gotta have that caffeine!

Although I must admit, oatmeal is NOT the most appetizing food once all the ingredients have been mixed together…

IMG_1960

Still delicious!

Snack/Lunch #1

So here is where my day got backwards. I was actually slammed with appointments today, so noon came and went and I was still out on the road with no end in sight. I was kind of in the middle of nowhere when my stomach started growling, so my options were Mickey Ds and 7-11. I chose Mickey D’s for the bathroom, and 7-11 for my quasi-lunch/snack.

IMAG0385

I apologize for the crap-tastic photo. To my credit, I WAS stopped at an intersection momentarily. Never photograph and drive people!

I picked up some sharp cheddar and a blueberry chobani (definitely not getting photographed while driving unless I wanted yogurt in my lap). Got the job done!

Lunch/Snack #2

I finally got back to the office around 2:30 and was able to pull out my lunch. Not too exciting, just some leftover’s from Friday’s stirfry. Simple yet effective.

IMAG0387

Dinner

I went to the gym after work to get in a short run, so I didn’t end up getting home until about 6:45. Luckily I walked in the door to this sight:

IMG_1961

I love it when Chris cooks me dinner! We ended up generally following a Cooking Light recipe for pork tenderloin and mushroom sauce.

IMG_1965

IMG_1962

Paired with some homemade mashed potatoes (why don’t I make these more often? So easy!) and leftover roasted green beans/asparagus. Super delicious! I’m jealous that Chris gets to eat the leftovers for dinner tonight while I’m at my work meeting!

Well that’s all for today’s edition of “What I Ate Wednesday”! I’m off to another super crazy day at work – gotta love the week before Christmas holidays! Things are getting crazayyyy!

So tell me: What did you eat today?

7 Responses to “WIAW: Backwards Edition”

  1. IHeartVegetables December 19, 2012 at 7:39 am #

    Right now I’m eating a smoothie and I’m wish I’d had oats like you!!! I’m freeeeeezing!!! haha

    • MyFreckledLife December 19, 2012 at 9:35 am #

      Haha I definitely cannot do smoothies in the winter!

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats December 19, 2012 at 10:18 am #

    Yumm looks delicious! I LOVE homemade mashed potatoes and probably make them way too frequently. I also like getting creative with them by adding ingredients like fat free greek yogurt or even mustard (!) which actually turns out pretty delicious 🙂

  3. di @ life of di. December 19, 2012 at 10:44 am #

    I struggle with calling myself a runner too. I feel like, in comparison to others, I don’t run nearly as often or as fast. You’re right to say that we should celebrate the little victories and despite our mileage or pace- we are runners 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife December 21, 2012 at 7:34 am #

      Exactly! We need to celebrate our success more, and stop putting ourselves down!

  4. Eating 4 Balance December 19, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

    Glad you made the disclaimer about the driving and taking a picture. Haha. I always just *assume* that it’s during a red light or at a stop sign, but you never know with some people…

    I definitely think you are a runner. You run. Ere-go runner. I do not run. Ere-go lazy. Lol.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Five Favorites Friday #4 « My Freckled Life - December 21, 2012

    […] week – 2 weeks early! AH! So that’s basically meant that I either eat food at weird hours (see WIAW for an example…) or I’m eating lunch in 30 seconds […]

Leave a Reply

