What’s Your Emergency?

20 Dec

Good morning everyone! All I can say, is that I am HAPPY it is Thurday! This week has been way too busy and has gone by WAY too slowly.

I would like another week before Christmas though. I am SO not ready for that…

Anyway, I have to tell you guys about this crazy thing that happened to me last night.

So last night I have a quarterly meeting after work, and didn’t end up leaving Culpeper until around 8:00pm. It’s nearly an hour drive back to my house, and I spend almost the entire thing on 1 road.

When turn onto this road, I end up behind this pickup truck. Within about a minute, this truck starts weaving all over the place. I mean they are driving into the opposite lane into oncoming traffic, then they are driving into the ditch on the other side (I spitting gravel and grass all back at me). The road is also a 55mph zone, and they basically kept going back and forth between 45 and 70. I even honked at them several times when they would drive into oncoming traffic.

After about 5 minutes of this, I was getting seriously nervous for this person’s life, and for the safety of others (myself included). So I called 911. I gave them my exact location (with cross streets) and the license number of the crazy truck in front of me. They said they’d look into it.

Nothing.

About 15 minutes later I called again, because I’d now driven into a different county. Gave them all the same info. They said they’d look into it.

Nothing.

About 20 minutes after that I drove into a third county and called again. Same info. This one even had me stay on the phone and continue to update them with my location for a good 10 minutes. At one point we even passed under a light and I could see that wasn’t just one drunk driver, there were multiple people in this truck.

I then watched this truck almost run someone straight off the rode while riding down the center of the two lanes.

45 minutes after this whole thing started, this truck turned off on to a side road in the busy part of Fredericksburg. I’d already taken the long way home in order to stay behind this guy and help the police. But apparently the police weren’t coming…

All I can do is hope that this guy didn’t end up killing himself, or anyone else, after he turned the corner.

But how ridiculous is that!?! I’m not really one to call the police unless it is actually a seriously dangerous situation (I called once before when someone was driving on a busy road, at night, in the rain, with no lights on AT ALL). But is it crazy to think that the police might want to respond to something like that?

I mean, I gave it to you on a silver patter – license plate, exact location, and I stayed behind them for 45 minutes when I could have absolutely sped past them at any point for my own safety.

Grrrr…. it just got me so riled up!!!

I know this is neither fitness nor food related, but I just needed to share.

Now let’s look at some funny things, just to even this all out:

(Source)

(Source)

(Source)

 

Hopefully that made you smile a little! Back to our regularly scheduled program tomorrow!

So tell me: Have you ever been in a situation like this? Have you ever had to call the police on a crazy driver? And if so, did they actually show up??

2 Responses to “What’s Your Emergency?”

  1. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake December 20, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

    Omg, that’s nuts! I’ve never had to call the police but I can’t believe they didn’t show up at all!!!

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats December 20, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

    Wow that is really scary!! I wonder what was wrong with the driver?? I don’t think I have ever called 911 except one time when there was couch in the middle of the highway. Yes, like, a full-size couch. It was really dangerous and everyone was swerving to avoid it. The police officer I spoke to said he had received about a million calls about the couch already and they were on their way to clear it up. Scary! That’s about it though!

Leave a Reply

