Five Favorites Friday #4

21 Dec

Happy Friday everyone!

I know I for one am VERY happy that it is Friday. Maybe it’s because Christmas is next week, but this seriously has been the longest week ever. The Christmas rush at work (which then managed to totally overload our computers yesterday and shut down our network for a few hours) definitely isn’t making things any easier.

But this is the last workday before a 5 day weekend – heck yes! One of the benefits of working in the social services world – crappy pay, awesome holiday time!

Poor Chris has to work Christmas Eve AND the day after Christmas! Silly government employees!

Anywhoo, it’s Friday, so you know what that means – another edition of Five Favorites Friday!

Five Favorites Friday is something I started about a month ago to just talk about some of the things that I am totally loving right now. There is usually no rhyme or reason to them… just things that I think are awesome and want to share with you all!

So let’s have at it:

1. Favorite Surprise: Rediscovering foods you love

So last week at the Farmer’s Market, the biggest produce lady (in the quantity of her products, not in reference to her personal size. She has a very lovely figure) mentioned that this coming Saturday is her last week at the market until spring. Ack! #buyallthethings

I had to restrain myself a little. BUT one of my totally random splurge purchases was a grapefruit. Why? No clue. I was delirious with sadness that she was closing.

But I have been eating my grapefruit for breakfast and remember how much I love the darn things! Thank you produce lady!

I’ve also been trying out some new things for breakfast lately. My oatmeal loving is fizzling out a little, so I need to find a new staple breakfast. So far I’ve tried breakfast sandwiches and cereal. Not sure what I’m going to go with yet!

IMG_1966 

IMG_1967

IMG_1973

2. Favorite Quickie Lunch option: Subway

As I mentioned, this week has been kind of INSANE at work. We’re having to get all of our “end of the month” paperwork done this week – 2 weeks early! AH! So that’s basically meant that I either eat food at weird hours (see WIAW for an example…) or I’m eating lunch in 30 seconds flat.

Thursday was no exception. I went from playgroup to several appointments, with no lunch break in sights. Then a magical glow appeared… it was Subway!

Seriously, thank goodness for Subway. They provide quick and healthy “fast food” options that don’t feel like they are covered in a thick layer of grease and mechanically processed chicken. Plus I can load it with as many veggies as I want, and challenge the workers to try and close it! I’m that customer that they probably curse once I leave. And I’m proud of it!

IMG_1969

3. Favorite Sick Activity: Eating comfort food

There is something going around Culpeper. It’s like this crazy stomach bug/respiratory/strep thing. Several of our kids and therapists have already gotten it. And then my office-mate called in sick yesterday. Which of course meant the whole day my stomach was feeling super off.

I have no clue whether it was mental or I just managed to fend it off, but I seemed to have escaped the puking *knock on wood*. But all I wanted to do last night was curl up on the couch.

However, I decided sustenance probably wasn’t a bad idea. Except the only thing that sounded good was something I used to make as a kid because it was super easy and plain. Perfect for a sick night.

IMG_1971

Egg noodles, butter and parmesan cheese. You don’t get more basic than that. Very little nutritional value, but it was exactly what I needed.

4. Favorite Reads: New-to-me blogs!

So I just thought I would share a few blogs that are new to me that I’ve really been enjoying recently. Two of whom I met at the VA Bloggers event at the Local Barre a few weekends ago!

You should definitely check these ladies out:

Sarah at the Blonde Bostonian

Stephanie at Cookin Fanatic

Katherine at Neon Blonde Runner

5. Favorite Holiday: NOT the end of the world day!

(Source)

That’s right – we are STILL ALIVE!!! HOORAY!!!

(Although I totally have to admit – the wind here last night was a little bit insane and definitely kind of freaked me out. #paranoid?)

But I just wanted to say congratulations guys, we have officially survived the end of the world!

You know, until someone else comes up with another “end of the world” date.

But for now, WE’RE ALIVE!

 

Well there you have it – things I’m totally loving this week. I know, really random. But I’m sure next week we’ll have a CHRISTMAS edition! Woot woot!

But until then – Have a great weekend everyone!

So tell me: What are you loving this week?

3 Responses to “Five Favorites Friday #4”

  1. Chelsea Eats Treats December 21, 2012 at 11:26 am #

    My little sister came down with strep this week too!! What is going on?! Anyway, glad you escaped the bug and that simple pasta looks quite tasty 🙂

  2. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake December 22, 2012 at 12:10 pm #

    I love Subway too; I usually pick it up for dinner once a week when I’m having a particularly busy night!

Leave a Reply

