Whirlwind Holiday

2 Jan

I don’t know about y0u all, but I’m a little holidayed out at this point.

I mean, don’t get me wrong – I LOVE all the tacky sweaters and cookies and presents (and of course booze) that come with the holidays – but I’m kind of ready to have my weekends back. And remember what it’s like to sleep in.

This Christmas/NYE was no exception. In fact, it was probably even more insane due to the fact that it was our first Christmas as a married couple. Which basically meant we had to see as many people as possible.

So popular… I know.

But this holiday season included:

1 Tacky Christmas party

5 Kinds of cookies baked

2 Hours looking at Christmas lights

19 Hours of driving

36 Hours of straight eating

and goodness knows how many glasses of wine…

 

So let’s recap with some pictures, shall we? I’ll narrate them as best I can, although some need no description.

Tacky Christmas Party

Every year some of my best friends host a Tacky Christmas party, complete with white elephant exchange. It also usually includes a ridiculous amount of baked goods. This year was NO exception.

_MG_0778_MG_0783_MG_0788_MG_0790_MG_0793_MG_0856

Ok, so these last two DO need an explanation.

During the party I found out that our host’s apartment actually was owned by Kerri Strug, the famous Olympic gymnast. Which pretty much was the best thing I’ve ever heard in my entire life, since I’m basically obsessed with all things gymnastics. So the above photos are me sitting on/touching Kerri’s stool that she left, and then myself, Emily and Christine re-enacting the famous Karri olympic vault.

Looks exactly the same, right?

New Years Eve

We were down in Georgia for New Years visiting Chris’ family, and we actually ended up at a family friend’s NYE party. It was definitely different than some of my past NYE experiences, but still fun nonetheless. _MG_0945

_MG_0951IMG_0857IMG_0874IMG_0877IMG_0892

It also involved a complete sober photoshoot between Chris’ sister and I. Which went downhill really quickly…

_MG_0914_MG_0915_MG_0918_MG_0919

Yup, that pretty much sums up my holiday, right there.

So there you have it, a nice little recap of my holiday experience. I am happy to say that I can FINALLY get back to normal life. Starting with going back to work today… ick.

So tell me: What are your best memories from this holiday season?

6 Responses to “Whirlwind Holiday”

  1. Chelsea Eats Treats January 2, 2013 at 10:38 am #

    Looks like you had a great time!! I’m with ya though, it feels SO good to back into routine 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife January 2, 2013 at 11:09 am #

      Amen! Holidays are fun and all, but boy are they exhausting!

  2. IHeartVegetables January 2, 2013 at 9:30 pm #

    Oh my gosh, Keri Strug was my IDOL when I was little. I read her biography like 10 times haha. That’s so cool!!

    • MyFreckledLife January 3, 2013 at 9:44 pm #

      Isn’t that AWESOME! My friend has met her several times now. I just wanted to touch everything in her apartment… because I’m awkward like that.

  3. di @ life of di. January 3, 2013 at 12:02 pm #

    I agree with you- I am ready for the holiday craziness to be over. I am glad that my normal routine is back and that Ill be able to be more productive and less crazed 🙂 While I love Thanksgiving and Christmas, it’s hard to be off of my normal schedule for so many weeks. I’m excited for the new year 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife January 3, 2013 at 12:18 pm #

      I agree completely! Who decided that all of these holidays needed to be back-to-back-to-back!?!

Leave a Reply

