New Years Aspirations

3 Jan

Good Morning Evening!

Clearly I’m a little off schedule today.

You see, my alarm clock went off this morning and I thought, “I’m just going to lay here for one more minute and then I’ll get up. I’m just so warm and comfy.”

Bad, BAD idea.

45 minutes later I woke up. To the sound of Laney puking, to be exact. Not exactly something you want to wake up to, let me tell you. Which then meant that I spent the next 30 minutes running around like a crazy person trying to clean up the mess AND get ready for work AND eat breakfast. Needless-to-say, blogging just didn’t happen this morning.

And for anyone concerned, Laney is fine. She accidently got a slurp of the Christmas tree water when we weren’t looking, which obviously did not sit well with her stomach. Silly pup!

IMAG0404-001

But I’m here now, and today I’d like to talk about New Years Aspirations!

New Years Aspirations

What are New Years Aspirations, you ask?

Well Chris and I were talking about our “New Years Resolutions” on the drive home from Georgia, and he mentioned how he really wasn’t a huge fan of them because people always ended giving up after just a few weeks.

So that got me thinking. Why is it that people give up on their resolutions? Why are people all gung-ho for a few weeks but seemed destined to fail before January is over?

Look at the definition (the first part, obviously):

Fullscreen capture 132013 91606 PM

“A firm decision to do or not to do something”. That seems pretty rigid to me. No wonder people give up so easily! The first time you screw up, or drop the ball, your “firm decision” has gone out the window and seems pointless. Sure, going to the gym or getting in shape may sound like a great idea. But halfway into January when you skip a workout in favor of hanging out with friends, or make a bad food choice, your mind starts saying “I guess we weren’t so sure about this after all!” and there goes all of your motivation!

We set ourselves up to fail with resolutions.

So I’m going to do something different this year. I’m not going to make resolutions.

I’m going to make aspirations instead.

Because by making an aspiration, it is something that I “hope or strive to achieve”. That allows for some bumps in the road without setting myself up to fail. It means that when I misstep, I can get back ON the horse by reminding myself of what I’m trying to achieve.

I feel very philosophical right now.

Without further ado, here are my aspirations for 2013:

1. Wake up earlier

Totally not a joke, although I do find it ironic given my morning. I have never been a morning person and I definitely don’t think I’ll every spontaneously become one, but I would like to work on giving myself more time in the morning to relax, blog, and MAYBE even work out. Although that last one might be a stretch.

2. Drink more water

I don’t know why I struggle so much with this one, but I never remember to drink water! I’m embarrassed to admit that there are honestly some days where I go almost an entire day without drinking anything. I just never think about it! So I really need to work on incorporating this into daily life. Any tips, water drinkers out there?

(source)

3. Find a consistent gym routine, and try new things!

December was all over the place for me in terms of workouts. I feel like ever since the wedding I have just had a very hard time finding a good gym routine that works for me (and my new family). So I really want to work on getting back into the habit of going to the gym and make it a priority for me. AND I want to try some new things! I loved trying the barre class a few weeks ago, so I’m ready to branch out! Any suggestions?

4. Take more time for myself and get involved

I feel like the entire year of 2012 revolved around the wedding, and all of the stress and planning that went with that. Now that that is over, I want to take some time in 2013 to rediscover things that I loved but that I never had time for last year. Like reading. Or non-wedding-related crafting. Or community activities. Or bible study. All of those things that went onto the back burner last year. We are now in a new town and I really want to make this place feel like home.

There you have it – my aspirations for this year! Here’s to hoping for a good 2013!

So tell me: What are some of your aspirations for 2013?

19 Responses to “New Years Aspirations”

  1. di @ life of di. January 3, 2013 at 10:44 pm #

    I need to drink more water too! I carry a water bottle with me, but the coffee cup always looks better 🙂 if you receive any worthwhile tips- feel free to share!!

    • MyFreckledLife January 4, 2013 at 7:12 am #

      I’m so right there with you! My coffee cup always takes priority!

      • di @ life of di. January 4, 2013 at 1:44 pm #

        Today I have tried adding lemon – makes it a nice refreshing after lunch and before lunch! 🙂 Hey, anything helps!

      • MyFreckledLife January 4, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

        Ooh, I definitely am going to have to try that! What a good idea!

  2. nexu7 January 4, 2013 at 5:16 am #

    I use to be like you and never drink water, so when I started on my fitness path it was a bit of a struggle to drink as much water as they say you should drink ( I was going to the bathroom I swear every half hour). What really helped was carrying around a water bottle all the time, I got one that held over a litre and made a point to make sure that by noon I had drank at least one full bottle. Try challenging yourself to drink a litre by noon and then another by 4pm, soon it will be like second nature to you. Write down everytime you have a glass, they say food journaling helps you with food portioning and control, maybe it will help with water consumption as well :).

    • MyFreckledLife January 4, 2013 at 7:13 am #

      These are great ideas. I think the MyFitnessPal app allows you to track water, so I may try and do that too. And I’m definitely going to try and keep water on my desk at work and see if that helps!

  3. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake January 4, 2013 at 6:08 am #

    Waking up to the sound of a dog throwing up is the WORST; I feel your pain!

    I’ve been trying to get up a little earlier in the morning — even if it’s just 5 or 10 minutes. It gives me a little extra time to eat a bigger breakfast and do some blog reading before work.

    • MyFreckledLife January 4, 2013 at 7:14 am #

      Ick, it was AWFUL! I have heard that getting up earlier by 5-10 minutes at a time makes the adjustment a lot easier, so I might try that!

  4. Lisa @ Jogging on Coffee January 4, 2013 at 8:05 am #

    I love the idea of aspirations rather than resolutions! I don’t normally make resolutions but I do know I want to finish the book I’m writing this year so that’s my major focus.

    • MyFreckledLife January 4, 2013 at 8:50 am #

      What a great aspiration!! I’m always impressed with people who write books. That’s on my bucket list some day!

  5. Jorie January 4, 2013 at 9:03 am #

    I loooove this. New Year’s aspirations! Makes so much more sense than resolutions. I am enacting a name change from here on out.

    As for the water, I find that filling up a bottle/container of cold water every morning and placing it right next to my keyboard helps me sip mindlessly throughout the day. I usually go through about two big water bottles. I saw on Pinterest a woman who bought a water bottle and drew six horizontal water mark lines on it and wrote 10 a.m., 11 a.m., noon, 1 p.m., and so on. So her goal was to sip that much water by that time. On the other side of the bottle, she continued with six more hours into the night, so by the time she was at dinner, she had consumed two water bottles’ worth. Seemed like a good idea!

    • MyFreckledLife January 4, 2013 at 9:06 am #

      Doesnt it make so much more sense!?! And what a creative idea! I think I’m going to have to invest in some new water bottles to bring with me to work. Isn’t Pinterest amazing!?

      • Jorie January 4, 2013 at 9:15 am #

        Yes! And you also hit the nail on the head: having something pretty to drink water out of actually DOES make a difference! Haha strange but true.

  6. Chelsea Eats Treats January 4, 2013 at 9:19 am #

    Waking up earlier should be much easier in the summer when it’s bright and beautiful out. Waking up early has been so HARD lately!! And I am a huge water drinker but I’ve always been that way (I think my parents kinda encouraged me to be) so I’m not sure I have that much advice, except that you could try buying a big refillable water bottle to keep on your desk at work (maybe a VT one?). If you get a REALLY big one you can fill it up in the morning and sip on it all day.

    • MyFreckledLife January 4, 2013 at 9:26 am #

      Haha, you clearly know me well – Anything with VT on it makes me happy! 🙂 And yea, I definitely think I’m going to invest in some new water bottles. I actually HATED water as a child (I was a total milk drinker), so I think that’s why I just never think about it. But I totally agree – waking up in the dark winter is definitely a million times harder than waking up in the summer!

  7. Alisha January 4, 2013 at 12:32 pm #

    I love the “aspirations” over “resolutions”! So true- no wonder so many people give up so quickly. I’m with you on drinking more water for this year’s aspiration!

    • MyFreckledLife January 4, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

      I really think I’m going to stick with using “aspirations” from now on. It seems so much more attainable!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Early Morning Ramblings « My Freckled Life - January 4, 2013

    […] good morning (For real this […]

  2. Seriously Needed « My Freckled Life - January 7, 2013

    […] really working on my aspirations for this year, which meant that I was up-and-at-‘em 15 minutes earlier than usual. Nothing major, […]

Leave a Reply

