Early Morning Ramblings

4 Jan

Well good morning (For real this time)!

Thank you all so much for your comments and suggestions on my New Years Aspirations from yesterday! I’m glad to know that I’m not the only one who struggles with these things, and some of you had some really good suggestions!

Last night was quite chill for me, as Chris was out with some of his old High School friends that are in town for winter break. While he was out reminiscing, I sat at home, at some chicken parm and watched Teen mom reruns. Yup, I’m awesome.

IMG_2037 

The sauce was Classico’s Spinach and Parmesan, but I added another half cup of frozen spinach to make it EXTRA green. Delicious. I’m totally repeating for lunch today!

I’m off to a pretty good start with my first goal of waking up earlier, seeing as I’m actually up blogging this morning! Chris will tell you that it was a LITTLE bit of a struggle this morning (I blame Chris and Laney, who were totally hogging all the blankets last night!), but I still managed to get up at 6:20. That’s like the dark hours for me.

All you 5am-ers just weird me out. haha.

Today I am also going to try and incorporate more water into my day. I actually really enjoy drinking water, even though I used to really hate it growing up. But unless it’s in front of me, I never think to go pour myself a glass. So I’m armed with a water bottle today, and we’ll see how this goes!

I’m also off to a pretty good start with my gym routine goal!

Yesterday I made it to the gym after work and busted out 45 intense minutes on the elliptical. I was a hot and sweaty mess by the end, and felt so awesome that I even walked to my car without a coat on. And then had to thaw out before I could drive…

So I didn’t mention this before, but the reason I’ve been ellipticalling recently even though I have a half marathon coming up in less than 2 weeks is because last weekend on our 10 mile run, I managed to tweak my foot and ankle. I’m HOPING that I just strained it a little on all the hills we had to run, but I’m still playing it safe this week and sticking to lower impact workouts. Gotta stay healthy!

Well that’s all I have for this (slightly) rambling post this morning. This is what happens when I post less than 12 hours apart. My brain gets jumpy!

I blame the getting up early! It’s too dark to think!

Anyway, I hope you all have an awesome Friday!

So tell me: We’re 4 days in January – how are your New Years Aspirations going?

9 Responses to “Early Morning Ramblings”

  1. Chelsea Eats Treats January 4, 2013 at 11:57 am #

    I’m so sorry to hear about your foot/ankle!! I actually did something to my foot recently too (after dancing in heels two nights and in a row and going for a long run in new sneakers it now hurts a lot under the arch) and I have been trying to take it easy as well. It’s so annoying when things like that happen!

    • MyFreckledLife January 4, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

      I know!! I have to admit, I was really frustrated when it first happened (the race is only 1 week away!!!), but I’ve just been trying to take it really easy because I’m so determined to run this race! And yea… heels + dancing gets me every time!

  2. Alisha January 4, 2013 at 12:43 pm #

    Oh no! I hope your ankle gets better! And I don’t think anything good happens before 5 am 🙂 haha!

    • MyFreckledLife January 4, 2013 at 4:34 pm #

      Thanks! And yea, I totally agree!! 5am is just TOO EARLY! Who am I kidding? 7am is too early in my book!

  3. di @ life of di. January 4, 2013 at 3:31 pm #

    My New Years Aspirations are going well so far. I am doing a Project 365 ‘Photo-A-Day’ challenge. I’ve taken a picture each day and plan to post seven each week in a blog post (probably my Tuesday Thoughts post.) Anyways, I also have kept up with my #shereadstruth daily devotional reading. It has been really encouraging to do and has been a nice way to get into Gods Word each day. 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife January 4, 2013 at 4:34 pm #

      That’s awesome! I havent heard of the #shereadstruth devotional before. I might have to check it out!

  4. IHeartVegetables January 5, 2013 at 1:25 pm #

    Oh I like your idea of adding in spinach for more greens! 🙂 And to Di’s point, the #shredreadstruth devotional group is pretty cool!! Definitely check it out 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife January 7, 2013 at 6:57 am #

      It’s a super easy way to add greens to pasta sauce without even really thinking about it! And I definitely will!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. First Time Training « My Freckled Life - January 8, 2013

    […] we started out at 4 miles, and our longest was technically 9 (it was supposed to be 10, but then my ankle issue […]

Leave a Reply

