Seriously Needed

7 Jan

Happy Monday everyone!

I’m really working on my aspirations for this year, which meant that I was up-and-at-‘em 15 minutes earlier than usual. Nothing major, but definitely a step in the right direction.

It also made me realize how much I seriously cannot wait for the spring/summer to be back. Waking up and eating breakfast in the dark is just kind of depressing. I want my sunny mornings back!

Anyway, I hope you all had a good weekend! Mine was actually really good (and productive). Which was much needed since this was literally the first weekend since we got married in NOVEMBER where there was nothing on the books. Thank you, Holiday season!

Here’s a little weekend recap for you:

Saturday

Thanks to a total lack of sleep over the past week, we decided Saturday morning was “no alarm” day and just let our bodies sleep. It was seriously needed and incredibly refreshing. We finally got out of bed around 10am, and I don’t regret it ONE bit!

We were out of pancake mix, so we went the DIY route. I have to admit, these came out a little too dense for my liking, so we may be looking around for more recipes. Still delicious though! Topped with some pear butter from the local farmers market.

IMG_2041

We spent most of Saturday doing chores around the house (i.e. taking down Christmas decorations for several hours) before going on the most MASSIVE grocery haul ever. But it was seriously needed. Our fridge AND pantry were basically empty. Thank you, holidays!

I’ve split our haul into categories, since there was NO way it was fitting in one picture.

Produce

IMG_2042

(Left to right) Bananas, clementines, grapefruit, broccoli, pink lady apples, grape tomatoes, carrots and spring mix.

Dairy

IMG_2044

(Left to right) Reduced-fat sharp cheddar, skim milk, colby-jack thin slices, almond/coconut milk, instant dry milk, ice cream, and colby jack log (we love our cheese, clearly)

Grains

IMG_2045

(Left to right) Whole wheat gnocchi, whole wheat tortillas, tortilla chips, clearance spicy thai rice, stuffed shells, 3 boxes of PB Cheerios, honey nut cheerios, and whole wheat pancake mix.

For the record, GM cereal was on a must buy 4 for $10 sale. We don’t go through cereal THAT quickly.

Other

IMG_2049

(Left to right) Sugar, syrup, jam, raspberry granola bars, tea, chicken breasts, taco seasoning, orange juice, pesto, honey, baking soda, and a fancy beer for Chris.

Phew! Told you that was a lot. And that doesn’t even count our Sunday trip to Costco…  As I said Seriously needed!

If you follow me on twitter/instagram, you’ll know that we then spent the rest of the night totally relaxed. We built a fire, curled up on our new couch, and watched a marathon of Friday Night Lights until 1:30am. Seriously needed.

Fullscreen capture 172013 71304 AM.bmp

Sunday

Compared to Saturday, Sunday was pretty low key. We spent most of the day cleaning the house, taking down Christmas lights outside, and running errands.

We also went for a slow 4 mile run in preparation for this weekend’s HALF MARATHON (AHHHH!!!!)

This was the first time that I’ve actually run since I tweaked my foot/ankle last week running our “10-miler” (aka 8 miler) in Georgia. I was really nervous to run on it, thinking my body might say that this weekend is a total no-go, but it held up pretty well over 4 miles. A little tight, but no shooting pains or anything. Thank GOODNESS! I think I’m going to still take it pretty easy this week in preparation and hope that it’ll be ready to go in Florida this weekend. AH!!

(Can you tell I’m seriously nervous-excited??)

There you have it – my weekend recap! Pretty chill, but then again, it was seriously needed!

So tell me: What did you do this weekend?

10 Responses to “Seriously Needed”

  1. di @ life of di. January 7, 2013 at 10:21 am #

    My husband and I did the same thing on Saturday morning- no alarm clock. I think the holidays added to our lack of sleep over the week so we slept in a little past normal on Saturday too 🙂 Felt nice (and was much needed!)

    • MyFreckledLife January 7, 2013 at 10:24 am #

      It was definitely wonderful! Holidays are so exhausting!

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats January 7, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

    Looks like you guys had a nice relaxing weekend!! 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife January 7, 2013 at 12:30 pm #

      It was definitely awesome. Sometimes you just need to regroup!

  3. Alisha January 7, 2013 at 3:29 pm #

    No alarm Saturdays are the best 🙂 And I am super jealous of your grocery haul and homemade pear butter!

    • MyFreckledLife January 7, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

      I think every Saturday should be “No alarm saturdays”! And thank you… my bank account isn’t so happy, but it was definitely very much needed!

  4. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake January 7, 2013 at 4:05 pm #

    I slept in on Saturday too! I told my husband it was the latest I’ve slept in years! haha How sad.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. First Time Training « My Freckled Life - January 8, 2013

    […] Please tell me I’m not the only one who hates Mondays this much? Especially after an awesome weekend. […]

  2. WIAW: Kryptonite Edition « My Freckled Life - January 9, 2013

    […] when I said that I promised that we were not cereal monsters and just bought a ton of cereal because it was on sale? Apparently I lied. We’ve already finished […]

Leave a Reply

