WIAW: Kryptonite Edition

9 Jan

Good morning everyone! Happy Wednesday!

I don’t know about you, but I am stoked that it is Wednesday already. I’m still at the tail end of the holiday mood, where I basically feel like doing nothing but sleep in and watch nonsense TV on the couch all day. I need to find a job where I get paid for that…

But Wednesday means that we’re halfway through the work week! And this week, for me, it’s actually almost the end of the week considering I’m leaving early from work tomorrow to head to FLORIDA! Woohoo! Where it’s going to be like 70 degrees and sunny. Definitely beats our 30-degrees-but-refusing-to-snow-and-at-least-make-it-worthwhile weather. Gross.

Wednesday ALSO means that it’s time for another edition of What I Ate Wednesday! For those not familiar with What I Ate Wednesday, check out Jenn’s blog for a much more eloquent explanation. But basically it is a way for us to share, and celebrate, the foods that we are eating – free of judgment or comparison. Pretty awesome, right?

Breakfast

Remember when I said that I promised that we were not cereal monsters and just bought a ton of cereal because it was on sale? Apparently I lied. We’ve already finished a box and started on number two. I think we have a problem…

Breakfast consisted of some peanut butter cheerios (which I was good about and actually measured this time, instead of just pouring myself a heaping bowl like usual. Baby steps, people), and a half of a grapefruit. Plus some tea on the side. Caffeine is vital.

IMG_2052

Snack #1

Sadly the cheerios didn’t really hold my over today, and my tummy was a-grumblin’ by like 10:30. Insert baby bell light. Cutest little wax covered guy. I’m kind of obsessed with them. We picked some up from Costco, and I’m embarrassed to admit that I’ve had one every day since. But at 40 calories a pop, they are just the right size to tide me over.

IMAG0412

Lunch

Lunch today was a total leftover Mexican fiesta. I had part of my burrito from Monday’s work lunch out, and part leftover jalapeno chicken sausage, peppers and quinoa. My eyes were a LITTLE bit bigger than my stomach though, and I definitely couldn’t finish all the peppers and quinoa. I was supposed to have an apple too to, you know, add some actual color to my meal. That didn’t happen either.

IMAG0413 

Snack #2

My coworker knows my kryptonite. Mid-afternoon she turns to me and goes “Hey Stephanie, do you want my mini bag of cheez-its?” Cheese? Little bite size crunchy pieces? Totally processed deliciousness? Cant. Help. Myself.

I have no restraint guys. And no picture. I downed those babies while hiding in the corner clutching them to my chest a la Gollum from the Lord of the Rings. Ok, not really, but it was close.

Dinner

Chris has been talking for ages that he wants to make a baked mac and cheese, so when this recipe from SkinnyMom came across my Pinterest board, I pinned it up faster than you can say delicious. We made a few adjustments to add in some more protein, so I’ll put the recipe up soon so you all can enjoy as well. Minus a little prep time, this meal actually came together pretty quickly and was quite delicious for a “healthy” mac and cheese!

IMG_2070IMG_2071

Dessert

I spent the rest of the evening working on a craft project for Chris’ sister, so I didn’t emerge from the basement until almost 10pm. Which meant we had just enough time to curl on the couch, watch an episode of How I Met Your Mother (no spoilers please, we’re still catching up from last season), and polish off the container of cookies and cream. No shame; all you need is a spoon.

 

There you have it, everything I ate yesterday. Including those little precious orange gems.

(Source)

So tell me: What did you eat today?

19 Responses to “WIAW: Kryptonite Edition”

  1. Alisha January 9, 2013 at 8:24 am #

    That mac and cheese looks awesome!! And I’m super excited for you to get to go to sunny and warm Florida this weekend!

    • MyFreckledLife January 9, 2013 at 9:22 am #

      It was so delicious, and way better for you than the Orange Kraft stuff. Although that stuff is amazing too… And I’m SO excited for warm weather!!

  2. jessielovestorun January 9, 2013 at 8:37 am #

    Your dinner looks delicious! Have an amazing time in FL =)

    • MyFreckledLife January 9, 2013 at 9:23 am #

      Thanks!! I’m so excited to get out of the cold!

  3. Chelsea Eats Treats January 9, 2013 at 9:33 am #

    Yummm I love Cheezits 🙂 I keep a bag of goldfish at work for the same reason. I have learned though that I have to portion out small amounts and then PUT THE BAG AWAY otherwise I will eat the whole thing haha!

    • MyFreckledLife January 9, 2013 at 9:39 am #

      I am the SAME WAY! I can usually pass up those kinds of things, but for some reason Cheez-its get me every time! I need to find a recipe to make healthier ones. haha.

  4. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake January 9, 2013 at 12:29 pm #

    Mmm Cheez-its are SO good!!! Any kind of sweet would be my kryptonite!

    Oh and I love those peanut butter Cheerios!

    • MyFreckledLife January 9, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

      I know, they are amazing! And I’m mildly obsessed with PB Cheerios. I probably could eat them for 3 meals a day no problem.

  5. Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count January 9, 2013 at 1:21 pm #

    Oh, I just LOVE Cheez-its! I grew up eating them. I have the same lack of restraint which is why they are NOT allowed in my house. Happy WIAW!!

    • MyFreckledLife January 9, 2013 at 3:24 pm #

      I never bring them into my house either for that same reason!! But they are a MUST on roadtrips, for some reason. haha.

  6. di @ life of di. January 9, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

    Those really are precious orange gems. I can’t buy them anymore because I’ll finish a box in one or two days. YUMMO

    • MyFreckledLife January 9, 2013 at 4:08 pm #

      ME TOO!! I dont know what they put in them, but they are so addicting. I could seriously down a bag in like 30 seconds flat.

  7. IHeartVegetables January 9, 2013 at 8:09 pm #

    I have yet to try those little Babybel cheeses!!! I need to give them a shot!

    • MyFreckledLife January 10, 2013 at 7:24 am #

      OMG they are amazing! And they are mini, which basically makes anything 100x better.

  8. Teresa January 10, 2013 at 8:41 am #

    Glad you l liked the Mac & Cheese – I can’t wait to see your twist! 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife January 10, 2013 at 8:49 am #

      The recipe should be coming up soon. The only main difference is I added chicken. But GREAT recipe!

  9. Serena January 10, 2013 at 7:17 pm #

    I love when people admit their indulgences on their healthy living blog! Reminds everyone that even health nerds are real people with guilty pleasures!!!

    • MyFreckledLife January 11, 2013 at 6:15 pm #

      I know – I am the same way. That’s why I try to be honest here, because we’re all human! Plus, cheeze-its are flippin’ good! haha

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. One Whole Year! « My Freckled Life - January 31, 2013

    […] second most popular post was WIAW: Kryptonite Edition which included a lively discussion on cheeze-its. You should check it […]

Leave a Reply

