Five Favorites Friday #5

11 Jan

Happy Friday!

TECHNICALLY, it’s really Thursday night for me, as I’m blogging from the airport in Richmond. BUT we’re going to just pretend that I’m actually writing this on Friday? Okay? Okay!

So where were we? Yes, right, Friday.

HAPPY FRIDAY!

In honor of it being Friday (sort of), it’s time for a Five Favorites Friday post!

For those of you who aren’t familiar with Five Favorites Friday, it’s a fairly new series that I started to share with you guys some completely random things that I’m loving. Usually there is like zero rhyme or reason to them. But that’s half the fun, right?

ANYWAY, here are some things that I’m loving this week.

1. Favorite Bed Hog: Laney

Nope, this honor doesn’t go to my husband, although he is quite the cover hog. This definitely goes to Laney, our medium sized dog who somehow manages to take up the entire bed. Rude.

IMAG0417

But as soon as I start to get mad at her, she starts to roll around and make ridiculous faces. It’s hard to stay mad at a dog when she gives you a wrinkly, puppy-eyed face.

 IMAG0415

IMAG0414

2. Favorite new kitchen creation: “Homemade” pasta sauce

Which REALLY means that we take some normal pasta sauce, and doctor it up until it tastes like it came from Grandma Giada’s kitchen. (Truth – I don’t really have a Grandma Giada. I’m not even Italian.)

We cooked up some ground turkey, and put it in a crock pot along with some Classico Tomato and Basil pasta sauce, and some diced stewed tomatoes. Then Chris the seasoning master went to down adding spices like a mad scientist.

Then he lined them all up so that I could take a picture. How sweet of him.

IMG_2065

We let it cook on low all day while we were at work, and paired it with some whole wheat pasta for dinner/lunch several times this week. So delicious and so simple! Plus it made a TON so we have a whole quart jar in our freezer.

3. Favorite New Gym Entertainment: Vloggers

So I kind of have a new obsession with vloggers on YouTube. While I LOVE my blogging community, sometimes I’m lazy and just like to watch videos instead. Especially while I’m at the gym, and my clumsy self cannot handle reading and running simultaneously. Or reading and walking. Or reading and standing still sometimes.

Enter: Vlogs. Especially fashion and beauty blogs. My inner girly girl comes out and I LOVE jamming out on the treadmill to makeup and fashion tips. Don’t judge me. I like to pretend that I might pick up some of their fashion and beauty sense via osmosis. Since goodness knows I don’t have any on my own!

My particular favorites are: TessChristine123, Casey Holmes, BeautyBaby44, and strawberryelectric48. Check them out!

4. New Favorite Daily Email: #SheReadsTruth

This one was actually suggested to me by a bunch of you all (Thanks guys!), and after checking it out I am definitely a fan.

Fullscreen capture 1112013 60118 PM

I don’t really talk too much about religion on this blog, but it IS an important part of my life, and I love getting these daily devotionals in my inbox every morning. They usually arrive right when I get to work in the morning, so I get to enjoy a few minutes to deep thinking and bible reading with my coffee before I start my hectic day.

You all should check it out too!

5. Favorite Castle: Cinderella’s Castle!!

Ok, I haven’t ACTUALLY seen it yet… but I’ll be running through it tomorrow!

IMAG0419

(Please note my totally sexy ankle brace… I’m going to be wearing this bad boy for the race tomorrow and hoping my ankle holds up!)

Well there you have it – things that I’m loving today! Next time we chat I’ll (hopefully) be able to give you a full recap of the Disney Half Marathon! In the meantime, be sure to follow me on twitter for updates on my progress (edit: and apparently the progress of Michael Anderson too… Not too sure how that happened.)

Until then, wish me luck!

So tell me: What are some things that you’re loving today?

4 Responses to “Five Favorites Friday #5”

  1. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake January 11, 2013 at 9:21 pm #

    Laney is too cute! Our pug can be a bed hog too!

    GOOD LUCK with the half! I can’t wait to hear how it goes!!!

  2. Taryn January 12, 2013 at 9:11 am #

    Ah, the castle is GREAT! That’ll be so fun to do a run there.. good luck!

  3. IHeartVegetables January 12, 2013 at 12:33 pm #

    She reads truth is awesome!!! I need to get more involved in it, but I think it’s a great organization/group!

  4. Chelsea Eats Treats January 14, 2013 at 9:09 am #

    Hmm I’ll have to check out those vloggers. Can’t wait to hear about the race!!

Leave a Reply

