Disney Half Recap

15 Jan

Happy Tuesday!

Sorry for the delayed post today! Chris and I both woke up feeling off this morning and decided that a few extra hours of sleep was definitely needed. So instead of my usual morning blogging time, I cuddled in my bed for an extra 2 hours.

Which was probably good considering I went in to work late and still turned around and came home an hour later because I was feeling icky. Just one of those days!

But I did promise you guys after my general recap of the Disney Half Marathon yesterday that I would talk a little about my experience with the running aspect – so here I am. Curled on my couch. Because I love you guys!

Stephanie_Baumann(1)

I have to admit, I was terrified about this race before hand. The whole week before I kept going back and forth about whether there was ANY chance we were going to be able to do this.

And to be honest, even that morning I was really not sure if we were going to make it in any reasonable amount of time.

It was such a big race and there were so many people that going through the prep that morning with check-in definitely kept me distracted. By the time we actually got to our corral (about 3 hours after we woke up that morning, mind you), I was a total bundle of nerves and adrenaline!

I did manage to take some Clif Shotbloks about 45 minutes before the race actually started, which gave them plenty of time to digest in my belly!

Chris and I ran the first 3 miles in the dark, and pretty much spent the entire time dodging and weaving between people. Because we’d never run a race longer than a 5K before, we were in F corral (out of A-H) where there were a lot of walkers. While all the dodging was a little frustrating (like when people would suddenly stop in the middle of the road to take a picture and you’d almost body slam them), it definitely made the first 3 miles pass super fast. Our pace was a little slower than usual though thanks to the sheer number of people!

The original plan was to run the first 3 miles and then start our intervals of 1.5 miles running, 2 minutes walking. However after 3 miles, Chris and I both felt extremely good because of the slow pace and decided to go to 4.5 miles instead. Right around 4.5 miles was also when the sun started to come up, although neither Chris nor I really remember it! All of a sudden around mile 6 it just dawned on me (no pun intended) that it was light!

IMG_2080

Around mile 5 we headed into Magic Kingdom and took our first Clif shot. At this point I was feeling really good, and was having a blast running through the park. Minus through Cinderella’s castle, where people just STOPPED to take pictures. So frustrating!

Mile 6 is where we really started to feel the sun. It was unexpectedly VERY warm and humid in Florida, and there were warnings everywhere about staying hydrated. Luckily from the Mile 6-9 stretch there were several water stops and a Clif Shots table so we got some extra energy and hydration.

Once we passed Mile 9, Chris and I were in uncharted territory, as we’d never gone longer than 9 miles before. But our legs were still feeling pretty good at this point surprisingly enough, so we decided to take our last walking break at mile 10.5 and run the rest.

Mile 11 is where is got HARD. We were rounding the corner towards Epcot on the highway, which meant that there were several overpasses to go up and over. I was feeling hot and tired and my legs were definitely starting to feel all the pounding on the sidewalk. But Chris and I kept telling each other how close we were to the end and pushed on.

We went through Epcot around mile 12 and it’s very deceiving because you KNOW you’re close to the end, but they make you do an up-and-back and then wind around a bunch of corners. So you keep thinking “the finish line is JUST around the corner”, but then it’s not! I think this was also the point where Chris and I started joking “I could really use some of the Virginia snow right about now!”

But at 2:26:50 we crossed the finish line, hand-in-hand. THANK GOODNESS!

IMG_2085

Afterwards I was definitely feeling super sore. My legs were exhausted and my left ankle/achilles was definitely aching a bit. But at that point I really didn’t care – I was on such a high!

We managed to meet up with my family and Chris and both devoured our post-race food boxes that Disney provided.

Then we went home and napped. haha.

A few days later, I’m feeling almost completely recovered. My left achilles is a little strained so I’m taking it easy on the running this week. But otherwise, I’m feeling awesome.

And most importantly, I have seriously caught the running bug.

There you have it – my recap of running the Disney Half Marathon. For anyone who is looking for a good first half to run, I would absolutely recommend it. There was so much stuff going on (marching bands and music and Disney characters) that it definitely made it a fun experience.

After 20 years of running this race, Disney definitely has it organized down to a T, and everything was very well run and orchestrated.  Despite all of the people and the weaving we had to do, I absolutely would do this race again!

So tell me: For those who have ever run a half before – what was your experience like? And if you haven’t – would you ever consider it?

16 Responses to “Disney Half Recap”

  1. ahellams January 15, 2013 at 5:47 pm #

    Congrats! What an awesome first half! I can’t wait to do a Disney run someday.

    • MyFreckledLife January 16, 2013 at 7:19 am #

      It is definitely an amazing experience – you should totally do one if you ever get the opportunity!

  2. katiedaisy921 January 16, 2013 at 6:03 am #

    YAY!!! Congratulations!! That is so awesome. I wanted to run Disney this year but by the time I decided to sign up it was already full. 😦 Maybe next year. It sounds awesome. I love that pic of the castle in the dark.

    • MyFreckledLife January 16, 2013 at 7:20 am #

      Yea, apparently it filled up SUPER quickly this year! But you should definitely check it out for next year – it was SUCH an amazing experience!

  3. forthesakeofcake January 16, 2013 at 7:36 am #

    Loved reading this! It made me even more excited for the Princess Half! I’ve read that the Epcot overpasses are rough, especially since it’s towards the end of the race!

    • MyFreckledLife January 16, 2013 at 9:36 am #

      I’m sure the Princess half is going to be AWESOME! And yea, they are brutal because there are like 3 in a row right between miles 10-12! But at least you know that you’re ALMOST done at that point – you can literally SEE the finish line! I’m sure you’re going to rock it!

  4. Sarah @ Blonde Bostonian January 16, 2013 at 9:00 am #

    Congratulations on your first half!! I can’t think of a cooler first one than the Disney Half. You should be super proud!

    • MyFreckledLife January 16, 2013 at 9:37 am #

      Thanks, I definitely am proud! It was such a fun race!

  5. Chelsea Eats Treats January 16, 2013 at 9:41 am #

    This sounds like so much fun!! I love that there were marching bands and Disney characters there to cheer you on 🙂 I would love to do this race someday.

    • MyFreckledLife January 16, 2013 at 9:46 am #

      I would definitely recommend it (or any Disney race for that matter). It was such a fun experience and made my first Half definitely a positive, fun experience. Which just makes me want to do more!

  6. di @ life of di. January 16, 2013 at 2:38 pm #

    Congrats!! I love that you ran this race in Disney World 🙂 It is something I definitely would love to do one year. It is so cool to read how you were approaching the Magic Kingdom then Epcot – what fun scenery for your run 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife January 17, 2013 at 7:18 am #

      It was definitely a great distraction! I love that they had something Disney related at every turn! There were characters everywhere cheering you on! I would definitely recommend it if you ever get the opportunity.

      • di @ life of di. January 17, 2013 at 1:37 pm #

        I’m going to first try and talk my sister into running it with me and then I’ll try and convince my husband to let me buy a plane ticket to get down there! It really does sound amazing 🙂

      • MyFreckledLife January 18, 2013 at 11:37 am #

        You definitely should if you get the chance! SUCH a fun time!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIAW: Sickly Edition « My Freckled Life - January 16, 2013

    […] you want a post that isn’t as full of dramatic sickliness, check out my Disney Half recap from yesterday afternoon. I promise to be back with more health and fitness related topics […]

  2. So, What’s Next? « My Freckled Life - January 17, 2013

    […] what I really want to talk to you about today is what is coming up next for me now that this half marathon is done. It was such a focus of mine since the wedding in November, so now it’s time to make some […]

Leave a Reply

