WIAW: Sickly Edition

16 Jan

Good Morning and happy Wednesday!

As I alluded to yesterday afternoon, I ended up coming home from work sick yesterday. Chris had already decided to stay home sick after not getting a ton of sleep and about an hour into work I started thinking that he definitely had the right idea!

So I high-tailed it back home and spent 99% of the rest of the day on the couch.

Which also meant no work out for me, unless you count the strenuous effort of moving from the upstairs couch to the downstairs couch to watch a blu-ray.

Luckily hours of lazing around and watching nonsense television + movies and then going to bed when it’s practically still light outside works miracles and I’m feeling 75% better today. At least good enough to sit at my desk all day.

But regardless of my sickliness, it’s still Wednesday, and you all know what that means! It’s What I Ate Wednesday!

For those of you not familiar with WIAW, please check out creator Jenn’s explanation from Peas and Crayons for more information. It’s a great way to celebrate food, free from judgment or comparison.

So I must preface this with the fact that these are all of my eats for yesterday, when I spent most of the day on the couch. I don’t know about you all, but when I’m feeling cruddy I either craze absolutely NOTHING, or I crave comfort food. Unhealthy comfort food.

For the sake of openness and honesty, I’ll show you what I ate yesterday, but I will admit that it is NOT my finest moment. And this is not a representation of how I normally eat. But sometimes you just have to listen to your body, and that’s what I did.

Breakfast

I ate breakfast while attempting to convince myself that going to work was a good idea. I should have listened to myself, considering I drove an hour to work only to turn around a leave an hour later. FAIL. Breakfast consisted of 1 cup of Peanut Butter Cheerios and some tea. Like usual, as of late.

IMG_2102

Lunch

Lunch came after I headed home and stared into the fridge with my also-sickly husband. I came up with a total random combo that sounded good at the time. A small cheese quesadilla and a bowl of ham and bean minestrone-like sound that my mother-in-law made and sent home with us on Sunday. It was full of several kinds of beans, ham, celery, carrots, and tomatoes.

IMG_2108

Snack

Snack came in the form of some cresent rolls with apple butter that Chris made. No shame, I scarfed them down before taking a picture.

Dinner

By the time dinner rolled around, I had ZERO desire to cook anything. And thanks to being out of town this past weekend, we were seriously low on leftovers. So after some debate, Chris and I settled on the only easy thing that sounded good. Pizza. I at least paired it with a small salad so that something green passed my lips today.

IMG_2109

Delicious and totally worth every greasy bite.

There you have it – What I Ate Wednesday, the lying-on-the-couch-dramatically-claiming-that-I’m-dying edition.

Luckily I’m feeling better today, so I’m hoping to get my healthy eating and my gym on this afternoon.

If you want a post that isn’t as full of dramatic sickliness, check out my Disney Half recap from yesterday afternoon. I promise to be back with more health and fitness related topics tomorrow!

So tell me: What do you crave when you’re sick?

11 Responses to “WIAW: Sickly Edition”

  1. forthesakeofcake January 16, 2013 at 7:37 am #

    I love those PB Cheerios!

  2. jessielovestorun January 16, 2013 at 9:24 am #

    Great job on listening to your body. I mean your body knows whats best for you 🙂 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife January 16, 2013 at 9:37 am #

      I know. If only I listened to it more! haha. Although sometimes it tells me to do things like eat an entire loaf of banana bread in one sitting… pretty sure that’s the bad angel on my shoulder!

  3. Halfathoner January 16, 2013 at 1:01 pm #

    This is in response to yesterday, sorry. But for those of you interested in running a Disney Half marathon, they have three besides the Disney, which don’t fill up nearly as fast as the regular Disney, which has the full marathon as well. They are the Tinkerbell, (which is this weekend), the Princess, in February, and the Wine & Dine, in October. That one actually starts at 10 pm. They are a lot less crowded, and the first two are geared toward women. I did the Princess and it was a lot of fun, and almost every had at least something on as part of a costume. I wore a tiara.

  4. Life After Swimming January 16, 2013 at 7:12 pm #

    Oh no! I hope you feel better really soon! Lucky for you to already have had soup waiting for you to heat up! Soup is the best for those sicky days!

    • MyFreckledLife January 17, 2013 at 7:18 am #

      I definitely agree! Something about soup always makes me feel better!

  5. IHeartVegetables January 16, 2013 at 10:03 pm #

    Aw being sick is no fun! I usually crave kind of bland things like soup and crackers. I don’t know why!

    • MyFreckledLife January 17, 2013 at 7:19 am #

      Honestly, it depends what kind of sick I am. If I’m the flu or a bad cold sick, I’m definitely all about soup. But if I’m just a “blah all over” kind of sick, then it’s comfort food all the way. haha.

  6. Eating 4 Balance January 16, 2013 at 10:22 pm #

    I hope you are feeling better and are able to go to work tomorrow. Your lunch looks like my kind of sick meal. Lots of carbs, and soup. Soup is good 🙂

Leave a Reply

