So, What’s Next?

17 Jan

Happy Thursday everyone!

I don’t know about you but I am SO happy that it is Thursday. Even though I went home sick on Tuesday and I have tomorrow off for the holiday, this week has still felt like the LONGEST. WEEK. EVER.

Maybe it’s because I STILL feel like I haven’t caught up on sleep from the insanity of last weekend, but I am seriously dragging this morning. So bring on Friday!!

First of all, I have to introduce you all to my NEW breakfast obsession. Which is actually really similar to my old breakfast obsession. Just with a new addition.

IMG_2112

On Tuesday Chris pointed out that we had a few bananas that were getting passed their peak and needed to be frozen. I, however, had different ideas and decided to make them into a healthy banana bread! I also added in some crushed pecans from his Grandmother’s pecan tree (yay for Georgia families – pecans and peaches galore!). This morning I slathered it in peanut butter and it was an AWESOME addition to my usual PB cheerios.

Also, “slathered” is officially going into my list of awkward words. Along with “moist” and “masticate”.

What’s Next?

ANYWAY, what I really want to talk to you about today is what is coming up next for me now that this half marathon is done. It was such a focus of mine since the wedding in November, so now it’s time to make some changes around here!

Workout Plan

I’ve decided to go back to Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp, since I had such an amazing experience (and results) when I participated in Round 2 right before the wedding. She recently started Round 4, and while I didn’t mention it with all of the half preparation, I did bite the bullet and sign up! I put off starting for a week until after the half, but I have been at it full force this week!

I’m hoping that bootcamp will get me back into strength training regularly, which was something that I totally ditched out on while training for the half. But now it’s back and I’m SO excited. I forgot how much I love it! And the sore muscle feeling when you get out of bed in the morning. haha.

Future Races

I definitely have caught the running bug. Now I know what all you crazy people were talking about! haha. Chris and I are looking into more races to run in the future, including 5Ks, 10Ks and more halfs. We’re also planning on running the Warrior Dash in May. Nothing has been decided yet since we JUST got back from Florida, but let’s just say I’ve already starting looking through race brochures. I’m hooked!

Food Decisions

Now that the holidays AND the race are officially over, I have no more excuse to avoid the fact that I put on a few pounds from the honeymoon/holidays and that my eating decisions aren’t helping me get back on track. So I’m hoping to make some positive changes in terms of my eating decisions and portion sizes. I’m not really a “diet” person, but instead I’m just focusing on moderation, making good decisions, and stopping when I’m full (which is usually the hardest part for me).

For example, I’ve started switching to using smaller plates for dinner. Studies have shown that using smaller plates can trick your eyes into thinking you have more food. I’m all for trickery if it works!

IMG_2113

Sure does look like a lot of food, right? Even though this is actually a MUCH smaller plate than our usual dinner plates. Did I fool you?

 

There you have it – some of the changes that I’m making around here and the new directions that I’m headed in terms of healthy living. If you all have any other suggestions, I’m always open to trying things out!

So tell me: Have you ever totally changed up your routine and stuck with it?

9 Responses to “So, What’s Next?”

  1. di @ life of di. January 17, 2013 at 10:11 am #

    I changed my routine about a year ago when I decided to start working out more often. It was around this time that I stopped eating meat (with the exception of eggs and fish- I have recently reintroduced chicken and occasionally turkey to this list!) I couldn’t believe the difference in eating clean versus how I had been living my life. I think it was around March when I started biking the 5 miles to school (which I was able to keep up until June when I graduated.) I think it is small things like this that add to our overall health and well being 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife January 17, 2013 at 10:20 am #

      I aboslutely agree – sometimes those small changes are easier to keep up too, so they really do become habits. And when you add up a bunch of small healthy habit changes, it can equal out to big things!

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats January 17, 2013 at 10:36 am #

    Obviously you know I’m doing Weight Watchers, which to me is not really a “diet” (if you notice I eat all the same stuff lol) but it’s more about tracking how MUCH of everything I’m eating. It really encourages me to look at the serving size of the things I’m eating and to stop there (e.g., only 1 cup of cereal, 2 tbsp. of peanut butter, etc.). It also encourages me to eat more fruits and veggies throughout the day and to limit obsessive carb-eating, which I didn’t even notice I was doing before lol. I know it might seem like too much work and maybe you don’t want to dedicate that much time to it, but I think it’s actually really easy (I do it all from the website and mobile app) and it’s really effective! You should at least think about it and maybe read some reviews online to see what you think. Also email me if you want to talk about it more!

    • MyFreckledLife January 17, 2013 at 11:16 am #

      I’d love to talk to you more about it and see if it’s something that might work for me! I am just usually TERRIBLE about counting calories or tracking my food, so I’m worried that I’d totally end up not doing it.

  3. Amber @ Busy, Bold, Blessed January 17, 2013 at 11:14 am #

    Well… I’m in the middle of a super lifestyle changing experiment to shed those extra holiday pounds and see how great my body can feel on a diet of ONLY whole foods. I’m not sure exactly where I’ll be when I’m finished, but I’m positive I’ll be eating a lot cleaner than I was before I started!

    And yes, this week is dragging! Come on weekend!!!!

    • MyFreckledLife January 17, 2013 at 11:17 am #

      Way to go! That definitely sounds like a great, positive life change! And I’m glad it’s not just me who is dying for the weekend!!

  4. Nicole @ Fruit 'N' Fitness January 17, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

    My biggest food challenge is high fat foods such as nut butters, i just love peanut and almond butter. One of the keys for me in keeping my calories in check is to try to fill up on lots of veggies. 1 cup of veggies has very few calories and can really fill you up!

    • MyFreckledLife January 18, 2013 at 9:26 am #

      I’m right there with you – I LOVE peanut butter! I definitely have to watch myself.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Five Favorites Friday #6 « My Freckled Life - January 18, 2013

    […] I mentioned yesterday, I have joined in the Best Body Bootcamp Round 4, and even thought I’m only a few days into it, I’m remembering just how much I love […]

Leave a Reply

