Five Favorites Friday #6

18 Jan

Happy Friday everyone!

Can I get an AMEN for Friday?? Seriously – longest. week. ever.

I am so incredibly happy to have today off work. It’s just been one of those draining weeks, full of stress, deadlines, and unfortunately some very tragic news about one of our families. Definitely one of those weeks that just takes everything out of you.

So let’s just say that this day off is VERY much needed.

Anyway, it is Friday, and you all know what that means! It’s time for another edition of Five Favorites Friday, where I list 5 totally random things that I’m obsessed with this week!

Let’s get to it!

1. Favorite TV show: Biggest Loser

I know, just a few weeks ago I was talking about Nashville as my favorite show. But now I’ve changed my mind and found a NEW favorite TV show! You know, until next week. I’m mildly TV obsessed. It’s an issue.

But now that Jillian is BACK, I’ve fallen back in love with Biggest Loser!

I know that some people have real problems with the show, and while I can definitely appreciate that there are some things that are sometimes questionable, I can’t help but love the show for what it brings to the average American. Inspiration that it IS POSSIBLE to lose weight and live a healthier life.

I don’t know about you, but I can’t help but watch an episode and feel so motivated to go to the gym. Because if these people can do it, I sure as hell can too!

Plus I’m mildly in love with both Bob Harper and Jillian Michaels. I want them to be my best friends. Along with Connie Britton, obviously.

2. Favorite New Workout Gear: SweatyBands

Fullscreen capture 1182013 105434 AM.bmp

I have been hearing about sweaty bands around the blog world for awhile now, so when I saw a Sweaty Bands booth at the Disney expo, I was very curious. I never thought that headbands would be for me because I kind of have a weirdly shaped head, and sometimes have a hard time keeping headbands on. But when I tried these on, I absolutely LOVED them.

I ended up purchasing a bright gold sparkly one, which I am kind of obsessed with. Cute workout stuff? Heck yes!

(I am getting no compensation from SweatyBands for this review. I purchased the product with my own money, and all opinions are completely my own.)

3. Favorite Workout: Strength Training

As I mentioned yesterday, I have joined in the Best Body Bootcamp Round 4, and even thought I’m only a few days into it, I’m remembering just how much I love strength training!

Since November I’ve been SO focused on cardio and prepping for the race that strength training of any kind definitely took a back seat. But now that the marathon is over, I can definitely tell the difference in not only my strength in general, but also in my body composition. Even though weight-wise I haven’t actually gained any weight, I’m feeling less toned than I was when I included strength training into my routine.

If that isn’t motivation to add in some strength training, I don’t know what is!

4. Favorite New Store: Charming Charlie

I had heard about Charming Charlie from a co-worker of mine over the summer, but I never really thought to check it out until a few weeks ago. Now, I’m kind of OBSESSED.

To be honest, fashion is not really a strength of mine. I can appreciate it, but I’m really terrible at putting things together for myself. However, I made it a personal challenge to myself this year to get better at accessorizing and incorporating more jewelry. Which is what makes Charming Charlie awesome! They seriously have a ridiculous amount of jewelry (all color coordinated, which totally works with my OCDness) and it’s almost all under $20. It’s awesome!

5. Favorite Florida Entertainment: Al Capone’s Dinner Theater

While we were in Florida for the race, we went out Saturday evening to Al Capone’s Dinner Theater in Kissimmee. It basically was an interactive dinner theater where the characters were also your servers, and they would bring people from the audience onto the stage to participate.

IMAG0426 

I have to tell you, the actors were AMAZING! They were SO on their toys with jokes, since I’m sure every show is extremely different based upon the audience. But they didn’t miss a beat with anything, and stayed in character the entire time.

IMAG0427

(That’s my cousin Mark on the stage)

If you are ever in the Orlando area, I would definitely recommend checking it out. The food was great, the service was excellent, and the show was HILARIOUS! We were literally cracking up the entire time.

IMAG0428

There you have it, 5 things that I am LOVING this week!

So tell me: What is something that you are loving this week?

6 Responses to “Five Favorites Friday #6”

  1. Chelsea Eats Treats January 18, 2013 at 1:38 pm #

    I’m loving Biggest Loser too! It’s such a “feel-good” show and actually helps people make changes in their lives. Plus I love that they are focusing on childhood obesity this season!

    • MyFreckledLife January 21, 2013 at 9:17 pm #

      I know – I love that they are really addressing it. I’m just waiting for Michelle Obama to show up.

  2. IHeartVegetables January 18, 2013 at 4:05 pm #

    I’ve heard such good things about those Sweaty Bands! I need one!

    • MyFreckledLife January 21, 2013 at 9:17 pm #

      They are awesome. I’ve heard BIC bands are good too, but I’ve never tried those.

  3. Courtney @ Star Systemz January 20, 2013 at 11:26 pm #

    This week I am enjoying some authentic Thai cuisine! I am OBSESSED! I would love to try a sweaty band, they look so chic! Love + Shine C

    • MyFreckledLife January 21, 2013 at 9:18 pm #

      Yummm!! I LOVE Thai food! And you should definitely check them out – they are amazing and cute!

Leave a Reply

