I Could Get Used To This

21 Jan

I don’t know about you guys, but I could really get used to this 4 day weekend thing! I mean, just think of how productive you would be at work if you only had 3 days a week to get stuff done!

Mostly I just really enjoyed being able to have some time to relax and STILL find time to be productive. Usually it’s just one or the other.

This weekend was pretty full, so I’ll do my best to give you a BRIEF recap. Ok, you know me – there is no such things as brief. But I’ll do my best!

Friday

Not going to lie, most of Friday was spent in my PJs in front of the TV catching up a the bazillion TV shows on my DVR. Sometimes, you just need that.

I did manage to peel myself off the couch after lunch and did my Friday workout from Best Body Bootcamp in our basement gym (which is still a work in progress, but I promise I will show you all as soon as I can move all my wedding stuff out of there!). After a quick shower and some errands, Chris and I met up with our financial counselor to talk about our 2013 plans. Exciting stuff people… Honestly, 90% of it is over my head. Too much math. Ick.

But the boring math stuff was soon forgotten when Chris and I headed into Fredericksburg for Restaurant Week!  Since they had such amazing deals going on, we decided to pick a restaurant that we would not typically try and settled on The Bavarian Chef. Basically, the Bavarian Chef is a local German restaurant owned by a family straight out of Germany. So the food is traditional, gigantic, and AMAZING. Just take a look at the Restaurant Week menu:

IMG_2121

Now just check out our meals! I went with the Brie and Brandied Apricot Phyllo as my appetizer. It was super light and cheesy. But honestly, the star of the show was the salad underneath! Spring mix, roasted peppers, crushed black pepper, and a berry vinaigrette. So tasty!

IMG_2125

I chose the braised pork as my entrée, which was SO HUMONGOUS! I definitely took more than half too! The pork was tender, the sweet potatoes were amazing, and I seriously wanted to lick the mushroom sauce off the plate.

IMG_2127

Then there were some sides – spaetzle, potato dumplings, glazed carrots, and zucchini.

IMG_2129

Dessert (as if I wasn’t full enough!) was a super light and delicious strawberry mousse.

IMG_2132

IMG_2124

And here’s my handsome husband with his Liter of beer. You can take the German out of Germany…

Then we went home and passed out in a food coma. Seriously. haha.

Saturday

After sleeping in a bit (aka like 9am… we’re so old), Chris and I were up and ready to start some major housework. I literally spent nearly the entire day doing some SERIOUS cleaning, which our house desperately needed after so many weekends of traveling.

Chris, on the other hand, was joined by his mom’s boyfriend for a very exciting house project.

IMG_2134

IMG_1049

New Master Bedroom Closet!!!

Our house was owned by a 70 year old woman before us, so the closet was basically just a room with a bar on each side. Uh yeah, we have way more clothes than that. Chris had already totally taken over the guest room closet too. So there was definitely a need for a change!

Also, now I’ve decided that I need more clothes to put in my new closet! 😀

Sunday

Chris and I decided to try something new for breakfast on Sunday, and made some breakfast burritos. They were stuffed with scrambled eggs, salsa, turkey sausage, and cheese. Delicious, although very messy! It was definitely a nice breakfast change of pace.

IMG_2139

After digesting I headed out on my first real run since the half marathon, and did 5 chilly miles. And it was AWESOME. I’ll admit it, I’ve totally fallen in love with running. Whodathunk?

The rest of the day was spent doing something that wasn’t exactly exciting – but definitely necessary. We moved all of the rest of Chris’ stuff out of his family’s house. Lots of packing. Lots of moving boxes. Lots of making fun of his baby pictures. Hey, that’s what marriage is about, right?

We then headed to church and dinner with his family, which has become kind of our Sunday night tradition. Since there was no early alarm for Monday, we even stayed and watched Pitch Perfect with them that evening.

Also, go rent Pitch Perfect. It’s hilarious. And singing, dancing boys? Come on.

Monday

As I said, I could really get used to this 4 day weekend thing! I loved not having to get up early this morning!

Most of today was spent running errands – getting an oil change, grocery shopping, cleaning house, etc. You know, boring adult things.

We did manage to prep a nice dinner though, at Chris’ request – Turkey Sausage and White Bean stew (recipe coming soon). Paired with some homemade white bread.

IMG_2150

This is our first successful attempt with our bread machine. We had a MAJOR fail last time, so we decided to go with an easy white bread to make sure that the darn thing actually works! But it does, and it was amazing! Our next goal is to make a successful whole wheat bread.

Anyway, there you have it – my awesome, but busy 4 day weekend. I wish every weekend was like this!

So tell me: What did you do this weekend?

8 Responses to “I Could Get Used To This”

  1. Tina Reale (@tinareale) January 22, 2013 at 7:34 am #

    I have always wanted to participate in a restaurant week shindig! Always look so yummy and fun. Great job still getting in the workout. I know what you meant though about sometimes just needing a day to veg. I bet it was hard to get up and moving on a day like that. 😉

    • MyFreckledLife January 22, 2013 at 10:29 am #

      This was my first restaurant week and I was definitely impressed by the number of restaurants, the menus available, and the quality of the food! If one comes to your area you should definitely check it out!

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats January 22, 2013 at 9:55 am #

    Sounds like you guys had a fun but relaxing weekend! Fabio and I are planning to take advantage of DC’s restaurant week too and you just reminded me to hop on it and make a reservation somewhere! That German food looks de-lish!

    • MyFreckledLife January 22, 2013 at 10:30 am #

      You definitely should – I’m sure the DC options are amazing! Our Fredericksburg options are a little limited, but it was great to try something that I normally would never pick!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. From Pin to Plate: Italian Turkey Sausage and White Bean Stew « My Freckled Life - January 22, 2013

    […] so I know I said yesterday that I would LOVE having 4 day weekends all the time, and while that is still definitely true – the one part about 4 day weekends that […]

  2. Five Favorites Friday #7 « My Freckled Life - January 25, 2013

    […] shall we? Now I know I mentioned this movie already, but I seriously have been singing songs from Pitch Perfect like non-stop. It’s ridiculous. Maybe it’s just because I’m a total music nerd (hello […]

  3. The End of Restaurant Week « My Freckled Life - January 28, 2013

    […] that time that we had a 4-day weekend? Yea, we should go back to that. This weekend seemed SUPER short in […]

  4. Just Hanging with some Union Soldiers | My Freckled Life - May 6, 2013

    […] that Chris and I checked out the Fredericksburg location during Fredericksburg restaurant week back in January, but the Madison location is actually the original. If you are a fan of German food, it doesn’t […]

Leave a Reply

