From Pin to Plate: Italian Turkey Sausage and White Bean Stew

22 Jan

Ok, so I know I said yesterday that I would LOVE having 4 day weekends all the time, and while that is still definitely true – the one part about 4 day weekends that REALLY sucks is the getting up for work part.

I managed to wake up at least 6 times last night, which of course meant that I accidently woke Chris up every time too. At one point (around 2am, mind you), I even yelled “What are you still doing here???” thinking that he had totally overslept his alarm. Whoops. Needless-to-say, today is a serious struggle for both of us.

So I’m going to keep it nice and short today, since my poor brain is really not working so well yet this morning, and give you all a recipe from last night.

The credit for this recipe goes 100% to A Dash of Sass, as I thought it was great the way it was and really didn’t make many adjustments.

Italian Turkey Sausage and White Bean Stew

Original Recipe from A Dash of Sass

Ingredients

12 ounces sweet Italian turkey sausage (next time I might try it with hot turkey sausage)
1/2  diced green bell pepper
1/2 diced onion
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 (19 ounce) can cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
1 (14.5 ounce) can crushed or stewed tomatoes (I used diced Italian tomatoes, and admitted some of the spices below)
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon dried basil
1 teaspoon Italian blend spices
Olive oil
Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions

1. Heat a large saucepan or high-sided skillet over medium heat. Add enough olive oil to coat the pan.

2. Add green peppers and onion. Saute until soft. Add minced garlic and saute.

3. Remove sausage casing and tear sausage into small pieces. Add sausage to pepper and onion mixture. Cook until browned and crumbled, approximately 5 to 8 minutes.

4. Add beans and tomatoes. Add spices. Stir to combine. Reduce heat to medium-low. Cook for 5 to 10 minutes or until thickened.

5. Serve with grated Parmesan cheese, crusty bread or fresh basil.

IMG_2143IMG_2146IMG_2147IMG_2150IMG_2152

As I mentioned yesterday, we served it with some homemade bread, which was perfect to scoop up some of the extra sauce. This meal is seriously SO filling and perfect for a cold winter night. Thanks again to Kate at A Dash of Sass for the recipe!

Alright, now I’m going to attempt to wake my brain up with another cup of coffee. Key word: attempt.

So tell me: What do you do when you have trouble sleeping?

I have a terrible habit of tossing and turning, which totally wakes Chris (and Laney) up too. I never think to get up and go drink hot chocolate or read or anything like that at the time, but I’ve always heard that those help!

3 Responses to “From Pin to Plate: Italian Turkey Sausage and White Bean Stew”

  1. Chelsea Eats Treats January 22, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

    Yumm that looks great! I can’t wait to hear how the bread-making went. I want a bread machine so badly!! Too bad there is literally zero space for it in my apartment….maybe one day!

    • MyFreckledLife January 22, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

      Yea, they definitely do take up a TON of space. Hopefully once we get this thing mastered I’ll be able to give some more information. Bread-making (and yeast especially) kind of scare me. haha. Too much chemistry!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIAW: Ice Age Edition « My Freckled Life - January 23, 2013

    […] on it. Small salad (spring mix, cherry tomatoes, green peppers and a tzatiki dressing) and leftover stew from last […]

Leave a Reply

