WIAW: Ice Age Edition

23 Jan

Brrr, It’s cold in here!

….I said there must be some Clovers in the atmosphere!

Please tell me someone else got that reference too?

Anyone?

Classic 90s movie. I probably still know about 75% of the words by heart. #NoShame

Anyway, not only is it incredibly cold outside (hello single digits), but yesterday the heat in my office decided to totally kick the bucket.

Fullscreen capture 1232013 73254 AM

As a reference, we were in an OLDDDD building (like circa early 1900s) that has like zero insulation. So it is NORMALLY cold in there. So when the heat decides to not work at all, we literally might as well have been sitting outside on our porch working. I spent 90% of my day with my winter coat on while at my computer. It was awesome. not.

Oh, and then in order to start to fix our heat, they had to turn off our water for the last few hours of the day. Even better. There was a mad dash to pee before they did since we knew otherwise we were all in trouble.

So cross your fingers that it’s back on when I go in today!

ANYWAY, despite the freezing temperatures, it is still WEDNESDAY, and you know what that means?? It’s time for another edition of What I Ate Wednesday!

What is WIAW you ask? Why it’s this awesome blog phenomena started by Jenn at Peas and Crayons about celebrating food. You all should definitely check her out for more information and a link up of LOTS of WIAW posts!

Breakfast

The usual lately. It’s been too cold to crave anything else. Oatmeal with jam, peanut butter, cinnamon, and berries. Simple and delicious. With tea on the side of course. Must have the caffeine,

IMG_2154

Snack #1

Today was a snacky kind of day thanks to my schedule at work. So snack 1 around 10:30 consisted of 7-11 coffee and a babybell light. I’m officially obsessed with these things!

IMAG0433

Lunch

I didn’t manage to get to lunch until about 1:45ish, so I definitely wolfed it down. But I did remember to take a picture before I went all starving beast on it. Small salad (spring mix, cherry tomatoes, green peppers and a tzatiki dressing) and leftover stew from last night.

IMAG0434

Snack #2

Around 4 I decided to eat another snack so that I could make it through my workout without totally wanting to die. I had an apple/PB granola bar that I made on Monday night. They still need some tweaking, so I wont share the recipe just yet, but I promise that it’s coming.

(Also, the pen is there for size reference, not because it was part of snack)

IMAG0436

Dinner

After the gym I met up with Chris at Target to do some  major bank account damage. Well actually, we used gift cards from the wedding so it wasn’t out of our pocket, but boy did we rack up a bill. Target always gets me! But we managed to get a new comforter and duvet cover for our down comforter on clearance, so that was worth it.

Anyway, by the time we got home it was like 8:00 and my planned dinner was going to take way too long. So pasta it was, with some of our homemade sauce. Plus some steamed broccoli and homemade bread on the side.

IMG_2156

There you have it – what I ate on Wednesday Tuesday!

So tell me: What did you eat today?

Also, Chris woke up this morning with the flu. It’s gross. Cross your fingers I don’t get it too!!

9 Responses to “WIAW: Ice Age Edition”

  1. jessielovestorun January 23, 2013 at 8:55 am #

    Target alwaysss did damage on our bank account too. I mean they just have so much, and its way to hard to say no! Ha Ha

    • MyFreckledLife January 25, 2013 at 6:17 pm #

      And those darn clearance stickers!! Get me every time!

  2. Nicole January 23, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

    That granola bar looks good, ill be excited too see the recipe

    • MyFreckledLife January 25, 2013 at 6:17 pm #

      It was good, but it definitely needs a few texture tweaks. But I promise it’s coming soon!

  3. Chelsea Eats Treats January 23, 2013 at 4:15 pm #

    OOOOMG I can’t believe the heat in your office went out!! That’s awful! I hope it comes back on today! Also I hope Chris feels better! Yikes..

    • MyFreckledLife January 25, 2013 at 6:18 pm #

      Yea, it was bad. It was like 40 degrees. We were all sitting there is our coats and gloves, typing away. haha.

  4. Alisha's Appetite January 24, 2013 at 2:35 pm #

    Target seems to have a way with taking your $ right out of your hands, right?! And I hope your hubby starts to feel better! Fingers crossed you don’t get sick!

    • MyFreckledLife January 25, 2013 at 6:18 pm #

      Thanks!! I’ve been lysoling my house like a crazy person, so let’s hope so!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. From Pin to Plate: No-bake Granola Bars « My Freckled Life - February 12, 2013

    […] ago, Chris challenged me to make some granola bars as a work afternoon snack for us. I tried out one recipe which only turned out ok, and neither Chris nor I were really fans of the texture. We kind of […]

Leave a Reply

