Five Favorites Friday #7

25 Jan

Well I don’t know about you guys, but I am really happy that it’s Friday.

This has been one wacky week! I swear, if it wasn’t for the fact that I have to write the date on EVERYTHING at work, I’m pretty sure I would not know that it’s Friday. I’d be writing like Wednesday on everything.

I mean, I’ve only had 2 real days at work this week. That is just too confusing for my poor little brain.

Let’s review, shall we?

Monday: Martin Luther King Jr. Day (aka no work to celebrate the awesomeness of the King man himself)

Tuesday: Real day of work. Oh how naïve I was to think this week would be normal…

Wednesday: Get into work. 10 minutes later, told to go home because our building was having technical issues. Husband is home puking everywhere. NO WHERE TO GO!

Thursday: Unexpectedly work from home all day.

Friday: Actually go into work. Leave early because it starts snowing.

See??? Just plain weird. And not exactly the most productive week ever. Which kind of explains my weird posting schedule this week (no post Thursday, super late post today). I’m blaming this strange week overwhelming my brain.

Anyway, it is Friday (I think?) so that means it’s time for a Five Favorites Friday! If you’re new to Five Favorites Friday, it’s where I post about 5 totally random and typically unrelated things that I’m loving. So enjoy!

1. Favorite Building Quality: HEAT

Yea, I walked into my office (which is a totally old house, PS) on Wednesday and found out that the heat was STILL broken. They had actually discovered it on Tuesday afternoon, and proceeded to turn off our water too so that the pipes didn’t freeze. By the time we walked in on Wednesday morning, our thermostat was reading 40 degrees. Umm, I can’t work like that. So we all ditched the office and found our own little warm cubby holes around Culpeper. Which brings me to Favorite #2:

2. Favorite Temporary Office Location: TIE – Starbucks and Home

While others headed for the library or McDonalds to steal utilize their internet to get some work done, I immediately headed to Starbucks and grabbed a corner table. I’m not going to lie I felt like a total college student again, huddled in the corner with my laptop and a grande coffee. Oh the days…

However by noon my tummy was grumbling and while I’ll sell my soul for a cup of coffee, I’m way to cheap to buy some of their food at Starbucks. Plus Chris was pathetically texting me to come home and take care of his sickly self. So I decided to be a good wife and head home to take care of him, which meant the rest of my afternoon was spent on my couch doing work.

e

I could seriously get used to this. Also, for any of your computer people out there – please note our TOTALLY antiquated email system, Lotus Notes. It’s like Oregon Trail for emails. Seriously. I’m waiting for a response that says my email died because it couldn’t ford the river.

3. Favorite Morning Surprise: SNOW DAY

I woke up Thursday morning with a text that said our building finally had heat and water! YAY!!! And then I looked outside…

IMG_2161

Ummm, problem. After talking with some of my scheduled appointments, I ended up cancelling all of them and working from home again. I’m not going to lie, I kind of enjoyed being able to work in my PJs. And I actually got a lot of work done thanks to the fact that I didn’t have an office phone ringing every 5 minutes!

Sadly the snow did mostly melt by the end of the day, but it was fun while it lasted. And I’m not sure who had more fun playing in it, Laney or our neighbor kids who just moved here from Florida!

Whenever Laney was inside, she basically stood like this.

IMG_2164

Staring longingly at the snow outside.

4. Favorite Movie/Soundtrack: Pitch Perfect

Let’s move on to some REAL favorites, shall we? Now I know I mentioned this movie already, but I seriously have been singing songs from Pitch Perfect like non-stop. It’s ridiculous. Maybe it’s just because I’m a total music nerd (hello marching band for 9 years), but I’m LOVING some of the mash-ups they did. Seriously so amazing. Just watch.

The last one is my total fav, but I wont ruin it for you since that would KIND of give away the whole story. But seriously, go watch it.

5. Favorite New Kitchen Tool: The Crock Pot

Ever since Julie of Peanut Butter Fingers started talking about her Crock Pot Challenge, I’ve been trying to think up some good ideas for what I could make in my own crock pot. I mean, hello? Dump it in and leave it all day – that’s my kind of meal! Especially with my insane schedule lately.

Luckily, Julie came up with a fantastic recipe that I made a few tweaks to, given what we already had in the kitchen and what my picky husband will eat. I promise to share the recipe soon, but here is a sneak peak. It’s spicy. It’s healthy. And it literally had me licking my plate like a weirdo.

IMG_2159

So tell me: What are you currently loving?

5 Responses to “Five Favorites Friday #7”

  1. IHeartVegetables January 27, 2013 at 2:53 pm #

    Hahaha I saw Pitch Perfect over Christmas and it was really funny!

    • MyFreckledLife January 28, 2013 at 10:05 am #

      I’m seriously kind of obsessed with it. In a totally music nerd kind of way. haha

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats January 28, 2013 at 10:19 am #

    So jealous you got to work from home this week!! I was totally wishing I could do that too, but there wasn’t much that much snow in Arlington (maybe 2 inches) and NONE in DC, where my office is. Boo. Also, everyone is talking about Pitch Perfect!! Apparently I need to watch it ASAP.

    • MyFreckledLife January 28, 2013 at 10:22 am #

      That is a bummer. Since my office is more in the mountains, and half the roads I drive on to get to appointments are rural (aka dirt backroads), they definitely take snow pretty seriously. And OMG DO IT!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. From Pin to Plate: Crock Pot Indian Chicken and Chickpeas « My Freckled Life - January 29, 2013

    […] pretty happy that this week is turning out to be fairly normal in comparison to the insanity of last week. Even though Mondays are definitely not my favorite, it is reassuring to get back into a normal […]

Leave a Reply

