The End of Restaurant Week

28 Jan

Remember that time that we had a 4-day weekend? Yea, we should go back to that. This weekend seemed SUPER short in comparison.

And that whole getting up thing this morning definitely a struggle. I’m pretty sure I could think of a whole list of things I’d rather being doing than waking up at 6am… wrestling bears, eating cockroaches… it was that bad.

But, on a positive note, we woke up this morning to a WARM house! YAY! We’ve been having some problems with our old thermostat which wasn’t really reading the temperature in the house correctly. You could have the thing set on 80, and it would still be 61 degrees in the house. Made for VERY cold mornings. But we bit the bullet this weekend and bought a fancy new thermostat, and woke up this morning to a lovely 72 degrees! I don’t have to eat breakfast with a blanket wrapped around me anymore!

Anyway, since it IS Monday morning and as much as I wish, there is nothing I can do to change that, let’s get to it and recap the weekend.

Friday

Friday night Chris and I braved the snow (HA, all 10mm of flurries of it) and headed into Fredericksburg to catch one more restaurant for restaurant week. This time we chose Kybecca, a restaurant and wine bar, that’s in the snazzier part of Old Town Fredericksburg.

IMG_2185

I loved the feel of this small restaurant, with a mix of the old and the industrial modern. They also have a super fancy wine machine (seen behind Chris) where you can pour yourself glasses of wine. Pretty neat!

IMG_2168

Like most restaurants during restaurant week, they had a specialty menu, so Chris and I went with that.

For the first course I chose the rabbit springrolls which were light and delicious. I havent had rabbit on too many occasions, so it was a nice addition!

IMG_2173

For the salad course, I ended up with the mushroom salad, which had marinated mushrooms, arugula and parm. It was AMAZING. I seriously could have had a giant bowl of those mushrooms.

IMG_2178

For my entrée, I chose the shrimp and grits. I was a LITTLE disappointed that there were only 3 shrimp, but the cheesy grits were delicious!

IMG_2180

I was pleasantly full at this point, but we were told to try the coconut tiramisu, so we went with it. And it was MASSIVE (TWSS?)

IMG_2187

So full, but so amazing.

We then went home and spent the evening watching the new Sherlock Holmes and digesting.

Saturday

We had some big plans for Saturday: Antiquing. And yes, I realize that we’re basically 80 years old. But seriously, it was a lot of fun!

After waiting for the snow to melt a bit, we headed to Sperryville, VA to check out some antique shops before headed to Culpeper to check out a few more.

We may or may not have stopped at a distillery on the way too…

IMG_2195

We ended up picking up a few things, one of which is going to become our next project. No pictures yet since we could only bring half home with us because of the size. Any guesses?

The whole reason for the antiquing day came about because I had plans to meet up with some of my coworkers (including one past coworker who left in August) for dinner in Culpeper. We spent about 4 hours chatting and talking shop. It was some much needed chill time given all the stress in the office!

Sunday

Sunday is usually our cleaning day, but that doesn’t mean a good breakfast to start. We made some french toast topped with a berry compote. Simple and delicious.

IMG_2202

Chris and I had another project in mind too: Pre-making some breakfast for the week. Enter the breakfast burrito assembly line!

IMG_2205

We mixed in some hashbrowns, scrambled eggs, turkey sausage, cheese and salsa (on mine only), individually wrapped them, and stuck them in the freezer. I’ll have to let you know how they turn out!

So there you have it, my recap for this weekend. As you’ll notice, there was not a ton of working on to be seen. I’m going to be honest, guys – I’m in a little bit of a funk. Ever since the end of the half marathon I’ve been feeling lazy and unmotivated. Maybe because I no longer have anything to train for? I am trying to do some soul searching this week and find a way to get back on track!

So tell me: What did you do this weekend?

8 Responses to “The End of Restaurant Week”

  1. Chelsea Eats Treats January 28, 2013 at 10:20 am #

    What a fun weekend! I could totally go for one of those rabbit spring rolls right now. Yummm…

    • MyFreckledLife January 28, 2013 at 10:22 am #

      It was one of my first times really trying rabbit, and it was so delicious! And the pickled slaw on the side seriously had me wanting to lick the plate.

  2. Rachel Silski January 28, 2013 at 10:22 am #

    WHAT..you are the only blogger who leaves near me! How did I not know this! Cville is doing their rest. week this week BTW!

    • MyFreckledLife January 28, 2013 at 1:11 pm #

      Good to know! And I know – there are very few bloggers out this direction! I work in Culpeper, but we are all over this area!

  3. Nicole January 28, 2013 at 1:02 pm #

    I have never had rabbit. Your mushroom salad looks really good! I spent the weekend doing homework, and watching uk basketball! It was a great weekend overall!

    • MyFreckledLife January 28, 2013 at 1:09 pm #

      It is good – very gamey and earthy tasting. If that makes any sense! And yay UK! I considered going there for undergrad!

  4. IHeartVegetables January 28, 2013 at 8:32 pm #

    I love trying restaurants during restaurant week! YUM!

    • MyFreckledLife January 29, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

      This was my first time and I definitely feel like I’ve been missing out! What a great way to try new things!

Leave a Reply

