From Pin to Plate: Crock Pot Indian Chicken and Chickpeas

29 Jan

Happy Tuesday guys!

I don’t know about you all, but I’m pretty happy that this week is turning out to be fairly normal in comparison to the insanity of last week. Even though Mondays are definitely not my favorite, it is reassuring to get back into a normal routine. Gym included!

After work yesterday I headed to the gym for the first time in what felt like FOREVER. Ok, it was really only like 6 days. But I honestly had someone say “Hey, I havent seen you around here in awhile!” (no joke), so I was definitely happy to be back.

I completed a workout from Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp, and hands down I think this was one of my favorite workouts! It was more of a AMRAP style, in that there were 3 moves and you had to complete as many rounds as possible in 12-15 minutes. Then you rested before moving on to another set of 3 exercises. Honestly guys, I think I’ve found the style of workout I like best! The competitive nature in me came out and I just kept pushing through the time. I was a sweaty beast by the end but I LOVED it! Thanks Tina!

But I do have to tell you all about the craziest thing that happened when I got home from work. Chris and I were sitting down to dinner when we got a text from our neighbor that she was hearing really weird noises from her basement, and asked Chris to come take a look at it. We ended up both going over and searching through her basement (carrying a knife, JUST in case!) and checking around the house. We didn’t find anything, but given some of the other scary stuff that’s happened in our neighborhood recently, she ended up calling the cops just in case. Luckily they didn’t find anything either, but it certainly made me double check that all the doors were locked last night!

Has something like this ever happened to you?

From Pin to Plate: Crock Pot Indian Chicken and Chickpeas

Last week Julie talked about how she’s trying to use her crock pot more. Since Chris now has class on Wednesday nights, it seemed like the perfect opportunity to start using the crock pot so we can both grab dinner when it’s convenient for us.

For the first week, I ended up pinning one of Julie’s crock pot recipes, but making a few adjustments based on what we had in the house.

IMG_2159

Crock Pot Indian Chicken and Chickpeas

Adapted from Peanut Butter Finger’s Crock Pot Garam Masala Chicken and Chickpeas

Ingredients

  • 2 (15-ounce) cans chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 large onion, chopped
  • 3 red potatoes, chopped
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons garam masala
  • 1 (28-ounce) can crushed tomatoes
  • 2 cups cauliflower florets (I used frozen because I’m cheap)
  • 4 chicken thighs
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt (sour cream also works)

Directions

  1. Combine chickpeas, onion, potatoes, garam masala, tomatoes, and cauliflower together in crockpot.
  2. Place chicken on top of  mixture and spoon some mixture over the chicken to cover.
  3. Allow everything to cook on low for 6 – 8 hours.
  4. Garnish with cilantro and a dollop of plain Greek yogurt.

 

Seriously guys, this was SO easy and delicious! Plus it made a TON of food! Chris and I love Indian food, but I don’t play around with Indian spices all that often because they can be so complicated. But this is a great way to dip your feet in to Indian spices if you’re an Indian food fan. And for anyone that’s worried, it’s really not spicy at all.

Well that’s all I have for you this morning!

So tell me: What is your favorite thing to make in the crock pot?

I love making chili or spaghetti sauce in the crock pot, but I’m just starting to branch out and try other things!

10 Responses to “From Pin to Plate: Crock Pot Indian Chicken and Chickpeas”

  1. Alisha's Appetite January 29, 2013 at 4:47 pm #

    Holy scary!! The fact that your neighbor even called you is scary in itself but going through her basement with a knife in hand– I would have had a heart attack! gahh! Glad it was nothing, though!

    • MyFreckledLife January 29, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

      Yea, I played it all tough but I was really a coward. haha. I’m definitely glad that it wasn’t anything serious though!

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats January 29, 2013 at 4:55 pm #

    This looks great!! I just bought a pork loin over the weekend (which I NEVER eat) and I fully intend to make some BBQ pulled pork for dinner tomorrow in the slow cooker. I can’t wait to try it!! I love slow cooker meals 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife January 29, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

      YUMMM!!! You’ll have to let me know how it goes! And I’m right there with you – slow cookers are the best! They are like a busy girl’s best friend!

  3. di @ life of di. January 29, 2013 at 5:46 pm #

    This looks so delicious 🙂 I love Indian food and am always looking for recipes to use. It honestly looks pretty easy too – which is another plus!

    • MyFreckledLife January 29, 2013 at 8:26 pm #

      It was really simple and delicious. And didn’t include any crazy ingredients (like a lot of Indian recipes do), which is why I went for it. You should definitely try it out!

  4. cleaneatingveggiegirl January 29, 2013 at 5:54 pm #

    That recipe looks so good! I love Indian food and I love chickpeas. Plus, the fact that it is a slow-cooker meal makes it even better. I would love to try making it with tofu :).

    • MyFreckledLife January 29, 2013 at 8:27 pm #

      Yumm, that sounds really good with tofu! I didn’t even think of that! Now if only I could convince my husband to try tofu… haha

  5. ahellams January 29, 2013 at 10:50 pm #

    We practically worship our crock pot! Last night we made homemade meatballs and homemade sauce in there. They were the best meat balls ever, they were so soft and moist and the sauce oozed in all day. Delectable, and lots of left overs (it was dinner again tonight!) Can’t wait to try this one too!

    • MyFreckledLife January 30, 2013 at 7:29 am #

      Yummm!!! I haven’t made meatballs in ages… that might need to be on my “to make” list!

Leave a Reply

